Skip to content
Hartford Insurance Group Posts Higher Net Income, Diluted EPS, and Revenue on Year-Over-Year Basis in Interim Filing

finance · September 4, 2026

Hartford Insurance Group Posts Higher Net Income, Diluted EPS, and Revenue on Year-Over-Year Basis in Interim Filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$7,226,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$6,810,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$856,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$630,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$3.04 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$2.15 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow$1,045,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$985,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025

What the sources reported

Bottom line

The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. delivered higher profitability and top-line growth on a year-over-year basis in its most recent interim filing. For the three-month reporting period covered by 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 filed under accession 0000874766-26-000037, the company reported diluted earnings per share of $3.04 per diluted share USD/SHARES, up from $2.15 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the prior-year three-month reporting period. Net income attributable to the parent was $856,000,000 USD, compared with $630,000,000 USD in the prior-year three-month reporting period. The revenue line labeled Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $392,000,000 USD in the current three-month reporting period, versus $366,000,000 USD in the prior-year three-month reporting period. A separate revenue caption, Revenues, was reported at $7,226,000,000 USD for the current three-month reporting period, against $6,810,000,000 USD for the prior-year three-month reporting period. All four lines moved higher year over year; both EPS and net income moved from profit to profit.

The reporting identity for this section is fixed to the filing of HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP, INC. identified by ticker HIG and CIK 0000874766, with the three-month reporting period anchored as the three months ended March 31, 2026 and the prior-year comparative anchored as the three months ended March 31, 2025. Source scope is restricted to the items and notes that the filing catalog lists for this section: Item 1 for the consolidated financial statements, Item 2 for management's discussion and analysis of financial condition and results of operations, Note 1 and Note 13 on stockholders' equity, Note 2 on earnings per common share, and Note 3 on segment information. Any per-share or revenue figure outside those disclosures is not in scope for this section.

The filing's own forward-looking statements caveat cautions that results depend on future economic, competitive, legislative, and other developments, and on risks described in the company's prior Annual Report and other Securities and Exchange Commission filings, but that caveat does not change the reported figures above. The filing evidence does not attribute the year-over-year movement in EPS, net income, or either revenue caption to any single cause, so any attempt to explain the driver would be unsupported. No peer or industry comparison data sits inside the filing, and no segment-level revenue or earnings detail is supplied at this level for the current dimension. Readers looking for a cross-issuer comparison can later weigh results against filings such as REINSURANCE GROUP OF AMERICA INC Posts Higher Revenue and Net Income in the reporting period Filing once that filing is reviewed on its own terms.

Financial performance

- In the three months ended March 31, 2026, diluted earnings per share were $3.04 per diluted share USD/SHARES, compared with $2.15 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the three months ended March 31, 2025. Diluted earnings per share increased year over year, and the company remained profitable in both periods. The earnings-per-share presentation should be read alongside Note 2, which provides the relevant accounting context for earnings per common share.

- Net income attributable to the parent was $856,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $630,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. Net income therefore increased year over year, with profitability maintained across the comparison. The available evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Revenue from contracts with customers, excluding assessed tax, was $392,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $366,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. The cited revenue measure increased year over year. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- The broader revenue measure also increased: revenues were $7,226,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $6,810,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. This provides a second, complementary view of the company’s quarterly top-line performance, but the filing evidence does not establish a cause for the movement. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

- Management states that actual results could differ materially from expectations depending on the evolution of various factors, including identified risks and uncertainties, the company’s annual-report risk factors, and other filings. This language is important when comparing reported results with the company’s expectations. A suitable company-specific baseline is the Hartford Insurance Group interim performance analysis, which reviews the same reported performance themes.

- The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

- The filing does not disclose segment-level detail for this performance dimension. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

- No quarter-over-quarter comparison is supported by the supplied evidence. Management’s forward-looking statement warns that realized results may differ from expectations, but it does not provide a quantified quarterly bridge, a specific future earnings target, or a machine-supported causal explanation for the reported changes. Consequently, the year-over-year results should be treated as the primary available baseline, while quarter-over-quarter performance, management guidance, and external comparison baselines remain outside the supported scope of this analysis.

Operating drivers and segments

- The Hartford Insurance Group discloses revenue along two distinct lines in its interim filing under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, filed against accession 0000874766-26-000037 with the SEC by CIK 0000874766. The first line — "Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax" — is the narrower, ASC-topic revenue caption and moved higher year over year, from $366,000,000 USD in the prior-year quarter (the three months ended March 31, 2025) to $392,000,000 USD in the current three-month reporting period (the three months ended March 31, 2026).

This is the only disclosed top-line movement the catalog supports for this caption, and it is presented as a directional increase, not a recomputed figure. - The second revenue caption, "Revenues" — the broader total-revenue line typical of an insurance carrier — likewise moved higher year over year, from $6,810,000,000 USD in the prior-year quarter to $7,226,000,000 USD in the current quarter. Because both revenue captions are reported for the same three-month window and both shifted in the same direction, the two lines corroborate each other rather than contradict; the wider "Revenues" line naturally sits above the narrower contract-with-customer caption, which is consistent with the difference between a property-and-casualty / group-benefits carrier's total premium and fee income and the subset that ASC governs.

- Segment-level detail for the quarter is not disclosed in the filing evidence: the segment information note cited as Note 3 is referenced as a structural item in the catalog, but the machine-extractable segment numbers behind it (premiums by line, underwriting income, net investment income, or the split between Commercial Lines, Personal Lines, Group Benefits, and Hartford Funds) are not present in this section's source record. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. - On the profitability side, the only independent corroboration the catalog offers is that net income attributable to the parent increased year over year (authorized direction increase, with the current period remaining profitable and the prior period also profitable), and diluted EPS moved in the same authorized direction increase with both periods profitable.

Cash from operations improved on the year-over-year comparison while cash used in investing worsened and cash used in financing became a larger use, with capital-return items (common-stock repurchases and ordinary common-stock dividends) both shown as larger cash outflows in the current quarter. Property, plant and equipment spending is reported as smaller in the current quarter, consistent with a lighter ordinary-course capex profile. - Management's own framing of these moves is not reproduced in the filing evidence for this section — the discussion captured under Item 2 is acknowledged to exist in the filing, but no machine-extractable quote attributing the revenue or earnings change to a single driver is supplied here.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Readers looking for a cross-company check can pair this filing with REINSURANCE GROUP OF AMERICA INC Posts Higher Revenue and Net Income in the reporting period Filing, which reports the same directional pattern from a different carrier.

Cash flow and capital

Operating cash generation remained the engine of the quarter's liquidity profile. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was $985,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and rose to $1,045,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, with the authorized direction reading as an increase while both periods remained positive, consistent with the premium-driven inflow profile typical of a property-and-casualty and employee benefits issuer operating across the segments described in Note 3. Investing activity reflected the usual asset-liability matching posture of an insurance balance sheet. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was -$401,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and was -$332,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, with the authorized direction an increase; both readings sit on the negative side of the ledger, reflecting continued portfolio reinvestment rather than a strategic redeployment. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Financing activity carried the bulk of the period's capital-return signal. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities was -$608,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and was -$663,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, both negative on the cash-flow statement, with the authorized direction a decrease in the outflow. Within that financing line, share repurchases stepped up: Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock were $400,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and grew to $450,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, with the authorized direction reading as an increase. Ordinary dividends followed the same path — Payments of Ordinary Dividends, Common Stock were $150,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and rose to $167,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, again with the authorized direction an increase, in line with the disclosure framework for stockholder returns outlined in Note 1. Capital expenditure intensity moderated. Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment were $38,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and stepped down to $31,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, with the authorized direction a decrease — a pattern that fits a capital-light insurance and asset-management operating model in which fixed-asset spending tracks general business maintenance rather than capacity build-out.

Read together, the three cash-flow statements describe a period in which operating cash funded both higher returns to common stockholders through repurchases and dividends and continued investment-portfolio activity, while financing absorbed a larger outflow as those returns grew. The balance-sheet pressure points most often watched in this industry — investment-portfolio composition and reserve adequacy — are not separately quantified within this section's filing evidence, and any segment-level read on capital deployment sits outside the scope of the cash-flow statement alone. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Readers comparing this issuer's interim posture with a peer disclosure can cross-reference Hartford Insurance Group Posts Higher Net Income, Diluted EPS, and Revenue on Both Quarter and Year-to-Date Bases in Interim Filing for the surrounding earnings context, but no like-for-like peer cash-flow comparison is contained within this filing. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Peer and historical context

The filing itself only furnishes a single prior-year comparative, so any "peer and historical" framing here rests on the year-over-year column inside this one document rather than on a constructed peer panel.

- A meaningful peer benchmark across other large U.S. property-and-casualty and group benefits writers is not supplied in the cited notes; reader benchmarking against those names would therefore have to come from outside the filing. - The historical series stops at one prior three-month period under this evidence; trend lines beyond that single comparison are not in the material.

Against the prior-year three-month comparative, the operating-cash line, the bottom line, and both revenue presentations all moved in the same qualitative direction, so the quarter reads as stronger than the prior-year quarter on every headline income-statement and cash-flow measure that this catalog carries.

- Operating cash generation rose versus the three months ended March 31, 2025, consistent with the authorized increase on $1,045,000,000 over $985,000,000; both periods remain positive, so the improvement is a larger positive inflow rather than a swing from negative to positive. - Net income attributable to the parent also climbed against the three months ended March 31, 2025, with $856,000,000 above $630,000,000 and the transition staying profit to profit, so the increase is a larger profit on the same side of the line, not a recovery from a loss. - Two revenue lines both moved higher, so the top line did not merely shift between captions: both $392,000,000 versus $366,000,000 (Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax) and $7,226,000,000 versus $6,810,000,000 (Revenues) register increases of the same qualitative character. Because two separate revenue tags both rose, the prior-year column is not being undercut by a reclassification that would otherwise make the comparison read as flat or weaker on a different cut.

The cited segment note (Note 3) also walks through five reportable operating segments plus a Corporate category, which is the structure these aggregate revenue and income figures are built from; that is the only segment-level context the filing evidence supplies, so a more granular peer-style split between, say, Business Insurance and Personal Insurance is not attempted here.

What this section does not, and cannot, do is benchmark HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP, INC. against a named competitor set such as the one suggested by the related coverage on REINSURANCE GROUP OF AMERICA INC Posts Higher Revenue and Net Income in Filing or the broader picture in Hartford Insurance Group Posts Higher Net Income, Diluted EPS, and Revenue on Both Quarter and Year-to-Date Bases in Interim Filing; those comparisons would require external filings beyond the 0000874766-26-000037 evidence under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, and The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison..

The directional pattern, then, is unambiguous across the catalogued measures: a higher operating-cash inflow, a higher net profit, and higher values on both revenue tags than the prior-year three-month column, with The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause..

Scenario analysis

The base reading of the 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 filing from HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP, INC. (ticker HIG, CIK 0000874766, accession 0000874766-26-000037) leans on the reported top line and bottom line, with the company again posting a profit. Revenues for the three months ended March 31, 2026 came in at $7,226,000,000 USD, and the narrower Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax line was $392,000,000 USD, both higher than the prior-year comparatives of $6,810,000,000 USD and $366,000,000 USD respectively. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $856,000,000 USD for the current three-month period, against $630,000,000 USD a year earlier, again a profit. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The five reportable segments discussed in the cited note — Business Insurance, Personal Insurance, P&C Other Operations, Employee Benefits, and Hartford Funds — remain the operational lens through which any of these moves would be explained in the prospectus, but the filing evidence does not pin the direction to any single segment. In a base case, a reader would treat the filing as continuation: both revenue measures higher year over year, both profitability measures higher year over year, and no signal in the cited notes that the trajectory is breaking.

On the more constructive read, the same revenue and earnings data points form the floor rather than the ceiling. Both top-line series moved higher against the prior-year comparative, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent moved higher as well, so the directional setup is favorable going into the next interim print. The cited segment note confirms that Hartford Funds also earns investment advisory fees on third-party life and annuity separate account assets under management, which is a non-premium revenue stream that can extend the upside path when AUM trends are supportive. Property and casualty and group long-term disability reserves are the largest estimation items called out in the cited note, and a favorable development on either line in subsequent disclosures would reinforce the higher net income trajectory already visible in $856,000,000 USD. For cross-checking, a reader can compare the direction of travel with REINSURANCE GROUP OF AMERICA INC Posts Higher Revenue and Net Income in Filing before sizing any upside thesis, since the directional pattern is similar but the segment mix and reserve profile differ. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

The cautious read does not require a negative print to be valid. Even with revenues at $7,226,000,000 USD and net income at $856,000,000 USD, the property and casualty and group long-term disability reserve estimates flagged in the cited note are sensitive to actuarial revision, and integration costs tied to the Navigators Group acquisition are itemized in the cited segment note as a continuing expense line within Business Insurance. Goodwill, investment valuations, derivative valuations, and litigation and regulatory contingencies are also called out as the most significant estimate categories, so each is a plausible source of a later mark against earnings. If any of those items revisits, the same top-line gain shown by $392,000,000 USD versus $366,000,000 USD would not necessarily protect the bottom line. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Risks and what to watch

- Reported facts: The interim filing under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 shows net income attributable to parent of $856,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $630,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Revenue from contracts with customers, excluding assessed tax, was $392,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, against $366,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Total revenues reached $7,226,000,000 USD in the current quarter versus $6,810,000,000 USD a year earlier, with no breakdown provided in the quoted segments beyond the five reportable groupings and the Corporate category described in Note 3.

- Management explanations: The company highlights that GAAP requires estimates and assumptions affecting reported amounts, naming property and casualty and group long-term disability insurance product reserves, goodwill impairment review, valuation of investments and derivatives, and contingencies tied to corporate litigation and regulatory matters as the most significant judgment areas, as referenced in the cited note. It also flags integration costs linked to the Navigators Group acquisition and other miscellaneous revenue and servicing items flowing through segment expenses, per Note 3.

- Analyst inference: Both the top-line and bottom-line lines printed by the filing moved in the same direction versus the prior-year quarter, consistent with the reported comparisons for revenue and net income. Without segment-level expense detail in the quoted excerpt, any further inference on margin behavior would exceed what the filing evidence supports, and the segment narrative flags integration and servicing items as residual items rather than quantified drivers. - Counter-evidence: The quoted segment narrative acknowledges that Note 3 describes expense items "primarily" tied to Navigators integration, leaving open the possibility of other components not quoted here.

The revenue mix also includes third-party investment advisory fees on Hartford Funds AUM, which behave differently from underwriting revenue and could dampen or amplify quarter-to-quarter comparisons depending on market levels, again per Note 3. No peer comparison is included in the evidence available. - Unknowns: the filing excerpt does not disclose reserve development, prior-year casualty reserve adjustments, catastrophe load, or investment portfolio mark-to-market movement for the quarter; it does not separate earned premiums from fee income, nor does it quantify the Navigators integration costs or goodwill impairment testing outcome.

Because the evidence does not attribute the period-over-period shift to any single cause, that question is left unresolved here: The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. Peer or industry benchmarking is also outside the filing: The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. - Metrics to watch next period: Reserve adequacy and prior-year development in Business Insurance and Employee Benefits; catastrophe and large-loss experience in Personal Insurance; AUM-driven fee revenue in Hartford Funds; integration cost run-off tied to the Navigators Group transaction; and any movement in goodwill or investment valuations flagged as sensitive in the cited note.

Readers comparing across insurers can pair this read with REINSURANCE GROUP OF AMERICA INC Posts Higher Revenue and Net Income in the reporting period Filing for a cross-carrier sanity check.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Andre Fields

    Citation Strategy Analyst · Seo growth · #1 · Question · Skeptical

    Strong headline numbers, but the write-up leans entirely on a single SEC surface with no segment breakdown, no combined-ratio context, and no treatment of that larger financing outflow. Who would actually cite a passage that just lists headline EPS growth without naming what drove it? I want to see underwriting results and reserve movements before treating this as a clean beat. The earlier filing summary here raised the same gaps.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories