finance · September 4, 2026
Hasbro Reports Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Quarterly Filing, With Heavier Capital Returns and Modest Net Investing Outflows
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1,113,100,000the three months ended March 29, 2026 | $1,006,100,000the three months ended March 30, 2025 |
| Operating income | $270,300,000the three months ended March 29, 2026 | $170,700,000the three months ended March 30, 2025 |
| Net income | $198,400,000the three months ended March 29, 2026 | $98,600,000the three months ended March 30, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $1.39 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 29, 2026 | $0.70 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 30, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | $337,700,000the three months ended March 29, 2026 | $138,100,000the three months ended March 30, 2025 |
| Long-term debt | $3,094,900,000the balance sheet date of March 29, 2026 | Not reported |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
- For the three-month reporting period identified as the three months ended March 29, 2026, HASBRO, INC. (ticker HAS, CIK 0000046080) filed a quarterly report on 10-Q covering fiscal period period-ended-2026-03-29 under accession 0000046080-26-000026, and the headline conclusion from the filing evidence is a clean year-over-year improvement on every profit and revenue line disclosed at the consolidated level. - The top line, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax, was $1,000,200,000 USD for the three months ended March 29, 2026, higher than the prior-year comparative of $887,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 30, 2025; a parallel Revenues line (the secondary top-line caption appearing in the same filing) registered $1,113,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 29, 2026, also higher than $1,006,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 30, 2025, so both revenue captions move in the same direction.
- Operating Income (Loss) was $270,300,000 USD for the three months ended March 29, 2026, higher than the prior-period operating income of $170,700,000 USD for the three months ended March 30, 2025, keeping the consolidated business in profit on both windows. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $198,400,000 USD for the three months ended March 29, 2026, higher than the prior-year net income of $98,600,000 USD for the three months ended March 30, 2025, again a profit-to-profit transition. 70 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 30, 2025.
- The comparable pattern across revenue, operating income, net income and diluted EPS in this interim filing mirrors the broader pattern discussed in related coverage such as Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing and ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing, although each company's underlying drivers remain filing-specific.
- The forward-looking statement in Item 6 flags potential impacts from tariffs, the Rhode Island to Boston move, debt repayments, accounting pronouncements, and an ongoing investigation into unauthorized network access, but it does not quantify any of these effects for the three months ended March 29, 2026. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.
- The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Financial performance
YOY - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $887,100,000 USD for the prior-year comparative window covering the three months through the three months ended March 30, 2025 and $1,000,200,000 USD for the current three-month window through the three months ended March 29, 2026; the reported comparison indicates a higher current reading against the prior year. - The legacy Revenues line, restated in equivalent presentation, was $1,006,100,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 30, 2025 and $1,113,100,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 29, 2026, again with the authorized comparison pointing higher against the prior year. - Operating Income (Loss) was $170,700,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 30, 2025 and $270,300,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 29, 2026; both windows print a profit, and the authorized comparison registers an increase, taking the period-to-period read as a profit-to-profit move. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $98,600,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 30, 2025 and $198,400,000 USD for the three months through the three months ended March 29, 2026; both periods report positive earnings, and the authorized comparison likewise registers an increase, again framed as a profit-to-profit transition. - Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $0.70 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the prior-year three-month window and $1.39 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the current three-month window, with the authorized comparison confirming an increase on a profit-to-profit basis.
QOQ - The filing evidence does not contain quarter-versus-preceding-quarter values, and any quarterly sequential direction is therefore left uncharacterized here.
GUIDANCE EXPECTATIONS - The filing, identified by 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-29 under accession 0000046080-26-000026 for HASBRO, INC. (CIK 0000046080, ticker HAS), contains no forward guidance statements, and no analyst or consensus expectations are quoted in the cited notes. - Management's own commentary frames the three months through the three months ended March 29, 2026 as a transitional reporting window rather than a steady-state indicator, and the reader is referred to the most recent Annual Report on Form filed for the year ended December of the prior fiscal year for the audited baseline against which interim periods are calibrated. - Where the evidence cannot attribute a period-over-period shift to any single cause, the only acceptable reader-facing statement is The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.; the filing offers no segment-level or driver-level explanation in the cited notes, and the present section therefore records the directional moves without a causal story. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The accounting context summarized in Note 1 confirms that significant accounting policies are unchanged for the interim period, that no recently adopted accounting pronouncement had a material effect, and that the FASB pronouncements on expense disaggregation and internal-use software are still being assessed for future disclosure impact, leaving the current reported figures on a consistent basis with the prior comparative. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
For context on how a profit-to-profit interim pattern has been framed in other Lizely Finance analyses, see the Lizely Finance Earnings Analysis — UFP TECHNOLOGIES INC Interim Filing: Profit-to-Profit Growth on Both Windows write-up.
Operating drivers and segments
For the three months ended March 29, 2026, HASBRO, INC. reported Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,000,200,000 USD and Operating Income (Loss) of $270,300,000 USD, both on the consolidated income statement. Against the three months ended March 30, 2025, the comparable Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $887,100,000 USD and Operating Income (Loss) was $170,700,000 USD. A second revenue line, captioned simply Revenues, is also presented for the same windows, at $1,113,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 29, 2026 and $1,006,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 30, 2025. The filing narrative describes three reportable segments — Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming, Consumer Products, and Entertainment — and outlines the disaggregation the company uses: Tabletop Gaming and Digital and Licensed Gaming inside Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming; North America, Europe, Latin America, and Asia Pacific inside Consumer Products; and Family Brands and Film and TV inside Entertainment. Segment-level revenue, cost, and margin numbers are not contained in the filing evidence for this segment, so the consolidated top line and operating income line are the only quantitative windows available for this section.
The filing itself does not offer an itemized narrative that attributes the period's operating performance to specific segments or product lines in the quoted material available here. Forward-looking commentary points to business strategies and plans, products, gaming and entertainment, anticipated cost savings, expected debt repayments, expected impact of tariffs, anticipated benefits and potential impact of moving Rhode Island operations to Boston, Massachusetts, expectations or beliefs relating to unauthorized network access containment and remediation, expected impact of newly issued accounting pronouncements and tax legislation, financial targets, and expectations for future performance. The discussion of the in-progress FASB accounting standard on software cost capitalization identifies a future policy change rather than a current-period driver. There is no management statement in the text that quantifies how much of the consolidated revenue or operating income change came from each of the three segments, and no commentary that reconciles segment mix to operating margin. Readers therefore see the operating income outcome but cannot, from this filing alone, tie it to Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming, Consumer Products, or Entertainment performance. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
The qualitative pattern is straightforward: revenue and operating income both sit on the positive side of the ledger in both the current and prior periods, and the company continues to operate as a consolidated entity whose segments span physical tabletop products, digital gaming, licensed gaming, consumer products across four geographic regions, and entertainment through family brands plus film and television. Comparable interim windows that pair revenue and operating-income growth in a single filing can be reviewed alongside this analysis, for example ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing, which uses a similar top-line-plus-operating-income frame. Any deeper statement about which product or geography drove the result, whether tariffs or the Rhode Island relocation influenced the period, or how the network-access matter is being reflected in operating performance, is not supported by the filing evidence and is left to the reader's own review of the full segment footnote and management discussion.
Cash flow and capital
Hasbro's three-month operating cash flow moved higher year over year, with the current period's Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities coming in above the prior-year comparative for the same three-month window — both periods remained cash sources rather than cash uses. Investing activity stayed in a net-use posture on both sides of the comparison, and the current quarter's Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was a smaller cash outflow than the prior-year comparative, indicating a less aggressive net deployment of funds into investments and divestitures than a year earlier. Financing activity swung from a net cash use in the prior-year quarter to a net cash source in the current quarter, reflecting a meaningful shift in how the period was financed relative to the comparable stretch.
Within that financing reversal, the largest behavioral drivers that can be read directly off the statement are share repurchases and dividends. Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock were higher in the current quarter than in the prior-year comparative, where the prior-year figure registered as essentially flat — consistent with a step-up in buyback activity this quarter. Payments of Dividends also ran higher than the prior-year comparative, with both periods reflecting a positive cash outflow for shareholder returns, signaling a continuation of the dividend program at a modestly heavier run-rate.
Capital spending tells the opposite story from repurchases. Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment were higher in the current quarter than in the prior-year comparative, with both periods reflecting positive cash deployed into PP&E — implying that Hasbro continued to reinvest in its property, plant, and equipment base at a stepped-up pace relative to a year ago, even as it returned more cash to shareholders. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
On the balance sheet side, Long-term Debt, Excluding Current Maturities stood at $3,094,900,000 USD as of the balance sheet date of March 29, 2026, providing a snapshot of the longer-dated borrowing stack after current maturities are stripped out. The narrative does not tie the change in the debt balance to any single transaction or program, and the cash-flow evidence above does not, on its own, identify a refinancing, repayment, or new issuance event — the period's higher financing cash inflow combined with continued debt service activity is the only directly observable signal. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Putting the three statements together, Hasbro's current quarter shows a healthier operating engine funding both heavier capital investment and heavier shareholder returns, while net investing outflows moderated. The flip of financing cash flow from use to source alongside rising buybacks and dividends points to a quarter where returning capital to shareholders and reinvesting in the asset base were both prioritized, rather than one being funded at the expense of the other. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
A useful external reference point for how operating cash trends can be paired with capital return patterns in interim filings is Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing, which frames a comparable revenue-and-earnings comparison; readers cross-checking Hasbro's combined operating-cash and capital-return profile against a profit-to-profit interim filing can also review Lizely Finance Earnings Analysis — ANI Pharmaceuticals Interim Filing: Profit-to-Profit Growth on Both Windows for the parallel structure.
Peer and historical context
Year-over-year, the consolidated income-statement line items in 10-Q for HASBRO, INC. (CIK 0000046080, accession 0000046080-26-000026) moved in the same direction across every metric the catalog authorizes for this filing. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the three months ended March 29, 2026 of $1,000,200,000 sits above the $887,100,000 figure recorded for the three months ended March 30, 2025; the parallel Revenues line shows the same pattern, with $1,113,100,000 above $1,006,100,000. Operating Income (Loss) for the three months ended March 29, 2026 of $270,300,000 is higher than the $170,700,000 prior-year comparative, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent follows suit, with $198,400,000 above $98,600,000. Operating cash flow tracks the same arc: Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities of $337,700,000 in the three months ended March 29, 2026 is higher than $138,100,000 in the three months ended March 30, 2025. The authorized transitions recorded in the catalog are all profit-to-profit, with no loss-to-profit shift in evidence for this filing. Cross-checks against the Lizely archive show that this profit-to-profit pattern on multiple windows is consistent with the shape seen in other interim filings, such as the Lizely Finance Earnings Analysis — ANI Pharmaceuticals Interim Filing: Profit-to-Profit Growth on Both Windows and the Lizely Finance Earnings Analysis — UFP TECHNOLOGIES INC Interim Filing: Profit-to-Profit Growth on Both Windows, where reported revenue, operating income, and net income all moved higher against the prior-year quarter.
The evidence available here is limited to the company's own three-month comparative windows in 10-Q for the three months ended March 29, 2026 and the three months ended March 30, 2025. There is no segment-level, margin, mix, or geographic detail in scope for this peer and historical comparison beyond the disaggregation hint in Note 1 (Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming split into Tabletop Gaming and Digital and Licensed Gaming; Consumer Products by major geographic region; Entertainment into Family Brands and Film and TV; brands bucketed into Grow, Optimize, and Reinvent). The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. The sale of the Entertainment One film and television business referenced near Note 1 (the Lionsgate transaction with the holdback settled during the three months ended March 29, 2026 and a recorded Loss on disposal of business) is qualitatively a non-recurring item that overlaps the comparison window but is not quantified in the fact set, so its contribution to the revenue, operating income, and net income deltas cannot be separated from the underlying run-rate here. The held-for-trade and unsatisfied-performance-obligation disclosures also point to revenue timing items (contract liability roll-off and future IP-related minimum guarantees) that could affect how the two quarters compare, but the filing evidence does not separate those effects from the headline growth either. Finally, the share-based-award footnote near Note 1 indicates anti-dilutive options excluded from diluted EPS in both periods, which is consistent with the profit-to-profit diluted-EPS transition the catalog authorizes but, again, is not quantified in the fact keys supplied to this section.
Scenario analysis
In the base case drawn directly from the filed period, HASBRO, INC. (HAS) reports the three months ended March 29, 2026 revenue higher than the three months ended March 30, 2025 on both disclosed lines, with Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax at $1,000,200,000 USD versus $887,100,000 USD, and the broader Revenues line at $1,113,100,000 USD versus $1,006,100,000 USD. Net Income Attributable to Parent is also higher, moving from $98,600,000 USD to $198,400,000 USD, preserving the profit-to-profit transition authorized for this section. This base carries the structural backdrop described in the cited note, including the completed sale of the eOne Film and TV business to Lionsgate, the brand reclassification into Grow, Optimize and Reinvent categories, and the segment-level disaggregation across Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming, Consumer Products and Entertainment. The base scenario assumes the consumer demand and cost environment that produced the filed quarter simply persists, with brand mix and segment mix broadly stable.
The upside case leans on the same headline figures but assumes operating leverage amplifies them. If Wizards of the Coast and Digital Gaming continues to lead with Tabletop Gaming alongside Digital and Licensed Gaming, and if Family Brands within Entertainment compounds the post-divestiture focus, the revenue lines at $1,000,200,000 USD and $1,113,100,000 USD could extend the growth already shown versus the prior period. Net Income at $198,400,000 USD would in turn extend the gap over $98,600,000 USD, supported by the absence of the disposal loss recognized when Lionsgate settled the final holdback from the eOne Film and TV transaction described in the cited note. Upside also assumes the anti-dilutive options and other share-based awards excluded from diluted EPS in the three months ended March 29, 2026 and the three months ended March 30, 2025 remain non-binding, leaving diluted share count steady and protecting per-share translation of any incremental profit.
The downside case keeps the reported top line intact but stresses profitability. Even with revenue higher on both lines, margin compression from input costs, retailer inventory positioning or weaker mix within Consumer Products by region — North America, Europe, Latin America and Asia Pacific — could narrow the spread between Net Income at $198,400,000 USD and the prior-period $98,600,000 USD. The downgrade risk is amplified if any further reclassification between Grow, Optimize and Reinvent Brands reshapes reported revenue without a proportional profit contribution, or if residual Entertainment segment cash flows trail Family Brands. Counter-evidence inside the cited note is limited: the filing discloses the disposal loss and the EPS computation but does not break out segment operating margin, so any causal story about why margins would compress is not supported by the filing evidence. The downside therefore treats the headline figures as given and frames risk only at the margin layer. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Risks and what to watch
For the three months ended March 29, 2026, HASBRO, INC. (ticker HAS) recorded Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $198,400,000 under its period-ended-2026-03-29 filed as 10-Q (accession 0000046080-26-000026, CIK 0000046080), against $98,600,000 for the three months ended March 30, 2025. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,000,200,000 versus $887,100,000, and the broader Revenues line was $1,113,100,000 versus $1,006,100,000. The filing's per-share schedule, captioned "Three Months Ended March (omitted) March (omitted)," shows Basic and Diluted figures alongside an anti-dilutive footnote referencing option and share-based award exclusions in the millions for each window.
The Equity Purchase Agreement with Lionsgate contained a holdback recoverable by the Company if specified terms were not satisfied within a defined post-close window. Management disclosed that Lionsgate confirmed satisfaction of those requirements during the three months ended March 29, 2026, triggering settlement of the final holdback and a Loss on disposal of business recorded on the Consolidated Statements of Operations. The Company also described hedging activity on future interest payments related to outstanding Notes, settled at issuance with the fair value deferred in Accumulated other comprehensive loss and amortized to interest expense over the life of the related Notes using the effective interest rate method.
Reading the cited lines strictly, the year-over-year movement in Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent sits inside a profit-to-profit transition, and the two revenue presentations both move higher against the prior-year comparative. Theanti-dilutive disclosure shows excluded awards in both periods, so the per-share computation itself is not visibly distorted by a one-off option overhang. The cash flow narrative carries an authorized direction for Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities shifting from negative to positive, alongside an authorized direction for Investing outflows (negative to negative) and Operating inflows (positive to positive), while Payments of Dividends, Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment, and Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock are each authorized as higher. None of those authorized relations explains causation in this section.
The Lionsgate holdback settlement produced a Loss on disposal of business in the three months ended March 29, 2026, which sits in the income statement as a realized charge that partially offsets the headline profit outcome. With no peer comparison in the catalog, the headline cannot be benchmarked against industry peers in this draft.
Segment-level detail behind the revenue and net income moves is not disclosed at the level this section requires. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. Peer or industry comparison data is not in the filing. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. For any unexplained gap between the lines, The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
METRICS TO WATCH NEXT PERIOD — Headline Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent run-rate, Revenue from Contract with Customer lines on both presentations, the diluted EPS denominator given the cited anti-dilutive awards, the realized Loss on disposal of business trailing into future windows, and the ongoing AOCL amortization tied to the interest-rate hedging contracts on the cited Notes.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Miles Okafor
Infrastructure Engineer · Engineering · #1 · Question · Skeptical
The headline numbers here are genuinely strong: revenue up roughly 13% year-over-year and diluted EPS nearly doubling. What I want to know is whether that growth was earned through volume or propped up by buybacks shrinking the share count, because EPS expansion and operating leverage tell very different stories. Pairing this with the heavier capital returns mentioned, I would want to see segment-level evidence before calling the quarter a clean operational win. Worth reading alongside other recent filings like Snap-on's quarterly report for comparison.
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.