finance · September 4, 2026
Ross Stores Posts Broad Profit-to-Profit Lift on Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $6,264,886,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $5,529,152,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Operating income | $1,103,618,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $638,274,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Net income | $851,299,000the three months ended August 1, 2026 | $507,995,000the three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $2.66 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 1, 2026 | $1.56 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | $1,711,767,000the six months ended August 1, 2026 | $1,078,077,000the six months ended August 2, 2025 |
| Cash and equivalents | $4,288,124,000the balance sheet date of August 1, 2026 | Not reported |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
For the three-month period covered by this 10-Q filed by ROSS STORES, INC. (ROST, CIK 0000745732, accession 0000745732-26-000041) for period-ended-2026-08-01, the top of the income statement is uniformly higher than the prior-year comparative. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $6,264,886,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $5,529,152,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $1,103,618,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $638,274,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $851,299,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $507,995,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2025. Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $2.66 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $1.56 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended August 2, 2025. The quarter therefore shows a profit-to-profit lift across all four dimensions.
For the six-month year-to-date window, the same pattern holds. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $12,275,362,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, versus $10,514,123,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $1,907,644,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, versus $1,244,744,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $1,501,263,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, versus $987,244,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $4.69 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the six months ended August 1, 2026, versus $3.03 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Both the three-month and six-month windows therefore show authorized direction increases with a profit-to-profit transition on every reported measure.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.
The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
The company describes itself as the operator of two off-price retail apparel and home fashion brands, Ross Dress for Less and dd's DISCOUNTS, with key initiatives in merchandising, marketing and the in-store shopping experience, and a long-term strategy of opening new stores based on market penetration, local demographics, competition, expected store profitability and overhead leverage. This discussion is read alongside the cited note in Item 1A regarding risk factors from the prior Annual Report. Readers can compare the quarter-and-year-to-date pattern here with the similar profit-to-profit lift described in Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing, where the same direction of authorized increase on the four headline measures is reported for a different interim filer.
Financial performance
Ross Stores, Inc. reported its consolidated results for the three-month reporting period ending August the three months ended August 1, 2026 and the six-month year-to-date period ending August the six months ended August 1, 2026 in the filing identified by 10-Q period-ended-2026-08-01 under accession 0000745732-26-000041. The reported line items cover the top of the income statement: Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax, Operating Income (Loss), Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent, and Earnings Per Share, Diluted. The disclosure also sets the accounting baseline by restating each measure against the prior-year comparative, giving readers a clean year-over-year view on both the quarterly and half-year windows.
On the top line, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $6,264,886,000 USD for the three-month reporting period and $12,275,362,000 USD for the six-month year-to-date period. Against the prior-year comparative, the quarter revenue was higher than the $5,529,152,000 USD reported for the three months ended August 2, 2025, and the six-month revenue was higher than the $10,514,123,000 USD reported for the six months ended August 2, 2025. The authorized direction is higher on both windows, with the current and prior values remaining positive on both sides.
Operating Income (Loss) for the three-month reporting period was $1,103,618,000 USD, against $638,274,000 USD in the comparative window. Operating Income (Loss) for the six-month year-to-date period was $1,907,644,000 USD, against $1,244,744,000 USD. The authorized direction is higher on both windows, with the transition remaining profit to profit on the quarter and half-year bases.
Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent followed the same shape: $851,299,000 USD for the three-month reporting period versus $507,995,000 USD in the comparative window; $1,501,263,000 USD for the six-month year-to-date period versus $987,244,000 USD. The authorized direction is higher on both windows, with the transition remaining profit to profit.
Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $2.66 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three-month reporting period, compared with $1.56 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended August 2, 2025, and $4.69 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the six-month year-to-date period, compared with $3.03 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the six months ended August 2, 2025. The authorized direction is higher on both windows, with the transition remaining profit to profit.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
The filing is filed as the interim report under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-08-01, with 0000745732 and ROST identifying the registrant. The cited reference Item 1A appears in the document context but is not relied upon for the figures presented here.
Operating drivers and segments
Ross Stores, Inc. reports its operations under a single retail segment anchored by two off-price banners, Ross Dress for Less and dd's DISCOUNTS, and the filing does not break out segment-level revenue or operating income for either banner. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. At the consolidated level, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax is reported at $6,264,886,000 for the three-month period the three months ended August 1, 2026, against the prior-year comparative of $5,529,152,000 for the three months ended August 2, 2025. For the six-month year-to-date window, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax is reported at $12,275,362,000 for the six months ended August 1, 2026, against the prior-year comparative of $10,514,123,000 for the six months ended August 2, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) for the same windows is reported at $1,103,618,000 versus $638,274,000 on the three-month comparison, and at $1,907,644,000 versus $1,244,744,000 on the six-month comparison, with each period showing a profit-to-profit transition on a higher level of operating income than the prior year. Because the filing does not allocate revenue, cost of goods sold, distribution costs, or SG&A between the Ross and dd's DISCOUNTS banners, margin behaviour inside the segment cannot be observed independently of the consolidated line.
Management ties the higher consolidated revenue to broader off-price demand and frames the period around three named initiatives — merchandising breadth and brand assortment, marketing aimed at customer acquisition and engagement, and in-store experience improvements — together with an expanded store-opening plan weighted toward Ross and a smaller contribution from dd's DISCOUNTS. On cost of goods sold, the filing attributes the increase principally to the higher sales base, partially offset by an IEEPA tariff recovery in the most recent quarter; on distribution costs, management cites packaway inventory timing, higher productivity, and tariff-related processing costs in the prior-year quarter as the main reasons distribution costs improved as a share of sales, with partial offsets from higher domestic freight tied to fuel and higher buying costs tied to incentive compensation; on SG&A, the filing attributes the dollar increase to higher store-related costs and the SG&A deleverage to higher incentive compensation expense. Management also discusses comparable store sales as the primary sales metric, defining it through stores open for an established minimum tenure and separating out new, temporarily closed, and permanently closed stores, while supplementing it with traffic and basket measures.
Independent analysis must treat the revenue and operating-income gains as top-line facts whose underlying drivers the filing leaves largely unattributed at the segment level. The store-opening cadence and the two-banner structure are stated qualitatively rather than as quantified expansion data, so any inference about how much of the consolidated lift came from new-store contribution versus comparable-store contribution sits outside the filing evidence. Margin commentary in the filing is expressed in basis-point terms against the prior year, but the underlying percentage levels are not restated here, so margin direction is read only through management's qualitative description of cost-of-goods, distribution, and SG&A behaviour rather than through independently recomputed figures. Because the source narrative links the cost movements to a defined list of operating factors without quantifying each one's contribution, the appropriate handling for any further attribution question is The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause., and any external benchmarking of Ross's revenue or operating-income trajectory against peer off-price retailers is bounded by The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. Readers comparing this filing with other interim off-price prints, such as Ross Stores Posts Broad Profit-to-Profit Lift on Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS, should note that this section deliberately separates the segment-level silence from management's operating commentary rather than treating either as a complete picture on its own.
Cash flow and capital
Ross Stores finished the second quarter with $4,288,124,000 USD of unrestricted cash on hand at the balance sheet date of August 1, 2026, as disclosed in the management commentary on liquidity. The company's restricted cash position was negligible, and the bulk of the unrestricted balance was held in bank deposits, money market mutual funds, and U.S. Government and agency securities, spread across a highly diversified set of banks and other financial institutions. Long-term debt, excluding current maturities, stood at $777,053,000 USD on the same balance sheet date, indicating that the company continues to operate with limited gross leverage relative to its cash generation.
- Cash generation from the core retail business strengthened on a year-over-year basis. Net cash provided by operating activities for the six-month year-to-date period reached $1,711,767,000 USD, up from $1,078,077,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025, continuing the profit-to-profit pattern visible in operating income and net income. - Cash deployment in the investing line moved in the opposite direction and deepened. Net cash used in investing activities was -$460,217,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, compared with -$409,105,000 USD in the prior-year comparable window. Management attributes the larger outflow to higher capital expenditures tied primarily to the opening of new stores, alongside continued investment in the supply chain (including construction of the next distribution centers), information technology systems, and existing-store improvements. - Within investing, payments to acquire property, plant, and equipment rose to $460,217,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, versus $409,105,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025. - Financing activity was, on net, a slightly larger use of cash. Net cash used in financing activities was -$1,556,599,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, against -$1,552,141,000 USD a year earlier, a move management describes as roughly flat. - Share repurchases absorbed $637,500,000 USD during the six-month window, up from $525,021,000 USD in the prior-year period, reflecting continued opportunistic buybacks under the announced program. - Ordinary dividend payments on common stock increased to $286,191,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026, compared with $265,637,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025, consistent with the quarterly cash dividend declared by the Board in March, May, August, and November of the reporting year.
Ross Stores has not disclosed segment-level cash flow detail, and the filing evidence does not contain a peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The forward-looking risk language refers readers to the Risk Factors discussion in the most recent Annual Report on Form Item 1A for broader context on macro, tariff, weather, and competitive exposures that could shape future cash generation.
Management's stated view is that existing cash balances, cash flows from operations, the Credit Facility, and trade credit remain adequate to meet operating cash needs and to fund share repurchases, planned capital investment, quarterly dividend payments, debt repayments, and interest payments for at least the next twelve months from the filing date.
Peer and historical context
Comparing Ross Stores' interim results to its own historical performance, the 10-Q filed under 0000745732-26-000041 for period-ended-2026-08-01 shows a pattern of growth on every headline line, both for the three-month window and the year-to-date window.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.
For the three-month period ending the three months ended August 1, 2026, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $6,264,886,000 USD was higher than the prior-year quarter's $5,529,152,000 USD, with the authorized direction confirming a year-over-year increase. Operating Income (Loss) on the same window rose to $1,103,618,000 USD from $638,274,000 USD, again moving from profit to profit at a higher level. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent followed the same trajectory, with $851,299,000 USD exceeding the prior year's $507,995,000 USD. Each of these quarter comparisons is consistent with the broader picture painted in the Ross Stores Posts Broad Profit-to-Profit Lift on Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS insight drawn from this same filing.
The six-month year-to-date window ending the six months ended August 1, 2026 extends that pattern rather than interrupting it. Revenue climbed from $10,514,123,000 USD in the six months ended August 2, 2025 to $12,275,362,000 USD, an authorized increase. Operating Income (Loss) moved from $1,244,744,000 USD to the higher $1,907,644,000 USD, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent grew from $987,244,000 USD to $1,501,263,000 USD, each comparing profit to profit at a higher level. The Profit-to-Profit characterisation for both windows is therefore consistent across revenue, operating income, net income, and — by the authorized EPS relation — diluted earnings per share. The same shape of broadly higher profit-to-profit results can be seen in other interim coverage such as Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing, although that comparison is across issuers rather than within Ross Stores' own history.
Cash-generation history tells a similar story. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities rose from $1,078,077,000 USD in the six months ended August 2, 2025 to $1,711,767,000 USD in the six months ended August 1, 2026, the authorized direction. The filing's narrative frames this within management's stated view that existing cash balances, cash flows from operations, the Credit Facility, and trade credit together are adequate to fund common stock repurchases, planned capital investments, quarterly dividends, debt repayments, and interest payments for at least the coming months. The cited Risk Factors note in Item 1A and surrounding forward-looking statements do not single out any one driver for the year-over-year lift, leaving cause attribution to the filing itself rather than to this analysis.
Scenario analysis
A continuation reading of ROSS STORES, INC.'s period-ended-2026-08-01 under 10-Q 0000745732-26-000041 treats the printed six-month and three-month lines as a steady-state path. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $12,275,362,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026 and $6,264,886,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, both higher than the prior-year comparative lines of $10,514,123,000 USD and $5,529,152,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2025 and the three months ended August 2, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $1,501,263,000 USD for the six months ended August 1, 2026 and $851,299,000 USD for the three months ended August 1, 2026, again higher than $987,244,000 USD and $507,995,000 USD a year earlier. The base case assumes that comparable-store traffic, ticket, and markdown trends behave similarly next period and that capital returns continue at the pace disclosed. Risk-factor language on store-site availability, labor cost and turnover, supply chain continuity, and import-related exposure remains the working background; the base case does not assume any single one of them crystallizes.
A constructive scenario layers incremental same-store gains on top of the reported revenue lift and lets operating leverage compound into the bottom line. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax would extend the trajectory already visible in $12,275,362,000 USD versus $10,514,123,000 USD and in $6,264,886,000 USD versus $5,529,152,000 USD. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent would build on the step-up shown by $1,501,263,000 USD relative to $987,244,000 USD and by $851,299,000 USD relative to $507,995,000 USD, with a profit-to-profit transition preserved on both windows. The upside also assumes the cybersecurity, supply-chain, and product-quality risks called out in the filing do not translate into operating disruption, that interest-rate exposure on the Credit Facility remains a non-material item as disclosed, and that disclosure controls continue to operate at the reasonable-assurance level concluded by management. Readers looking for a peer-anchored upside calibration should note that The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. applies here.
The downside scenario holds that one or more of the risk factors enumerated by ROSS STORES, INC. under Item 1A — store-site availability, associate turnover, inventory shortage, cyber or information-security incidents, supply-chain disruption, import risk, or product-quality issues — pressures gross margin or operating expense in a future period. Under that path, the revenue lift recorded between $10,514,123,000 USD and $12,275,362,000 USD, and between $5,529,152,000 USD and $6,264,886,000 USD, slows or partially reverses, and the net-income gain from $987,244,000 USD to $1,501,263,000 USD, and from $507,995,000 USD to $851,299,000 USD, compresses. The market-risk disclosure caps the near-term interest-rate channel as non-material, but it does not buffer the operating channels above. The filing evidence does not attribute the reported period-over-period moves to any single cause, so any margin-pressure story beyond this framing should be treated as conjecture; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. The downside also reflects the caveat that any control system can provide only reasonable, not absolute, assurance, leaving residual room for a control or process gap to surface.
Risks and what to watch
The principal near-term risks flagged in this filing cluster around external volatility and the integrity of internal controls. Management cites exposure to changes in prevailing market interest rates, noting that a reasonably possible near-term move in rates would not, in their view, have a material negative impact on financial position, results of operations, cash flows, or the fair values of cash, cash equivalents, restricted cash and cash equivalents, while also flagging that potential losses in future earnings and cash flows from such near-term rate changes are not considered material — language that signals an explicit sensitivity disclosure but does not quantify the swing. The Interest Rate Risk discussion is not accompanied by a peer benchmark or industry comparison, so any read on Ross relative to other off-price retailers remains an open question, and The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. stands in for that gap.
A second area of risk is the "reasonable assurance, not absolute assurance" framing attached to disclosure controls and procedures. Management, with the CEO and CFO participating, evaluated those controls as effective at the reasonable-assurance level as of the period end, and concurrently evaluated internal control over financial reporting and concluded that no change during the quarter has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, those controls. The prudence caveat — that any control system, however well designed, provides only reasonable, and not absolute, assurance — is the standard risk-factor language that investors typically weigh against a willingness to rely on reported figures.
Legal-proceedings risk is referenced indirectly through incorporation by reference of the "Commitments and contingencies" caption within the relevant accounting-policies note rather than restated here, and the broader risk-factor inventory is incorporated by reference from the most recent annual filing, with reader attention directed to the cited note for the full picture.
On performance, the filing shows profit on both reporting windows and reports higher revenue, higher operating income, higher net income, and higher diluted earnings per share for the three-month reporting period and the six-month year-to-date period than in the prior-year comparative, in each case transitioning profit to profit; cash-flow lines, share repurchases, ordinary dividends, and capital expenditure also registered increases, while investing and financing flows were more negative. No driver is attributable to any single cause from the filing evidence, so The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. applies.
Unknowns and items to watch next period include segment-level breakdown — not disclosed here, so The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. — and the trajectory of interest-rate-driven other income against the backdrop of the back-half retail calendar. Similar profit-to-profit lift reporting patterns at other issuers, such as the Broadcom higher revenue, operating income, and diluted EPS interim result and the Ross Stores broad profit-to-profit lift overview, can serve as benchmarks for the next readout.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Felix Brandt
Rendering and Discovery Specialist · Seo growth · #1 · Conditional · Skeptical
Reading the article as a rendering problem first: every cited figure sits inside a single paragraph that may or may not survive the no-script fetch. If the headline, the six-month period, and at least one dollar number exist in the server HTML before hydration, the answer consumer is served; if they only appear after client execution, the public claim is one script failure away from disappearing. That is a stronger constraint than the year-over-year story itself, and worth checking against a related filing for parity. See Home Depot's interim filing walkthrough for a comparison baseline.
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.