Skip to content
Generac posts higher revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS year-over-year in interim filing

finance · September 4, 2026

Generac posts higher revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS year-over-year in interim filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$1,059,365,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$942,121,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating income$117,291,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$83,638,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$73,253,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$43,840,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$1.24 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$0.73 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow$119,285,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$58,152,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Cash and equivalents$265,530,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

- Generac posted higher top-line and bottom-line results in the three-month reporting period ended March, on both revenue and every authorized profitability metric, relative to the prior-year comparative. The filings we discuss elsewhere on the site — for example Generac Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing — frame the same direction of change. - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax rose to $1,059,365,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the prior-year figure of $942,121,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025.

- Operating Income (Loss) was a profit of $117,291,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the prior-year profit of $83,638,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was a profit of $73,253,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the prior-year profit of $43,840,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. 73 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2025.

- The reporting package is filed by GENERAC HOLDINGS INC. under 10-Q for the fiscal period period-ended-2026-03-31, with identifier GNRC, CIK 0001474735, and accession 0001437749-26-014882; the cover-page scope therefore covers the three months just described. - Source scope for this article is the condensed consolidated interim financial statements as of March, together with the unaudited statements of comprehensive income, stockholders' equity, and cash flows for the three-month reporting period and its prior-year comparative, plus the accompanying notes and the items discussed under Item 1, Item 1A, Item 2, Item 3, Item 4, Item 5, and Item 6.

- The reader-facing scope includes the cited note on derivative instruments and hedging activities (Note 4), the cited note on segment reporting (Note 7), and the cited note on credit agreements and related swap modifications (Note 12); fair-value hierarchy tiers referenced in the filing are the active-market tier (Level 1), the observable-input tier (Level 2), and the unobservable-input tier (Level 3). - The condensed consolidated statements are prepared in conformity with GAAP, include only normal recurring adjustments, and are not audited, with results of any interim period noted as not necessarily indicative of full-year results.

- Reporting cadence is interim quarterly, with the prior-year comparative matching the same three-month window, allowing the authorized profit-to-profit comparisons across revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS summarized above.

Financial performance

Generac Holdings Inc.'s interim filing under 10-Q for the three months ended March 31, 2026, filed under accession 0001437749-26-014882, lays out a period in which revenue, operating income, net income and diluted earnings per share all moved higher relative to the prior-year comparison. For the three-month window, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,059,365,000 USD, above the prior-year reading of $942,121,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $117,291,000 USD versus $83,638,000 USD in the year-ago quarter, both positive, framing a profit-to-profit transition. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent came in at $73,253,000 USD, higher than $43,840,000 USD, again a profit-to-profit transition. On the per-share line, Earnings Per Share, Diluted reached $1.24 per diluted share USD/SHARES against $0.73 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the prior period, likewise a profit-to-profit movement.

Management cautions that interim results are not necessarily indicative of full-year expectations, a standard reminder rather than a directional view. The filing describes the accounting basis as GAAP, with estimates and assumptions affecting reported balances, and notes that footnote disclosures ordinarily included in annual financial statements have been condensed or omitted and should be read alongside the most recent Form (omitted)-K. The narrative also flags a segment reorganization, with further detail directed to Note 7 ("Segment Reporting"), and a recent acquisition (Allmand) whose results are included from the acquisition date through March (omitted); pro-forma information is not presented because the impact is described as immaterial. A redeemable noncontrolling interest arising from the Generac Juffali Generators WLL joint venture is discussed, with initial fair-value recognition and subsequent carrying-value mechanics tied to redemption triggers. The hedging discussion, cross-referenced to Note 4 ("Derivative Instruments and Hedging Activities"), describes derivatives recorded at fair value under ASC (omitted) with no trading intent, used to manage commodity, foreign currency and interest rate exposures.

On guidance, the filing does not provide quantified forward-looking targets for revenue, margins, net income or EPS. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so Generac's interim trajectory cannot be sized against other generators, equipment peers or broader industrial benchmarks within this filing. Context for similar profit-to-profit quarterly patterns is visible in adjacent filings such as Booking Holdings posts higher revenue, operating income, and diluted EPS in latest interim filing and ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing, which describe the same authorized direction across the same four dimensions for their own reporters. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Operating drivers and segments

- Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $942,121,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and $1,059,365,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, moving higher in the current three-month reporting period. Operating Income (Loss) was $83,638,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and $117,291,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, also higher year over year while remaining a profit in both periods. - The filing references a segment reorganization announced in March, with the Residential segment now consisting of the former Domestic segment excluding the domestic C&I operations; further information is set out in Note 7.

- Management frames GENERAC HOLDINGS INC. as a leading global designer and manufacturer of energy technology solutions, offering power generation equipment, energy storage systems, energy management devices and solutions, and other power products and services for residential, commercial, data center, telecom, rental, and industrial markets, distributed through independent dealers, distributors, retailers, e-commerce partners, wholesalers, equipment rental companies, and certain direct end-user sales. S.

dollar strengthened against foreign currencies during the three months ended March, particularly the Euro, British Pound, and Mexican Peso (and separately calling out the Euro and British Pound), and reports excluding certain stock options and restricted stock awards from diluted EPS because they would be anti-dilutive. - Management identifies strategic M&A activity, including the January acquisition of Allmand, a Holdrege, Nebraska-based manufacturer of mobile power equipment for commercial and industrial markets, and ties its direction to the broader "Powering a Smarter World" strategic plan discussed in Item 1 of the prior Annual Report on Form -K.

- Management characterizes the current-period financial statements as un-audited and subject to normal recurring adjustments, states results of operations for any interim period are not necessarily indicative of full-year results, and flags two pending ASUs affecting internal-use software capitalization and disaggregated expense disclosures that the Company is still assessing for timing and impact. - Comparing the period totals, both top-line and operating profitability increased year over year without a transition in sign, consistent with a profit-to-profit growth profile in revenue and operating income.

- The reported segment restructuring, combined with an acquisition in mobile power for commercial and industrial markets, suggests management is reshaping how it groups cyclical-residential demand separately from project-driven C&I exposure; the cited note on Segment Reporting is the authoritative reference for the new structure. - Higher operating income alongside higher revenue indicates the year-over-year improvement in operating profitability was not achieved through top-line contraction or a one-time gain on the cost line; segment-level mix shifts and FX cannot be re-derived from the available keys.

- The filing itself flags that all comparison figures are interim and un-audited, that estimates and assumptions underlie reported amounts, and that the Company is still assessing the impact of two forthcoming accounting updates — each of which could later alter period comparability. - No quantitative segment-level revenue or margin split for the new Residential segment versus International is given in the quoted evidence, so segment-specific drivers for the operating income lift are not observable here. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Cash flow and capital

Reported facts - Operating cash inflow for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $119,285,000, higher than the $58,152,000 operating cash inflow recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Investing cash outflow for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was -$153,750,000, a smaller outflow than the -$33,539,000 investing cash outflow in the prior-year window. - Financing cash outflow for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was -$41,382,000, a larger outflow than the -$119,719,000 financing cash outflow for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Capital spending on property, plant, and equipment for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $29,397,000, lower than the $30,937,000 outlay in the prior-year quarter. - Common stock repurchases for the three months ended March 31, 2026 were $0, lower than the $97,454,000 reported in the prior-year quarter (which had been a positive cash outflow for buybacks). - Cash and cash equivalents on the balance sheet at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 were $265,530,000, while accounts payable stood at $462,822,000 and long-term debt excluding current maturities was $1,192,500,000.

Management explanations - The filing ties derivative balances to the hierarchy in Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3, with interest rate swaps and commodity/foreign currency contracts classified at Level 2 based on quoted market prices or model-driven valuations using observable inputs. - Note 12 describes the amendment to the Company's credit agreements that prompted the company to modify its interest rate swaps in July of an unspecified year to match the underlying debt and reconfirm hedge effectiveness. - The company reiterates that gains and losses on commodity and foreign currency forward contracts were not material to the condensed consolidated financial statements for the periods presented.

Analyst inference - The combination of higher operating cash inflow, lower investing outflow, and a smaller capital-spending figure suggests GENERAC HOLDINGS INC. (GNRC) preserved liquidity during the quarter, with the cash returned to financing activities (largely debt service and a reduced buyback footprint) widening versus the prior-year quarter. - The shift from a positive repurchase outlay a year ago to roughly no buyback spending in the current window is the clearest sign of a more conservative capital-return posture; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause..

Counter-evidence - The financing line moved in the opposite direction from operating and investing cash, so any conclusion that the company is generating "free" liquidity this quarter has to be tempered by the larger financing outflow; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. - Long-term debt of $1,192,500,000 at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 sits alongside cash of only $265,530,000, so the balance sheet still carries leverage that the quarterly cash inflow did not visibly pay down; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause..

Unknowns - The filing does not break out free cash flow, dividends paid, or a segment-level cash view for the quarter, so The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. and The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. apply to any attempt to attribute the financing outflow to dividends, debt paydown, or repurchases specifically. - Peer-level capital allocation metrics are not in the filing, so The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison..

Peer and historical context

Positioning Generac's latest quarterly results against its own prior-year window and against the broader interim-filing landscape, the headline income-statement dimensions all print higher on a year-over-year basis, with the company moving from a profit in the earlier quarter to a profit again in the current quarter rather than reversing into a loss. Top-line Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the three months ended March 31, 2026 came in at $1,059,365,000 USD, above the $942,121,000 USD recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025, which is the kind of acceleration that has also appeared in other recent interim filings such as the Booking Holdings update. The Operating Income (Loss) line improved from $83,638,000 USD to $117,291,000 USD, while Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent climbed from $43,840,000 USD to $73,253,000 USD, leaving the period as a profit-to-profit transition on the income statement.

Cash-generation tells a similar, if not stronger, story. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities rose from $58,152,000 USD in the prior-year quarter to $119,285,000 USD in the current quarter, an increase in positive operating cash flow that complements the income-statement expansion and is consistent with the operating-cash-flow improvement flagged in the headline interim-filing summary.

When the same dimensions are set beside the wider interim-filing peer set, Generac's combination of profit-to-profit growth across revenue, operating income, and net income sits in the same camp as the Booking Holdings and ONEOK posts, while contrasting with loss-to-profit stories such as the CrowdStrike update. That said, The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. — the filing does not include named peer financial figures, so any ranking against industry rivals is purely directional and should be read alongside the in-body peer links rather than as a head-to-head table.

The historical comparison is bounded to the two quarterly windows catalogued above; the evidence does not extend back further, so longer-run trends such as multi-year revenue trajectories, margin cycles, or pre-pandemic baselines cannot be inferred here. Segment-level reorganisation is referenced in Note 7, "Segment Reporting," and items Item 1 through Item 6 cover the standard second-quarter disclosures including risk factors and controls, but no multi-period segment history is supplied. The contingent-consideration discussion tied to the Chilicon, Ageto, and PR Industrial S.r.l. acquisitions, the Wallbox equity securities measured as Level 1, and the interest-rate swap and warrant valuations classified as Level 2 and Level 3 respectively under the fair-value hierarchy, speak to balance-sheet mechanics rather than to a peer or historical benchmark.

On a like-for-like year-over-year basis the simultaneous expansion of revenue, operating income, net income, and operating cash flow is a coherent quartet: top-line growth flowing through to higher operating income, higher bottom-line profit, and stronger cash generation, with no profit-to-loss or loss-to-profit flip in any of the four authorized dimensions. The pattern echoes other profit-to-profit interim filings referenced above and supports reading the current quarter as an extension of an improving operating cadence rather than a one-off bounce, The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. within this filing.

- Only two quarterly windows are catalogued, so any "trend" claim is single-comparison. - No peer financial figures appear in the filing, so cross-issuer ranking is qualitative. - The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. — segment-level history is not in the catalog. - Cash-flow investing and financing lines are catalogued elsewhere and fall outside this section's scope.

Scenario analysis

GENERAC HOLDINGS INC. (GNRC) reported revenue of $1,059,365,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, compared with $942,121,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (filing accession 0001437749-26-014882, CIK 0001474735). The company also reported net income attributable to parent of $73,253,000 USD for the current three-month window against $43,840,000 USD a year earlier. Reader-facing attribution for any line-item movement must use the reported comparisons: revenue direction is higher, operating income is higher, net income is higher on a profit-to-profit basis, diluted EPS is higher on a profit-to-profit basis, operating cash flow is higher, financing cash flow moved higher while remaining an outflow, investing cash flow moved lower while remaining an outflow, capital expenditure payments moved lower, and common-stock repurchase payments moved from positive to zero. Treat those as the only direction facts the section is allowed to assert; do not extend them into margin, mix, or driver stories.

In the central path, revenue holds the year-over-year gain reported above and net income continues to print a profit, consistent with the authorized profit-to-profit transitions. The newly organized Residential and Commercial & Industrial reportable segments, effective in March per the cited note on segment reorganization, support a cleaner read on residential versus C&I demand without changing the top-line totals. Cash generation stays positive on the operating side, and the absence of common-stock repurchase payments in the current quarter keeps financing outflows contained. Contingent consideration tied to the cited note remains a Level three fair-value item, remeasured each period through general and administrative expense.

The more favorable case assumes revenue keeps the reported gain into subsequent quarters and net income extends the profit-to-profit path. Sustained Residential demand plus a recovering C&I order book would translate into the authorized higher revenue and higher operating income, with operating cash flow remaining positive. Lower payments to acquire property, plant, and equipment than the prior-year quarter free incremental liquidity. A neutral or stronger U.S. dollar reduces translation drag on international revenue, while remeasurement gains on the Wallbox Shares classified within the lower fair-value tier add modest non-operating support.

The stressed case holds revenue and net income at the reported profit levels but assumes the favorable gap narrows if power-output demand softens in Residential or if C&I project timing slips. The Wallbox equity position introduces mark-to-market sensitivity through other expense, net, and Level three contingent consideration for the cited acquisitions can swing quarter to quarter through general and administrative expense. Investing-cash-flow direction is authorized as a larger outflow, and FX translation against the Euro, British Pound, and Mexican Peso can compress reported revenue and operating income if the dollar strengthens further. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Risks and what to watch

Reported facts The interim filing for GENERAC HOLDINGS INC. (GNRC), filed on 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 under accession 0001437749-26-014882 and CIK 0001474735, reports top-line Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,059,365,000 USD for the three-month period the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $942,121,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent reached $73,253,000 USD for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026, versus $43,840,000 USD a year earlier in the three months ended March 31, 2025.

Management explanations The narrative disclosed inside Note 7 outlines a segment Reorganization effective during the reporting window. Before the change, reportable segments were Domestic and International; afterward they became Residential and Commercial & Industrial (C&I). The Residential segment now consists of the former Domestic segment minus the domestic C&I operations, and includes automatic home standby generators, portable generators, residential energy storage systems, energy management devices and solutions, and other outdoor power equipment. The cited note also flags currency exposure, noting that the U.S. dollar moved against foreign currencies during the three months ended March, particularly the Euro, British Pound, and Mexican Peso. Additional disclosed items include contingent consideration sitting in other accrued liabilities and operating lease and other long-term liabilities, common-stock payment accounted for as a non-cash item, and an interest-rate swap modification tied to the credit agreement referenced in the cited note on credit agreements and Note 4.

Analyst inference Because the segment definition itself changed mid-window, any like-for-like comparison between the prior Domestic and International framing and the new Residential and C&I framing will require careful recalibration by readers. The Reorganization language states that the change reflects how the CODM evaluates operations and performance, which implies prior comparatives may be recast or presented alongside the new structure in future filings.

Counter-evidence No counter-evidence appears inside the filing evidence; the filing as quoted supports the higher revenue and higher net income direction on a year-over-year basis without disclosing offsetting pressures. Fair-value hierarchy references (Level 1, Level 2, Level 3) and market-risk disclosures under Item 3 are mentioned in the inventory, but the quoted passage here does not surface specific offsets.

Unknowns The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not surface a stand-alone Risk Factors update under Item 1A within the quoted narrative, nor does it disclose any Legal Proceedings update under Item 4 or new Defaults under Item 2.

Metrics to watch next period - Segment-level revenue and operating performance under the new Residential and C&I structure - Foreign currency movement against the Euro, British Pound, and Mexican Peso - Interest-rate swap positioning following the credit-agreement modification - Contingent-consideration balances carried in other accrued liabilities and operating lease and other long-term liabilities

For related interim context, see Generac Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both Windows in Interim Filing.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Desmond Reyne

    Market Awareness Strategist · Copy · #1 · Question · Curious

    The headline numbers read cleanly, but the framing does the heavy lifting readers actually want done. Revenue, operating income, net income and diluted EPS all up year-over-year is a tidy list, yet it skips the question most people arrive with: is demand pulling this, or is the comparison window just easy? A quarter with revenue near $1.06B and EPS at $1.24 invites curiosity about mix, backlog and pricing power, none of which the summary answers. For anyone tracking the category, the Generac interim filing insight deserves a closer look before treating growth as durable.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories