finance · September 5, 2026
Target Corp Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form 10-Q
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $26,539,000,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $25,211,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Operating income | $2,560,000,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $1,317,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Net income | $1,877,000,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $935,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $4.11 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 1, 2026 | $2.05 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | $4,519,000,000the six months ended August 1, 2026 | $2,358,000,000the six months ended August 2, 2025 |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
TARGET CORP delivered a higher top line, higher operating profit, higher net income, and higher diluted earnings per share on both the three-month window and the six-month year-to-date view covered by its period-ended-2026-08-01 10-Q filing, identified by accession 0000027419-26-000042. The improvement registered as a profit-to-profit transition across every reported profitability measure, with no loss being recorded in either the current or the prior-year comparative windows.
For the three-month reporting period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $26,539,000,000, higher than $25,211,000,000 posted in the three months ended August 2, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $2,560,000,000, a profit against a profit of $1,317,000,000 in the prior-year quarter. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $1,877,000,000, a profit against $935,000,000 in the prior-year quarter. Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $4.11 per diluted share USD/SHARES, against $2.05 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the three months ended August 2, 2025, again a profit-to-profit transition.
The six-month year-to-date view carried the same direction across all four measures. Revenue was $51,982,000,000, higher than $49,057,000,000 for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $3,695,000,000, higher than $2,789,000,000. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $2,658,000,000, higher than $1,971,000,000. Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $5.83 per diluted share USD/SHARES, higher than $4.32 per diluted share USD/SHARES.
COUNTER-EVIDENCE AND CAVEATS: - No segment or geography breakdown is disclosed beyond the single-segment structure flagged in Note 1, so any inference about which merchandise category drove the improvement is not supported by the filing evidence. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
UNKNOWN: - Management's discussion of operating drivers, capital allocation, and forward outlook is captured in sections that are not part of the ledger for this conclusion, so no narrative drivers are reported here.
Financial performance
- Reported revenue for the three-month period the three months ended August 1, 2026 was $26,539,000,000, higher than $25,211,000,000 in the prior-year quarter, and revenue for the six-month year-to-date window the six months ended August 1, 2026 reached $51,982,000,000, also higher than the prior-year comparative of $49,057,000,000. - Operating income for the quarter stood at $2,560,000,000, an increase from $1,317,000,000, and the six-month operating income of $3,695,000,000 likewise improved from $2,789,000,000. - Net income attributable to parent for the quarter was $1,877,000,000, higher than $935,000,000, with the six-month net income of $2,658,000,000 similarly above the prior-year comparative of $1,971,000,000; both periods moved from profit to profit.
32 per diluted share. - Because every income-statement line in the filing evidence moves in the same direction year over year, a quarter-over-quarter delta within the current fiscal year is not separately tabulated in this filing's quoted data. - The segment-reporting note explains how management evaluates the business: the CODM — the Chief Executive Officer — monitors consolidated net earnings and operating income to decide whether to reinvest in capital projects, make equity or other investments, or return capital to shareholders, which sets the internal comparison baseline for performance.
- Accounting context that shapes the income statement includes tariff refunds (Target paid tariffs under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act beginning in the cited period and began submitting refund claims after the cited Supreme Court ruling and the subsequent refund process, as addressed in the cited tariff-refunds note) and interchange fee settlements (settlement agreements entered into in March of the cited year, as described in the cited interchange-fee-settlements note). Revenue recognition conventions, fair-value hierarchy disclosures, long-lived-asset impairment triggers, supplier-finance-program treatment, long-term debt repayments, and the new unsecured revolving credit facility obtained in the cited month are also part of the accounting backdrop but are not decomposed into their own income-statement effects in the filing evidence.
- Management does not publish a quantitative outlook inside the financial statements themselves, and no forward-looking numeric range, EPS target, or revenue guidance is present in the filing evidence; any qualitative forward-looking statements elsewhere in the filing, such as in the cited risk-factors discussion, are not reproduced as facts here. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so relative ranking against other mass merchandisers is not addressed in this section. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - A change readers can verify with SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form (Accession illustrates a contrasting direction in a peer interim filing, but no like-for-like overlap is asserted in this section.
Operating drivers and segments
- The filing identifies a single reportable operating segment under Note 12 and Note 13, covering both physical stores and digital channels, with the Chief Operating Decision Maker (the Chief Executive Officer) monitoring consolidated net earnings and operating income to guide capital allocation and shareholder returns. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - For the three-month reporting period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $26,539,000,000 USD, compared with $25,211,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, an authorized direction increase on revenue.
- For the three-month reporting period, Operating Income (Loss) was $2,560,000,000 USD, compared with $1,317,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, an authorized direction increase on operating income and a profit-to-profit transition. - For the six-month year-to-date period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $51,982,000,000 USD, compared with $49,057,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, an authorized direction increase on revenue. - For the six-month year-to-date period, Operating Income (Loss) was $3,695,000,000 USD, compared with $2,789,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, an authorized direction increase on operating income and a profit-to-profit transition.
- Category color is disclosed in the sales mix footnotes covering beauty (b), grocery (c), electronics and entertainment (d), home (e), and household essentials (f), with digitally originated sales recognized upon delivery or store pickup and net of expected returns, and revenue from Target gift cards recognized upon redemption typically within one year of issuance. - Management describes the business as a single integrated operation designed to enable guests to purchase seamlessly in stores or through digital channels, with capital-allocation decisions (project reinvestment, equity or other investments, or capital returns) governed by the CODM's review of consolidated net earnings and operating income, per the segment reporting language in Note 12 and Note 13.
- Management also identifies two recurring non-merchandise revenue streams that sit alongside net sales: advertising revenue, primarily from the Roundel digital advertising business, and credit card profit-sharing income under the agreement with TD Bank Group, which performs account servicing and primary marketing functions while TD underwrites, funds, and owns Target Circle credit card receivables and oversees risk management and regulatory compliance. Other revenue includes commissions on third-party sales through Target Plus, Target Circle membership revenue, Shipt membership and service revenues, rental income, and other miscellaneous items.
- On operating drivers, management explains that long-lived assets are tested for impairment when store performance expectations, events, or changes in circumstances — such as a decision to relocate or close a store, office, or distribution center, discontinue a project, or make significant software changes — indicate that carrying value may not be recoverable, framing impairment as event-driven rather than tied to a specific operating-income target. , with seasonal effects noted. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Cash flow and capital
The cash flow statement is the cleanest window into how TARGET CORP is funding its growth and shareholder returns this year. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities for the six-month year-to-date window the six months ended August 1, 2026 came in at $4,519,000,000 USD, higher than the prior-year comparative of $2,358,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025. The direction of that change is the only inference the cited evidence authorizes; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was -$2,397,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, compared with -$1,853,000,000 USD in the prior-year six-month window. Both periods sit in negative territory, and the current-period outflow is described as a decrease in magnitude by the catalog. Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment — the company's main capital spending line — reached $2,404,000,000 USD in the current six months, higher than the $1,864,000,000 USD spent in the comparable prior-year window. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities was -$2,199,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, against -$926,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025, with the current reading flagged as a decrease in magnitude in the catalog. Inside the financing bucket, Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock totaled $3,000,000 USD during the current six-month window, lower than the $258,000,000 USD deployed under the board-authorized program a year earlier. Payments of Ordinary Dividends, Common Stock moved in the opposite direction, reaching $1,034,000,000 USD in the current period, higher than the $1,019,000,000 USD returned to shareholders in the comparable window. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
The single balance-sheet line item the catalog carries into this section is Accounts Payable, Current, which stood at $13,306,000,000 USD as of the balance sheet date the balance sheet date of August 1, 2026. Long-term debt repayments disclosed during the six months ended August are summarized in Note 8, while derivative fair-value disclosures tied to interest rate swaps appear in Note 9 and the supplier finance program description sits in Note 7. Capital allocation in the broader sense — how profits are split between reinvestment, repurchases, and dividends — is monitored at the consolidated level by the CODM under the single-segment structure described in Note 13. After-tax return on invested capital for the trailing twelve months ended August is referenced by management as a measure of capital allocation effectiveness, while the broader investing environment is something readers can compare against peers such as Costco Wholesale Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and the Eight-Month Year-to-Date Windows.
The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Peer and historical context
- The single-segment reporting structure disclosed in Note 13 means Target's reported figures are consolidated and cannot be cleanly disaggregated into peer-comparable business units from the filed evidence alone, so any cross-retailer comparison must rest on the consolidated top-line and earnings lines. - Because Target runs as a single reportable segment, the historical view is best framed as the company's own consolidated trajectory rather than as a portfolio of segments, and peer benchmarking should be limited to the same consolidated lines used in the filing.
- The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing does not quantify how much of the period-over-period movement in revenue, operating income, or net income stems from the tariff refund benefit discussed in Note 3 versus underlying business momentum, so any attribution to a single driver is unsupported by the cited evidence.
Scenario analysis
For TARGET CORP (TGT), the period covered by 10-Q for period-ended-2026-08-01 produces three plausible paths around the topline and bottom-line levels actually printed in the filing. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the three-month reporting period reached $26,539,000,000 USD, versus $25,211,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, with the six-month year-to-date line at $51,982,000,000 USD against $49,057,000,000 USD, and the authorized direction in both windows is higher than the prior period. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent tells the same story: $1,877,000,000 USD for the quarter and $2,658,000,000 USD for the half year, compared with $935,000,000 USD and $1,971,000,000 USD respectively, also rising year over year on a profit-to-profit transition. Each scenario below starts from those paired revenue and earnings readings.
The base path is essentially the printed trajectory continuing forward. Both revenue windows remain higher than the prior-year comparative and earnings remain positive, with comparable sales and digital fulfillment operating through existing stores as described in the management narrative. The tariff-refund benefit acknowledged in the source — which the filing notes contributed a portion of gross margin rate, operating income rate, and adjusted operating income rate — is treated as a one-off item rather than a recurring lift, and the broader transformation initiatives continue without significant new non-recurring charges in the period, consistent with management's commentary.
The upside path layers further favorable readings onto the same direction. Net Sales would stay higher than the prior-year comparative on both the quarter and six-month year-to-date views, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent would extend its profit-to-profit rise. If additional tariff refunds were validated through the established process described in Note 3, they could provide a further benefit to gross margin rate and operating income rate, although management states the ultimate financial effect cannot be estimated at this time. Comparable sales growth and digitally originated sales fulfillment would need to hold their recent trend for the result to land above base.
The downside path requires the favorable comparisons to reverse. To land below base, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax would need to slip below $25,211,000,000 USD on the quarter and $49,057,000,000 USD on the six-month view, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent would need to fall below $935,000,000 USD or $1,971,000,000 USD respectively. Management explicitly flags that the collective interaction of tariffs, tariff refunds, sourcing strategies, pricing actions, and consumer response could materially affect sales, results of operations, and financial condition in future periods, which is the main stated channel through which a downside would surface, and the filing also notes that additional transformation costs and charges could adversely affect results. The magnitude and timing of those effects are not quantified.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Risks and what to watch
- Several open issues merit close attention in the next interim window. First, the top-line trajectory bears watching. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $26,539,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $25,211,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2025, and on a year-to-date basis the line was $51,982,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026 versus $49,057,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025; both views are authorized as higher than the prior period, but management itself notes that comparable-sales methodology excludes stores open less than the cited threshold and warns the measure may not be comparable to similarly titled metrics at other retailers, so any apparent strength should be checked against that definitional caveat.
- Bottom-line movement is a separate and more nuanced item. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $1,877,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026 and $2,658,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, each higher than the prior-period $935,000,000 USD and $1,971,000,000 USD, respectively, and each transitioned profit to profit. The narrative highlights tariff refunds benefiting the gross margin and operating margin rates and references adjusted SG&A and adjusted operating income as non-GAAP measures management considers useful for period-to-period comparisons; readers should be alert that those adjusted figures exclude items the company selects, so the gap between adjusted and reported results is itself a watch item.
- Cost programs remain a forward risk. Management states no significant non-recurring costs or charges related to the referenced initiatives were incurred during the three and six months ended August (omitted) or the comparable prior-year periods, but warns additional costs and charges may be incurred in future periods with adverse effects on results of operations and financial condition, and that the amount or timing cannot be reasonably estimated. - Counter-evidence and unknowns.
The filing does not attribute the revenue or net-income movements to any single cause The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. , and segment-level detail is not disclosed for these dimensions The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.. Merchandise Sales are described as net of expected returns and an estimate of gift card breakage, and digitally originated sales include fulfillment from stores, so a change in digital mix could shift cost presentation without changing net sales in equal measure.
- Next-period metrics to watch include: the comparable-sales growth rate and its digital-versus-store split; the adjusted-versus-reported operating income reconciliation, given the tariff-refund benefit in the cited periods; any disclosed costs and charges tied to the active initiatives; and whether supplier finance, pension, and derivative exposures (covered in Note 8 and the cited notes on derivative financial instruments and pension benefits) move in ways that affect cash flow or comprehensive income. Readers comparing filings across retailers can triangulate tone against coverage such as the SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS note to test whether the directional pattern is company-specific or sector-wide.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Arjun Rao
GEO Evidence Analyst · Seo growth · #1 · Conditional · Skeptical
The headline frames a clean beat: revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS all higher on both views. The summary supports that read, but the body sections are empty, so any driver commentary or segment color is missing. I'd want to see how much of the EPS lift comes from buybacks versus operating leverage, since financing outflows widened sharply. Useful to compare against peers before treating this as a trend rather than a quarter. See how a rival retailer fared at Dollar General's filing summary.
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.
More from other categories
Device & Productivity
Canva posts first hard productivity-suite usage numbers as it crowds Microsoft's and Google's workspace
Encoding & Crypto
Cisco Nexus 9.8 RCE, post-quantum banking gains, and AI-assisted crypto audits headline September 4, 2026 security roundup
Fortune & Divination
September 4, 2026 daily fortune: Xinsi day pillar under Hexagram 9 and a tarot spread leaning on cups