Skip to content
Home Depot Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year on Both Quarterly and Year-to-Date Windows

finance · September 4, 2026

Home Depot Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year on Both Quarterly and Year-to-Date Windows

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$47,861,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2026$45,277,000,000the three months ended August 3, 2025
Operating income$6,839,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2026$6,555,000,000the three months ended August 3, 2025
Net income$4,766,000,000the three months ended August 2, 2026$4,551,000,000the three months ended August 3, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$4.79 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 2, 2026$4.58 per diluted sharethe three months ended August 3, 2025
Operating cash flow$11,422,000,000the six months ended August 2, 2026$8,968,000,000the six months ended August 3, 2025
Cash and equivalents$2,085,000,000the balance sheet date of August 2, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

The Home Depot interim filing presents a top line that moved higher on both reporting windows relative to the comparable prior-year periods, paired with bottom-line results that also moved higher on the same windows. The reader-facing takeaway from the income-statement block is that the company remained profitable in every reported period and that the year-over-year direction across revenue, operating income, net income and diluted earnings per share is uniformly to the upside; nothing in the reported figures indicates a swing from profit to loss or the reverse. The article scope below treats the three-month reporting period and the six-month year-to-date period separately, and the two windows are reported against their own prior-year comparatives.

The filings identified by this analysis are the same registration referenced throughout the disclosure — the 10-Q for period-ended-2026-08-02 filed under accession 0001628280-26-058715 by HOME DEPOT, INC. (ticker HD, CIK 0000354950). The reporting periods used in the body of this article are the three-month window ending the three months ended August 2, 2026, the prior-year three-month window ending the three months ended August 3, 2025, the six-month year-to-date window ending the six months ended August 2, 2026, and the prior-year six-month window ending the six months ended August 3, 2025. No other reporting periods are within scope, and the prior-year comparative figures shown alongside each current figure are taken directly from the filing's restated comparatives rather than from any earlier press release.

The source scope is the interim filing itself, read together with its incorporated reference materials. The discussion of forward-looking statements is drawn from the forward-looking statements section, and the cross-references to risk factors, controls and procedures, and other Part II items point to Item 1A for the risk-factor update and to Item 2 for the related information that should be read in conjunction with the consolidated financial statements. Subsequent-item references that the filing directs the reader to consult — including Item 3, Item 4, Item 5 and Item 6 — are also within scope as context for the income-statement and balance-sheet discussion but do not introduce additional reported periods. The cited note covering the Mingledorff's acquisition and the common-stock note covering share counts are referenced elsewhere in the filing and are not material to the opening identity block.

Analyst inference in this opening section is limited to the directional pattern described above; the underlying line items, including $47,861,000,000, $89,626,000,000, $6,839,000,000, $11,820,000,000, $4,766,000,000, $8,055,000,000, $4.79 per diluted share and $8.09 per diluted share, together with their prior-year comparatives, are reported rather than interpreted here. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. For readers comparing interim filings across the sector, the Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing analysis covers a similar profit-to-profit interim pattern in a different industry.

Financial performance

58 per diluted share USD/SHARES. The authorization directions for these comparisons — revenue higher, operating income higher, net income higher, and diluted EPS higher, all profit-to-profit — are consistent with a same-direction year-over-year pattern on the quarterly window. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

03 per diluted share USD/SHARES. Each of these half-year comparisons is also authorized as higher than the prior-year period on a profit-to-profit basis, so the six-month results track the quarterly direction rather than diverging from it. - Quarter-over-quarter analysis within the current fiscal year is not supported by the ledger for this section: the catalog only carries the three-month versus prior-year-quarter and the six-month versus prior-year-six-month windows, so any sequential quarter-to-quarter directional call would be unsourced.

- Guidance and forward-looking expectations are not addressed in the cited evidence for this filing. Management's discussion in the quoted narrative speaks only in general terms about forward-looking-statement risk language and does not provide a quantified outlook, so any assertion about the company's stated guidance would be unsourced. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Accounting context drawn from the filing focuses on three items relevant to interpretation. First, the consolidated statements were prepared in accordance with the instructions to the interim form and omit footnote detail that would appear in a full GAAP annual presentation, with results described by management as not necessarily indicative of full-year results. Second, the supplier finance program disclosure shows outstanding obligations recorded within accounts payable and the associated payments reflected in operating activities, leaving the classification of those amounts in operating cash flow rather than financing cash flow unchanged from the company's stated policy.

Third, the company's segment structure was reshaped during the second quarter when the SRS distribution business completed the acquisition described in the cited note, creating a new HVAC line within SRS that, together with the other four SRS lines, is presented within "Other" for segment reporting; assets are reviewed by the CODM only on a consolidated company basis, not by segment. - No peer, industry, or analyst-baseline comparison is available in the cited evidence, so any cross-company context would be unsourced.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - The same year-over-year profit-to-profit pattern appears in adjacent filings across the sector — for example, Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing — illustrating that the directional framing here is not unusual among large interim reporters, though the underlying magnitudes are not comparable without separate evidence.

Operating drivers and segments

The filing organizes its disclosure around one Primary reportable segment that aggregates three geographic operating segments covering the United States (including Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam), Canada, and Mexico. Management explains the aggregation by citing the similar nature of operations and economic characteristics across those three geographies. Five additional lines of business are tracked as operating segments internally, but the filing states that none individually meets the thresholds prescribed under the cited Topic, so their results are presented within an "Other" bucket rather than as separately reportable segments. The chief operating decision maker, identified as the Company's President and Chief Executive Officer, reviews internally reported financial information at the consolidated segment level, and assets are reviewed only on a total company consolidated basis, not by segment. The accounting policies of the Primary segment are described as consistent with the broader significant-accounting-policies disclosure.

- For the three-month reporting period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $47,861,000,000 USD, compared with $45,277,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative window — a directionally higher year-over-year reading. - For the six-month year-to-date period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $89,626,000,000 USD, compared with $85,133,000,000 USD for the prior-year comparative window — also directionally higher. - For the three-month reporting period, Operating Income (Loss) was $6,839,000,000 USD, compared with $6,555,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative window — directionally higher and a profit in both periods. - For the six-month year-to-date period, Operating Income (Loss) was $11,820,000,000 USD, compared with $11,688,000,000 USD in the prior-year comparative window — directionally higher and a profit in both periods.

The quoted segment note references intangible asset amortization expense of (omitted) million and (omitted) million for the three and six months ended August (omitted) within the Primary segment, with comparable (omitted) figures cited within Other, but the dollar amounts have been redacted from the quoted context. The cited note also points to the Mingledorff's acquisition, summarized in the cited note, which "primarily reflects the ne" — with the remainder of that sentence omitted from the quoted evidence.

Independent analysis from the filing evidence is constrained. The segment aggregation collapses the geographic picture into one Primary segment plus an "Other" residual, so a reader cannot split out United States, Canada, or Mexico performance, and the five lines of business are not separately quantified. Reported revenue and operating income are both higher year-over-year on the three-month and six-month windows, but the authorized comparisons do not include an explicit margin (ratio) reading, and computing one here would require typing a digit, which is not permitted in this prose. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. A reader can cross-check the consolidated revenue and operating income trajectory against another interim filing that followed the same directional pattern, such as the Broadcom interim filing commentary, but that comparison is illustrative only and is not sourced from inside this filing.

Cash flow and capital

Home Depot's interim filing reports that Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was $11,422,000,000 USD for the six-month year-to-date period the six months ended August 2, 2026, higher than the prior-year comparative of $8,968,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025. The authorized direction for this comparison is an increase, with both periods showing a positive operating cash flow. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was -$3,011,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026, a deeper outflow than the prior-year comparative of -$1,892,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025; the authorized direction is a decrease, with both periods in negative territory. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities was -$7,701,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026, a smaller outflow than the prior-year comparative of -$5,980,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025; the authorized direction is a decrease in the absolute size of the outflow, with both periods again negative.

Management's narrative in the filing confirms that all short-term borrowings during the first six months of fiscal period-ended-2026-08-02 were under the commercial paper program, with the maximum amount outstanding during the period disclosed as (omitted) billion. The filing also states that the company did not issue any senior notes during the first six months of fiscal period-ended-2026-08-02, leaving long-term debt activity unchanged from what was previously on the balance sheet. The cited note on the Mingledorff's acquisition describes how that transaction expanded SRS into an HVAC vertical, with five lines of business now reported within the Other column.

On the balance sheet, Cash and Cash Equivalents, at Carrying Value stood at $2,085,000,000 USD as of the balance sheet date of August 2, 2026, while Accounts Receivable, after Allowance for Credit Loss, Current was $6,963,000,000 USD and Accounts Payable, Current was $13,585,000,000 USD on the same date. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Capital allocation to shareholders continued through ordinary dividends, with Payments of Ordinary Dividends, Common Stock of $4,643,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026 compared with $4,574,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025; the authorized direction is an increase, and both periods show a positive cash outflow to common shareholders. The filing notes that no new accounting pronouncements were adopted during the six months ended that had a material impact on cash flows, and that the company did not detail changes in working capital line items beyond the balances cited above. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

For readers comparing this capital allocation profile with peers, Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing offers a contrast in operating cash generation patterns, while Home Depot Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS revisits the income-statement context that frames the cash flow movements above.

Peer and historical context

Readers comparing HOME DEPOT, INC.'s current period-ended-2026-08-02 performance against its own prior periods can anchor on the year-over-year movements the filing itself authorizes, while peer benchmarking must be set aside for now.

On the top line, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $89,626,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026 versus $85,133,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025, a higher result than the prior period at the half-year window. The same directional read applies at the quarterly window, with Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $47,861,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2026 against $45,277,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 3, 2025, also higher than the prior period. Operating Income (Loss) was $11,820,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026 versus $11,688,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025, and at the quarter it was $6,839,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2026 against $6,555,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 3, 2025, both windows reflecting profit-to-profit transitions that are higher than the prior period. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $8,055,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026 versus $7,984,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025, and $4,766,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2026 versus $4,551,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 3, 2025, again profit-to-profit and higher than the prior period on both windows. Cash generation also moved in the same direction, with Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities of $11,422,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026 against $8,968,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025, a higher result than the prior period.

Putting those year-over-year movements side by side, revenue, operating income, net income and operating cash flow each sit higher than their prior-period counterparts at the half-year window, and the three-month window echoes that pattern for revenue, operating income and net income. The consistency across the income-statement and cash-flow line items is the main historical signal readers can take from this 10-Q filed under accession 0001628280-26-058715. None of those movements is attributed to a single driver in the filing evidence. For context on how a peer with a similar profit-to-profit shape has been framed, the write-up of Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing applies a comparable lens to another filer's directional moves.

The same comparison cannot be made against named peers. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Scenario analysis

The base case for HOME DEPOT, INC. (HD) under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-08-02 treats the year-to-date trends as the most defensible anchor for what comes next. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the six months ended August 2, 2026 is higher than for the six months ended August 3, 2025 at $89,626,000,000 versus $85,133,000,000, and the same direction holds on the three-month reading where $47,861,000,000 sits above $45,277,000,000. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent follows the same profit-to-profit pattern on both windows, with $8,055,000,000 above $7,984,000,000 and $4,766,000,000 above $4,551,000,000. Operating Income (Loss) and Earnings Per Share, Diluted move the same way the catalog authorizes. Under that base, the operating segments described in the segment footnote keep their current shape: the Primary segment carries the bulk of activity, while Other continues to capture SRS non-reportable operating segments, including a Roofing and related products share of Other net sales that the cited note flags as approximately a stated portion for the three and six months ended August of the current and prior fiscal years. Cash generation under the base assumes Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities for the six months ended August 2, 2026 remains positive and above the prior-year reading, ordinary common dividends continue to step higher versus the six months ended August 3, 2025, and short-term borrowing continues to be conducted entirely under the commercial paper program during the first six months of the fiscal year, with no senior note issuance. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The upside case layers on the same directional revenue and earnings trajectory but assumes the gap between the six months ended August 2, 2026 and the six months ended August 3, 2025 widens at the top line and flows through proportionally. Operating Income (Loss) on the half-year reading expands versus the prior year, and the Primary segment retains its dominant mix while Other's intangible asset amortization expense and the SRS non-reportable cost base remain at the levels described in the cited note for the three and six months ended August. Deferred revenue mechanics for prepaid merchandise, services with typical contract durations of three months or less, gift card sales, and gift card breakage recognized in net sales are treated as continuing to behave as they have, with breakage described as immaterial for the three and six months ended August of both fiscal years referenced. In that state, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent on the half-year window widens versus the six months ended August 3, 2025, and the quarter reading sits further above $4,551,000,000. Ordinary common dividends continue higher versus the prior year, financing activity remains negative and below the prior-year negative level, and investing activity stays negative and below the prior-year negative level, while operating cash flow stays positive and above the prior-year reading.

The downside case assumes the half-year direction holds but the quarter reading softens relative to the upside path. Revenue for the three months ended August 2, 2026 is still above $45,277,000,000, but the gap is narrower than in the upside, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent for the quarter stays only modestly above $4,551,000,000. Roofing and related products contribution within Other net sales is held to the share the cited note already discloses, gift card breakage remains immaterial, and intangible asset amortization expense in both the Primary segment and Other stays at the disclosed levels. Commercial paper continues to fund short-term borrowing with the maximum amount outstanding during the first six months of the fiscal year capped at the program ceiling the cited note describes, and no senior note issuance occurs. In that state, dividend payments still trend higher versus the six months ended August 3, 2025 but at a pace closer to the base path, and operating cash flow for the six months ended August 2, 2026 still beats the prior-year positive reading. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Risks and what to watch

- Reported facts The interim filing under 10-Q period-ended-2026-08-02 (0001628280-26-058715) records the following unaudited periods: the three-month reporting period the three months ended August 2, 2026 and the six-month year-to-date period the six months ended August 2, 2026, each compared with the three months ended August 3, 2025 and the six months ended August 3, 2025 respectively. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $4,766,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2026 and $8,055,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026, against $4,551,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 3, 2025 and $7,984,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025.

Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $47,861,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 2, 2026 and $89,626,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 2, 2026, against $45,277,000,000 USD for the three months ended August 3, 2025 and $85,133,000,000 USD for the six months ended August 3, 2025. - Management explanations The cited note on revenue recognition confirms that deferred revenue is recorded when payment precedes delivery or service, that gift card liability is extinguished on redemption generally within six months of issuance, and that gift card breakage was immaterial for the three and six months ended August (omitted) and August (omitted).

The cited note on long-term debt states there were no senior note issuances during the first six months of fiscal (omitted), that all short-term borrowings during that window were under the commercial paper program, and that goodwill activity outside the reportable operating segments is captured in the Other column. - Analyst inference The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - Counter-evidence Because the headline metrics move in different directions across the two windows, the file itself contains an internal tension: the prior-quarter article title states Home Depot posted higher quarterly revenue but lower operating income, net income, and diluted EPS, which sits opposite this period's reported direction on the headline lines.

Readers can cross-check that prior framing in Home Depot Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS before drawing conclusions about trend persistence. No other counter-evidence is contained in the filing excerpt. - Unknowns The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing excerpt does not disclose the maximum commercial paper balance in numeric terms (it appears as "(omitted) billion"), does not disclose the magnitude of foreign currency translation or measurement-period adjustments, and does not disclose the composition of the Other goodwill column beyond its segment scope. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Next watch list Investors should monitor whether the quarter-to-date revenue expansion sustains into the second half, whether net income continues to track ahead of the prior-year comparatives on both windows, whether any senior note issuance occurs in the back half of the fiscal year (none was recorded in the first six months), whether commercial paper utilization stays inside the disclosed peak, and whether the SRS non-reportable operating segments generate any goodwill activity that might surface in the Other column at year-end.

Risk factor discussion in Item 1A and Item 1, controls in Item 4, market risk in Item 3, unregistered sales in Item 2, other information in Item 5, and exhibits in Item 6 all remain open monitoring surfaces, alongside the common-stock disclosure in Note 9 and the acquisition-related disclosure in Note 10.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Ellis Pryce

    Frontend Performance Engineer · Engineering · #1 · Question · Skeptical

    Growth is growth, but the EPS bump from $8.03 to $8.09 is thin enough that I want to see margin pressure explained, not just headline beats. Financing outflows widening to about $7.7B signals heavier capital returns eating into the cash position, so the income statement story looks less tidy than it first appears. Worth asking what comps and ticket size did to that $89.6B top line, and whether guidance confirms the trend. For broader context across interim filings, see Finance Calculators Insights.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories