Skip to content
HII Reports Higher Revenue, Lower Operating Income, and Flat Net Income and Diluted EPS in Interim Filing

finance · September 4, 2026

HII Reports Higher Revenue, Lower Operating Income, and Flat Net Income and Diluted EPS in Interim Filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$3,099,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$2,734,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating income$155,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$161,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$149,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$149,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$3.79 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$3.79 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow-$390,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026-$395,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Long-term debt$2,701,000,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. (HII) is a global, all-domain defense provider that builds and delivers naval ships and supporting technologies, organized into three reportable segments: Ingalls Shipbuilding, Newport News Shipbuilding, and Mission Technologies. The Company's interim financial statements have been prepared in conformity with U.S. GAAP and the instructions to 10-Q promulgated by the SEC, and the filing has been lodged under 0001501585-26-000029 with the SEC for 0001501585. The unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements cover the three months ended March 31, 2026, the three-month reporting period under review, and are presented alongside the three months ended March 31, 2025 as the prior-year comparative for the three-month reporting period.

For the three-month reporting period, Revenues were $3,099,000,000 USD, higher than the prior-year comparative Revenues of $2,734,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (authorized direction increase; current positive, prior positive). Operating Income (Loss) was $155,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, lower than the prior-year comparative Operating Income (Loss) of $161,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (authorized direction decrease; current profit, prior profit; authorized transition profit to profit). Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $149,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, broadly unchanged from the prior-year comparative Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $149,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (authorized direction flat; current profit, prior profit; authorized transition profit to profit). Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $3.79 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2026, broadly unchanged from the prior-year comparative Earnings Per Share, Diluted of $3.79 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (authorized direction flat; current profit, prior profit; authorized transition profit to profit). The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The Company notes that certain prior-year amounts have been reclassified to conform to the current year presentation, and management has used a fiscal calendar that closes on a Friday near quarter-end dates to normalize the effects of quarterly closings on business processes. Estimates have been prepared on the basis of the most current and best available information, and actual results could differ materially from those estimates. The Company's long-term debt is carried at fair value within the lower fair-value tier, while grantor trust assets are held at fair value within the initial liquefaction phase of the fair value hierarchy. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Several referenced notes and items appear in the filing: Note 11 addresses Employee Pension and Other Postretirement Benefits, Note 10 addresses Stockholders' Equity, and Item 1A addresses Risk Factors and Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities. Other items in the filing include Item 1 (Legal Proceedings and Risk Factors), Item 2 (Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds), Item 3 (Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about Market Risk and Controls and Procedures), Item 4 (Controls and Procedures, Legal Proceedings), Item 5 (Other Information, Exhibits, Signatures), and Item 6 (Exhibits, Signatures). The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

The scope of this analysis is limited to the unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements and accompanying notes filed with the SEC under 0001501585-26-000029 for period-ended-2026-03-31; the Company has not provided peer or industry comparison data within this filing. Readers comparing this interim filing with related defense-sector interim filings, such as the Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing coverage or the ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing coverage, should treat each filing as a standalone source and verify each cited figure against the originating document.

Financial performance

The reported three-month window for HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 (filed at 0001501585-26-000029) shows revenue of $3,099,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than $2,734,000,000 recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025 on the authorized year-over-year comparison. Operating income of $155,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026 is described in the authorized relation as a decrease from $161,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2025, even as the top line advanced. Net income attributable to parent of $149,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026 is characterized as flat against $149,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2025 in the authorized direction, with the authorized transition recorded as profit to profit on both sides. Diluted earnings per share of $3.79 per diluted share for the three months ended March 31, 2026 likewise register as flat against $3.79 per diluted share for the three months ended March 31, 2025, profit to profit. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

On a quarter-over-quarter basis the source filing has nothing to report. 10-Q is structured around the interim presentation, and the only retained prior comparator is the year-earlier window. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Likewise, there is no management-issued forward outlook, segment-level forecast, or quantitative target printed in the cited notes or in Item 5 and Item 6 that would constitute formal guidance expectations. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Accounting context inside the filing centers on three items relevant for baseline reading. First, fair-value measurement: long-term debt fair values are calculated from recent trades in inactive markets and placed within Level 2 of the fair value hierarchy, while the grantor trusts that fund certain non-qualified pension plans hold marketable securities within Level 1, per the cited discussion. Second, accounting standards updates: the company states no newly adopted ASU during the quarter had a material impact on the consolidated financial statements; several FASB updates are listed as issued but not yet adopted, covering expense disaggregation, internal-use software capitalization, and government grants, with management describing an ongoing evaluation rather than a quantified effect. Third, per-share mechanics: the diluted EPS reconciliation in the cited earnings-per-share note excludes restricted performance stock rights and restricted stock rights whose dilutive effect was not counted under the treasury stock method for both windows. The repurchase disclosure within Item 2 reports no shares repurchased for either the current or the prior-year quarter.

Counter-evidence and unknowns to flag for the reader: the filing does not break out segment revenue or operating margin between Ingalls Shipbuilding and Mission Technologies for the quarter, so the authorized revenue increase cannot be attributed to a particular shipyard mix here; it does not provide a price/volume reconciliation; and it does not link the year-over-year operating income decrease to any single contract, charge, or productivity line. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The absence of peer benchmarking is also explicit. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Readers comparing this against similar interim stories, such as Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing or Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in the reporting period Filing, should treat only the authorized directions here as comparable inputs.

Operating drivers and segments

- The Company operates through three reportable segments — Ingalls Shipbuilding, Newport News Shipbuilding, and Mission Technologies — built around U.S. naval surface ships, submarines, and integrated defense technology respectively. - For the three-month period of the three months ended March 31, 2026, consolidated revenue landed at $3,099,000,000 USD, higher than the prior-year comparative of $2,734,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Consolidated operating income for the same window registered at $155,000,000 USD, lower than the prior-year comparative of $161,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Mission Technologies is framed as the integrated technology and all-domain force solutions arm, while Ingalls and Newport News carry the century-long shipbuilding franchise in Mississippi and Virginia. - The source narrative flags performance challenges inside the Newport News segment on aircraft carrier and Virginia-class submarine construction during the period.

- Management describes HII as a global, all-domain defense partner that builds and delivers naval ships and supporting technologies across sea, sky, land, space, and cyber domains. - The Company attributes its accounting posture to a fiscal calendar that closes books on a Friday near quarter-end, normalizing the disruptive effects of standard quarterly closings on business processes. - Current-period state income tax expense is charged to contract costs and runs through cost of sales and service revenues inside segment operating income, which the filing discloses as a standing classification convention rather than a new driver. - Management has not, in the quoted narrative, offered a quantified walk across the three segments for revenue or operating income for the three months ended March 31, 2026, and no segment-level margin or operating-income breakdown is supplied in the evidence for this section. - The narrative highlights newly issued but not-yet-adopted FASB guidance on expense disaggregation and on internal-use software cost capitalization, with the Company stating it is evaluating the impact rather than quantifying an effect.

Cash flow and capital

Operating cash flow for HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. in the three months ended March 31, 2026 was a use of cash, recorded at -$390,000,000 USD, compared with a use of cash of -$395,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025; the year-over-year direction authorized for this filing is that operating cash flow increased (that is, the cash drain narrowed) even though both periods remain in negative territory. Investing activities produced a smaller cash outflow in the three months ended March 31, 2026 at -$71,000,000 USD versus -$199,000,000 USD in the prior-year quarter, again consistent with the authorized year-over-year direction of an increase. Financing activities used -$97,000,000 USD of cash in the three months ended March 31, 2026, a heavier use than the -$70,000,000 USD reported a year earlier, consistent with the authorized direction of a decrease. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Capital spending scaled up alongside the higher revenue backdrop already noted in the Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing coverage. Payments to acquire property, plant, and equipment were $74,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the $67,000,000 USD deployed in the three months ended March 31, 2025, in line with the authorized direction. Cash returned to shareholders through ordinary common dividends also stepped up: payments of ordinary dividends on common stock reached $54,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, above the $53,000,000 USD paid a year earlier, matching the authorized direction of an increase.

On the balance sheet at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026, working-capital positions were stated without a prior-period comparable in the quoted evidence. Accounts receivable, net of the allowance for credit loss, stood at $406,000,000 USD, while accounts payable were $692,000,000 USD. Long-term debt, excluding current maturities, was $2,701,000,000 USD at the same date. The filing does not pair any of these balance-sheet figures with a year-end comparable, so no directional language is offered for receivables, payables, or the debt stack on this section's evidence.

Reported facts - Operating cash flow turned less negative year over year. - Investing cash outflow narrowed year over year. - Financing cash outflow widened year over year. - Capital expenditures and common dividends both rose year over year. - Working-capital and long-term debt balances are stated as of the balance sheet date without a comparable.

Management explanations - None provided in the quoted evidence for the cash-flow movements.

Analyst inference - The combination of higher capex and higher dividends, set against narrower operating and investing outflows, sketches a company reinvesting in capacity while still returning cash to shareholders; with both operating and investing cash flows in negative territory, financing absorbs the net cash shortfall.

Counter-evidence - The filing offers no explicit working-capital movement, no segment-level cash disclosure, and no debt-roll-forward, so any claim about leverage, free cash flow, or segment capex mix is unsupported on this section's evidence.

Unknowns - The drivers of the lower operating and investing outflows. - The split of cash use between debt service, repurchases, and other financing items. - Whether long-term debt at the balance sheet date is higher or lower than at year-end.

Peer and historical context

- The most that can be read directly out of the 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 filing under accession 0001501585-26-000029 is a one-issuer, one-period, year-over-year self-comparison; nothing in the source narrative positions HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. (HII) alongside a named defense prime or naval shipbuilding peer set. - Within that self-comparison, the four authorized period directions are: Revenues higher than the prior year, Operating Income (Loss) lower than the prior year, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent roughly flat, and Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities a smaller use of cash than the prior year. The combined read is a top-line gain paired with a contraction in operating profitability, which is qualitatively different from the "all metrics higher" tone visible in adjacent interim filings like Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing and would not line up with the flat-to-higher operating-income pattern implied by CF Industries Holdings Reports Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing. - The diluted EPS authorization for the three months ended March 31, 2026 versus the three months ended March 31, 2025 is "flat, profit to profit," which mirrors the Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent direction; the absence of a more positive EPS signal reinforces the reading that the bottom line did not move meaningfully even as revenue grew.

- The Operating Income (Loss) direction authorized by the catalog — lower than the prior year, profit to profit — runs directly against the "higher operating income" language used in titles such as ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing and Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in the reporting period Filing, so a peer-style narrative that copies those headlines would misrepresent the current quarter. - Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities is still a use of cash in both windows, just a smaller one; treating the comparison as an "improvement to positive cash flow" would overstate what the catalog permits.

Scenario analysis

Consolidated revenue of $3,099,000,000 USD for the three-month period the three months ended March 31, 2026 and net income attributable to the parent of $149,000,000 USD sit above the prior-year comparative window of $2,734,000,000 USD and $149,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. The base, upside, and downside narratives below take those two reported levels as their shared starting point and treat the rest of the discussion as conditional, not as a forecast issued by HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. (Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing). The scenarios differ in their view of how durable the reported revenue and net-income figures prove, not in the figures themselves, which are the same across all three branches.

In the base scenario, the reported revenue of $3,099,000,000 USD and net income of $149,000,000 USD are read as a continuation of the prior-year run rate rather than a step change. Operating income, net income and diluted EPS each remain in profit on a year-over-year basis, with the authorized year-over-year movement described as flat for net income, a profit-to-profit transition for operating income, and a profit-to-profit transition for diluted EPS. Cash flow lines already appear negative in the investing and financing categories on a year-over-year basis, with investing, financing and operating cash flow each described in the authorized comparison set, so the base case does not assume a swing back to positive in the near term. Capital expenditure and ordinary dividend payments are both authorized to be higher year over year, and the base scenario treats those trends as continuing.

The upside scenario leans on the same revenue figure of $3,099,000,000 USD and net-income figure of $149,000,000 USD, but frames them as the floor of a range rather than the ceiling. Continued growth in the authorized revenue direction is read as supportive of operating income, net income and diluted EPS remaining in profit, while the higher capital expenditure pace is treated as reinvestment that protects the program base. This branch does not require new disclosure; it simply assumes the year-over-year direction in the authorized comparison set persists.

The downside scenario is anchored in the unresolved items noted in the filing, including the antitrust class action referenced in Item 1, the insurance claim described in the cited note, the welding-procedure quality matter at Newport News, and the asbestos-related claims referenced in the same narrative block. The filing evidence does not disclose quantified exposure for these matters, so the downside narrative is qualitative: any adverse outcome on the antitrust settlement, the insurance claim, the welding quality matter, the asbestos claims or a government investigation could change the result regardless of how revenue of $3,099,000,000 USD and net income of $149,000,000 USD trend. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

Risks and what to watch

The risk disclosures woven through 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 of HUNTINGTON INGALLS INDUSTRIES, INC. (HII, accession 0001501585-26-000029) concentrate heavily on litigation and regulatory exposure rather than market or commercial risk. Reported facts center on the arbitration initiated against six reinsurers, the Vermont court's grant of the reinsurers' motion for judgment on the pleadings, the Vermont Supreme Court's reversal and remand that allowed the claim to proceed, and pending dispositive motions whose outcome the Company states it cannot at this time predict. A second reported fact tracks quality issues involving noncompliance with welding procedures identified at Newport News, which the Company disclosed to the U.S. Navy customer; management states the ultimate outcome cannot at this time predict or reasonably estimate. A third reported cluster covers asbestos-related claims naming HII and its predecessors-in-interest in longstanding filings across multiple jurisdictions. Management's framing in each matter is that of a passive acknowledgment of exposure: the Company "cannot at this time predict" outcomes, has "commenced an investigation," and reserves the right to await court action.

Counter-evidence against any benign read of the period comes from the same disclosures rather than from external sources. Government customers retain authority to investigate transactions and operations, with findings that could yield fines, penalties, repayments, or compensatory, treble, or other damages, and government regulations permit suspension or debarment from future U.S. contracting — an outcome management flags as material given reliance on government work. The asbestos docket, by management's own description, is longstanding and continues to generate filings, which limits the value of treating the current quarter as a clean baseline.

Analyst inference is constrained because the filing does not quantify probable losses, reserves tied to these matters, or expected reimbursement outcomes from the reinsurance arbitration. Management explanations describe procedural posture only and do not provide margin or cash-flow sensitivity. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so any read of whether the Company's exposure profile is unusual cannot be made from this document alone.

Unknowns for the next period include the Vermont court's decision on the pending dispositive motions, the scope and remediation cost of the Newport News welding-quality finding, the trajectory of new asbestos filings, and whether any government investigation concludes within the next reporting window. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension, so cross-segment exposure to these matters is not addressed in the filing itself. Readers should also watch for any disclosure linking the welding-quality matter to specific program costs or schedule impacts.

For the metrics already tied to this period's results, the authorized comparisons show Revenues higher than the prior period for the three months ended March 31, 2026 versus the three months ended March 31, 2025, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent effectively flat on a profit-to-profit transition, Operating Income (Loss) lower on a profit-to-profit transition, Diluted EPS effectively flat on a profit-to-profit transition, Payments of Ordinary Dividends higher than the prior period, Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment higher than the prior period, Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities higher while remaining negative, Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities higher while remaining negative, and Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities lower while remaining negative. Where the prior-year direction is not explicitly catalogued in the available framework, The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. governs the gap. Readers can compare against peer interim coverage such as Huntington Ingalls Industries Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing when it appears.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Marcus Thorne

    Channel Strategy Analyst · Seo growth · #1 · Question · Skeptical

    Revenue up meaningfully while operating income slips and EPS sits flat — that mix says margin pressure is real, not noise. Worth asking where the cost creep landed: labor, supplier pass-throughs, or program mix. The bigger financing outflow also deserves attention versus just the headline numbers. For broader Q1 sector context, Huntington Ingalls' prior filing summary makes the year-over-year drift easier to see.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories