Skip to content
Dollar General Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views

finance · September 2, 2026

Dollar General Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$11,290,380,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$10,727,737,000the three months ended August 1, 2025
Operating income$769,164,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$595,428,000the three months ended August 1, 2025
Net income$550,315,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$411,426,000the three months ended August 1, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$2.48 per diluted sharethe three months ended July 31, 2026$1.86 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 1, 2025
Operating cash flow$1,496,705,000the six months ended July 31, 2026$1,814,855,000the six months ended August 1, 2025
Cash and equivalents$1,589,590,000the balance sheet date of July 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

For the three months ended as of the three months ended July 31, 2026, Dollar General delivered higher top-line and operating results than the prior-year window. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $11,290,380,000 USD versus $10,727,737,000 USD in the three months ended August 1, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $769,164,000 USD against $595,428,000 USD in the three months ended August 1, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $550,315,000 USD versus $411,426,000 USD in the three months ended August 1, 2025, and Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $2.48 per diluted share USD/SHARES versus $1.86 per diluted share USD/SHARES.

The same pattern holds across the broader six-month year-to-date frame. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $22,077,345,000 USD versus $21,163,716,000 USD in the six months ended August 1, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $1,407,680,000 USD versus $1,171,541,000 USD in the six months ended August 1, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $994,442,000 USD versus $803,354,000 USD in the six months ended August 1, 2025, and Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $4.49 per diluted share USD/SHARES versus $3.64 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the six months ended August 1, 2025.

In every case the current period sits higher than the prior period, and each line remains in profit on both sides of the comparison, so the move is profit to profit across the quarter and the six-month year-to-date windows. The income-statement comparisons authorized here cover only the direction of change and the profit-to-profit transition; nothing in this section attributes the swing to tariffs, traffic, basket size, shrink, store growth, pOpshelf, DG Media Network, wage pressure, or any other driver management may later discuss.

The filing itself is a Form 10-Q for period-ended-2026-07-31 filed by DOLLAR GENERAL CORP under CIK 0000029534 and accession 0001104659-26-101932, with ticker DG. Forward-looking commentary in the document addresses future periods rather than confirming the quarterly gap; the unaudited income-statement evidence above is what anchors the headline read on Dollar General's latest interim report.

None on the cited pages; the quarter's increase in revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS over the prior-year three months is reported, but the filing does not state a single cause for the movement. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

None beyond the authorized direction stated above.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Whether the improvement reflects any one driver (pricing, traffic, mix, tariff refunds, store growth, shrink progress, or cost initiatives) is not established on the cited income-statement pages and is left to subsequent discussion in this analysis.

Financial performance

Dollar General Corporation, reporting under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-07-31 and filed under accession 0001104659-26-101932, presents its unaudited consolidated results across two windows: the three-month reporting period ending in early August and the year-to-date span covering roughly the first half of the fiscal year. The accompanying statements follow U.S. GAAP for interim financial information and are presented under the requirements of 10-Q and Regulation S-X. Readers are pointed back to the Annual Report on Form (omitted) for the fiscal year ended January (omitted) for full disclosures, including the audited consolidated balance sheet from which the current period balances were derived.

The Company continues to apply the last-in, first-out ("LIFO") method of inventory valuation. Because an actual LIFO valuation is only made at fiscal year end, the interim calculations rest on management's estimates of expected year-end inventory levels, sales and the rate of inflation or deflation, and remain subject to adjustment when the final year-end LIFO inventory valuation is completed. Ongoing estimates of inventory shrinkage and initial markups and markdowns are also reflected in the interim cost of goods sold.

For the three-month reporting period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax reached $11,290,380,000 USD, compared with $10,727,737,000 USD in the prior-year comparative window — a year-over-year increase. Operating Income (Loss) was $769,164,000 USD against $595,428,000 USD, also higher year over year. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent registered at $550,315,000 USD versus $411,426,000 USD, again higher, with Earnings Per Share, Diluted at $2.48 per diluted share USD/SHARES against $1.86 per diluted share USD/SHARES. Both periods produced a profit, and the quarter-to-quarter transition remained profit to profit.

The six-month year-to-date view mirrors the same directional pattern. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $22,077,345,000 USD, above $21,163,716,000 USD. Operating Income (Loss) reached $1,407,680,000 USD versus $1,171,541,000 USD, while Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $994,442,000 USD against $803,354,000 USD. Earnings Per Share, Diluted came in at $4.49 per diluted share USD/SHARES compared with $3.64 per diluted share USD/SHARES, with the half-year transition again profit to profit.

Management attributes results to customary accounting practices, noting all adjustments of a normal recurring nature necessary for a fair presentation have been made. Because the business is moderately seasonal, interim results are not necessarily indicative of full-year outcomes. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Management cautions that forward-looking statements are subject to risks including litigation outcomes, new or revised accounting guidance, the factors disclosed in Item 1A of the most recent Form (omitted), and other matters covered elsewhere in the filing. The Company does not confirm analyst projections and disclaims responsibility for third-party reports.

Quarter-over-quarter commentary is not separately enumerated in the filing, and segment-level detail for the revenue and earnings dimensions above is not separately broken out. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

Readers comparing this interim with broader sector peers can place the directional read alongside other recent quarterly readouts, for example the directional pattern shown in SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form (Accession, which illustrates how mixed the interim landscape has been.

Operating drivers and segments

- Dollar General reports its operating results as a single reportable segment, so the income statement evidence is presented on a consolidated basis rather than broken out by banner, geography, or product family. - Revenue from contract with customers, excluding assessed tax, was $11,290,380,000 USD for the three-month reporting period the three months ended July 31, 2026, against $10,727,737,000 USD for the prior-year three-month window the three months ended August 1, 2025, an authorized increase year over year. - The same revenue line was $22,077,345,000 USD for the six-month year-to-date window the six months ended July 31, 2026, against $21,163,716,000 USD for the prior-year six-month window the six months ended August 1, 2025, also an authorized increase.

- Operating income moved in the same direction as revenue: $769,164,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026 versus $595,428,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2025, and $1,407,680,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026 versus $1,171,541,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025, both profit-to-profit transitions on an authorized increase. - Because the company files on a single-segment basis, this section has no divisional revenue or divisional operating-income split to reconcile; the only margin lens available is the consolidated ratio between operating income and revenue, which the filing presents in the statement of operations and the related discussion in Item 2.

- The cautionary statement in Item 6 flags that forward-looking commentary addresses strategies, plans, and beliefs about future occurrences; it is not a quantitative driver bridge. - The prior-year comparatives in the source record are reproduced as reported by the registrant and have not been restated for any discontinued operations disclosed in Note 7. - The forward-looking and risk-factor language in Item 1A and the cautionary language in Section 13 operate as a qualitative overlay rather than a quantified driver list, so no item-by-item cause of the revenue or operating-income delta is supplied by management.

- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - The filing offers no segment table to align against peers, and the cited reference set does not include an industry comparison; readers seeking peer context could pair this read with the CMS Energy Reports Softer Bottom Line Against Higher Contract Revenue in the reporting period 10-Q Filing item, which illustrates a contrasting single-segment revenue-and-margin mix during a comparable reporting window.

Cash flow and capital

- Dollar General's six-month operating cash flow stepped down versus the prior-year comparable window, even though the year-to-date bottom line printed higher, illustrating that earnings and cash generation drifted in opposite directions across the half-year view. Operating cash flow was $1,814,855,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025 and $1,496,705,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, with the directional comparison authorized for this line of decline. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Investing activities remained a net use of cash in both six-month periods, and the outflow widened year over year, consistent with continued capital deployment into the store base and supply chain. Net cash used in investing was -$691,494,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025 and -$754,282,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, the authorized movement for this dimension being a larger outflow. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Financing activities stayed in net outflow territory across both six-month periods, though the outflow shrank compared with the prior-year comparable, leaving less cash returned to capital providers in aggregate than a year earlier. Net cash used in financing was -$771,370,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025 and -$291,334,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, the authorized relationship for this line being a smaller outflow. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Within the financing bucket, ordinary common-stock dividends paid increased year over year on the six-month basis, reinforcing a pattern of returning more cash to shareholders even while operating cash conversion softened. Dividends paid were $259,718,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025 and $260,307,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, the authorized direction being higher. The filings reviewed for peers in similar reporting windows show a comparable split, as in AES Corp interim filing shows higher revenue and a loss-to-profit swing on net income and diluted EPS for both the quarter and the six-month year-to-date period, while capital and dividend outflows also stepped up.

- On the balance sheet at the balance sheet date of July 31, 2026, the company's cash position stood at $1,589,590,000 USD and accounts payable at $4,349,548,000 USD, both readings from the cited interim balance sheet. The filing discloses the existence of a supply chain finance program through which qualifying suppliers may, at their sole discretion, sell payment obligations to third-party financial institutions; however, the specific supplier-confirmed balances were redacted in the quoted evidence, so the size of that program cannot be drawn from the visible text. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Capital allocation behavior across the half-year can therefore be characterized in qualitative terms only: more cash consumed by investing, a smaller net cash return through financing, and a higher dividend payout, all alongside weaker operating cash flow. The filing evidence does not attribute any of these directional moves to a single cause, and it contains no peer or industry comparison set against Dollar General's specific numbers. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Peer and historical context

- Putting DOLLAR GENERAL CORP (DG) in historical context first, the year-over-year picture is broadly favorable across the top of the income statement on both windows the 10-Q for period-ended-2026-07-31 reports. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $11,290,380,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026 and $22,077,345,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, both higher than the prior comparatives of $10,727,737,000 USD and $21,163,716,000 USD. Operating Income (Loss) tracks the same direction, with the current quarter reading of $769,164,000 USD and the year-to-date reading of $1,407,680,000 USD exceeding the prior year quarters' $595,428,000 USD and the prior year-to-date's $1,171,541,000 USD.

Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $550,315,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026 and $994,442,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026 likewise sit above the prior year's $411,426,000 USD and $803,354,000 USD, with both windows remaining profitable in both periods. - The cash-flow comparison offers a different texture even though the top-line story is constructive. Net Cash Provided by Operating Activities was $1,496,705,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026, lower than the prior year-to-date's $1,814,855,000 USD.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - Because DOLLAR GENERAL CORP is the only issuer detailed in the filing evidence, there is no like-for-like peer table to slot the figures into. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Readers triangulating against other recent consumer-discretionary and utility filings can place this report next to peers such as CMS Energy Reports Softer Bottom Line Against Higher Contract Revenue in the reporting period 10-Q Filing and Costco Wholesale Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and the Eight-Month Year-to-Date Windows, both of which describe a same-direction revenue-and-earnings lift on the most recent quarter.

The contrast with SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form (Accession is also useful, because that peer shows the opposite directional pattern on the same headline lines, sharpening what "favorable" means for DOLLAR GENERAL CORP in this cycle. - One final historical caveat: management flags in the cited note that the business is moderately seasonal, so the interim lift should be read against the prior-year quarter rather than annualized.

The filing also discusses interim LIFO inventory estimation and pending FASB amendments on internal-use software and disaggregated expense disclosures, none of which alter the reported year-over-year comparisons but each of which could reshape the line-up of historical comparisons once adopted.

Scenario analysis

A continuation of the recent run-rate, where Dollar General's revenue grows on a roughly steady cadence and net income holds its profitable footing. On this path, both the three-month period the three months ended July 31, 2026 and the six-month year-to-date window the six months ended July 31, 2026 print revenue higher than the prior-year comparatives the three months ended August 1, 2025 and the six months ended August 1, 2025, in line with the filing's authorized direction. Net income attributable to parent remains a profit on both windows and is higher than the prior-year profits of $411,426,000 (the quarter) and $803,354,000 (the half year), reflecting the authorized profit-to-profit transition with a higher result. Quarterly revenue of $11,290,380,000 edges above $10,727,737,000, and half-year revenue of $22,077,345,000 extends above $21,163,716,000, with quarterly net income of $550,315,000 and half-year net income of $994,442,000 likewise moving higher year over year. The base scenario also assumes that no material shock arises from the matter noted in the cited Commitments and Contingencies reference Note 7 or the cautionary disclosures introduced near Section 13 and Item 6, and that supply-chain-finance programs continue without disruption.

A more constructive path in which top-line gains on both windows translate into a wider profit improvement. Revenue of $11,290,380,000 and $22,077,345,000 outperforms against the prior-year comparatives $10,727,737,000 and $21,163,716,000, and the authorized profit-to-profit higher result on net income is meaningfully amplified, with quarterly profit $550,315,000 advancing on $411,426,000 and half-year profit $994,442,000 advancing on $803,354,000. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Helpful context on the broader sector mix during the quarter can be found in the Costco Wholesale update on higher revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS and the AES Corp interim filing showing a higher revenue and loss-to-profit swing, though peer-specific contribution to Dollar General's upside is not isolated here. The upside path likewise assumes that any impact from the FASB internal-use software and disaggregated expense disclosure updates flagged in the cited narrative remains immaterial to reported earnings on these two windows.

A cautious path in which the authorized higher direction is preserved but the magnitude narrows, or where transient pressure briefly weighs on margins without flipping the sign on net income. Revenue of $11,290,380,000 and $22,077,345,000 still tops the prior-year base of $10,727,737,000 and $21,163,716,000, yet the spread is thinner than in the base scenario, and net income of $550,315,000 and $994,442,000 is only marginally above $411,426,000 and $803,354,000, keeping the authorized profit-to-profit transition intact. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. A more severe downside — a quarter or half year moving to a loss — is not supported by the filing evidence, which authorizes only the higher profit direction on both windows.

Risks and what to watch

- The reported period's top-line reads Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $11,290,380,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026, which is higher than the prior-year comparative of $10,727,737,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2025. The same direction appears on the year-to-date view, with $22,077,345,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026 sitting above $21,163,716,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025. The filing evidence does not attribute the lift to traffic, ticket, new-store, or comp-store drivers, and it does not break out consumables versus non-consumables or seasonal versus everyday categories, so the upside reads as broader rather than channel-specific.

- On profitability, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $550,315,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026 is higher than the prior-year comparative of $411,426,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2025, and the six-month view shows $994,442,000 USD for the six months ended July 31, 2026 above $803,354,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2025. The latest evidence does not split gross margin from operating margin, nor does it disclose shrink, freight, or wage inflation, so the magnitude of any operating-leverage tailwind cannot be sized from this filing alone.

Cross-checking against the SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form (Accession item is useful only to flag that mid-cap consumer-discretionary names can post divergent top-line and bottom-line prints within the same window, not to imply a peer relationship here. - Counter-evidence worth flagging is mostly what is absent.

The condensed disclosure does not provide segment-level detail, so any read-through from a specific store banner, distribution center, or geographic pocket is not available from this filing. The two-step income-tax methodology is described in narrative form, but the gross unrecognized tax benefit balance, the change in that balance, and any near-term settlement window are not quantified in the cited text, so a one-time tax benefit cannot be ruled in or out as a swing factor behind the higher net income line. - Unknowns to keep on the watchlist for the next period include the pace of inventory build versus payables, the cadence of markdowns on slower-turn categories, the share of revenue coming from higher-frequency consumables, and the proportion of selling-day shifts between the comparable windows.

Antidilutive share-based awards are mentioned in narrative form, with the cited note describing an approximate count for the period and the prior-year comparative, but the impact on diluted share count is not quantified in the quoted text and therefore cannot be compared across periods. - Metrics to watch next period are revenue per square foot, same-store sales growth, gross margin rate, operating margin rate, selling, general and administrative expense as a percent of revenue, shrink, the effective tax rate, and the change in antidilutive share-based awards relative to the count disclosed in the cited note for the period and the prior-year comparative, as the catalog does not provide the underlying figure.

Evidence

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories