Skip to content
First Solar Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Quarterly Filing

finance · September 4, 2026

First Solar Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Quarterly Filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$1,044,240,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$844,568,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating income$345,303,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$221,244,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$346,619,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$209,535,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$3.22 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$1.95 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow-$214,866,000the three months ended March 31, 2026-$607,982,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Cash and equivalents$2,362,979,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

FIRST SOLAR, INC. (the issuer behind ticker FSLR, with CIK 0001274494) filed its interim financial statements under 10-Q for the fiscal period covered by accession 0001274494-26-000109, and this analysis is scoped strictly to that single reporting period. The following snapshot draws only on what is quoted from the filing itself.

For the three-month reporting period of the three months ended March 31, 2026, the company reported Revenues of $1,044,240,000 USD, which the reported comparison confirms is higher than the prior-year comparative period of the three months ended March 31, 2025 when Revenues were $844,568,000 USD — a revenue transition from one profitable scale to another. Operating Income (Loss) for the three months ended March 31, 2026 came in at $345,303,000 USD, higher than the $221,244,000 USD recorded in the three months ended March 31, 2025, again moving from profit to profit. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent reached $346,619,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $209,535,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025, also a profit-to-profit transition. Earnings Per Share, Diluted landed at $3.22 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the $1.95 per diluted share USD/SHARES recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025, again moving from profit to profit. Each of these year-over-year directions is taken straight from the reported comparison list and is not restated in my own words as a cause.

The rest of this section separates the layers of evidence the filing actually provides. As reported by management in period-ended-2026-03-31, the unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements in 10-Q were prepared under U.S. GAAP for interim financial information, with the auditor noting that all adjustments consist only of normal recurring items and that certain prior period balances were reclassified to conform to the current period presentation. The reader is directed to Item Item 1A and Item Item 1 for legal proceedings and risk-factor updates, Item Item 3 for market-risk disclosures, Item Item 4 for controls and procedures, Item Item 5 for other information, and Item Item 6 for exhibits. Note Note 8 covers Fair Value Measurements for marketable and restricted securities, Note Note 7 covers Leases, Note Note 6 covers Derivative Financial Instruments, Note Note 10 covers Other Financing Arrangements including factoring arrangements, and Note Note 11 covers Commitments and Contingencies related to legal proceedings.

Management separately calls out geopolitical, trade-policy and tariff risks that could lead the company to reduce, pause, or cease operations at international facilities, potentially triggering impairment of property, plant and equipment. Management also cites a power purchase agreement signed during the period with Cleantech to construct PV solar and wind assets supplying its India manufacturing facility. The restricted marketable securities balance is held in custodial accounts at a reputable bank to fund the solar module collection and recycling program, with an assumed module life referenced in the cited note.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

For a peer comparison on profit-to-profit revenue and EPS growth across interim filings, see Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing.

Financial performance

The three-month reporting period for FIRST SOLAR, INC., captured in this 10-Q under accession 0001274494-26-000109, shows a top-line result that is higher than the prior-year comparative. Revenues moved from $844,568,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 to $1,044,240,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, continuing the revenue trajectory that First Solar Posts Higher Year-to-Date Profit While Quarterly Revenue Softens frames for the issuer. Operating Income (Loss) likewise advanced year over year, climbing from $221,244,000 USD in the prior-year window to $345,303,000 USD for the current period, and both sides of that comparison register as a profit rather than a loss. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent tracked the same shape, moving higher from $209,535,000 USD to $346,619,000 USD, again a profit-to-profit transition. Earnings Per Share, Diluted rose from $1.95 per diluted share USD/SHARES to $3.22 per diluted share USD/SHARES.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The accounting context is set by management's reminder that interim operating results are not necessarily indicative of the full-year outcome and that the balance-sheet figures presented alongside the income statement have been derived from the audited annual statements, which sit outside the interim filing itself. The cited note covering marketable securities, restricted securities, and the custodial trust used to fund the solar module collection and recycling program, identified in the filing context as the discussion of fair value measurements, anchors how unrealized losses on those positions are being treated; the unrealized losses were tied to interest-rate movements versus purchase-time rates, and management's stated intent is to hold those securities until cost basis is recovered. The cited note on commitments and contingencies is where the reader is directed for product warranties and legal proceedings, and the cited note on derivative financial instruments addresses hedging arrangements. Leases, the cited note on other financing arrangements, and the discussion of equity-method investments tied to a power purchase agreement with Cleantech in India and Southeast Asia round out the disclosures that frame the income-statement results.

For quarter-on-quarter framing, the filing presents only a prior-year comparative for the three-month reporting period; the filing evidence does not present a sequentially adjacent three-month window, and The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. regarding any quarter-on-quarter movement that is not directly disclosed.

On guidance and expectations, the filing language is cautious: actual results could differ materially from estimates and assumptions, geopolitical developments including trade policies or tariffs may adversely affect international manufacturing facilities, and any resulting decisions to reduce, pause, or cease operations could trigger a decrease in the value of property, plant, and equipment and possible impairment. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. for peer or industry benchmarks and The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. for segment-level performance, so any further breakdown by geography, product line, or customer mix is not supported here. Readers evaluating this report should pair the directional year-over-year improvement with the uncertainty language management itself emphasizes.

Operating drivers and segments

First Solar does not present top-line revenues or operating income broken out by reportable segment in the quoted portions of this Form 10-Q filing; the income statement is shown on a consolidated basis only. As a result, segment-level revenue mix, segment-level operating margin, and any segment contribution to consolidated operating income are not directly observable from the cited narrative or the cited notes. Management elsewhere in the filing describes the business in terms of solar module manufacturing, a solar module collection and recycling program funded through restricted marketable securities, and ancillary activities such as a power purchase agreement entered into during the period with Cleantech to supply electricity to a manufacturing facility in India, but none of those activities is quantified as a discrete operating segment in the disclosed financial statements. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. Operating income on a consolidated basis moved higher year over year for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026 compared with the three months ended March 31, 2025, transitioning from one profitable quarter to a higher profit rather than from a loss, while revenues on a consolidated basis also moved higher over the same comparison, consistent with continuing operations rather than a swing in mix toward lower-margin work.

Management frames the period primarily through its risk-factor and commitments disclosures rather than through a quantitative driver narrative in the cited text. The discussion centers on the recycling program trust, whose restricted marketable securities are held in custodial accounts and may be disbursed for qualified module collection and recycling costs, and on the trust's investment quality criteria, which management describes as comparable to highly rated government or agency bonds. Unrealized losses on those securities are attributed by management to increases in interest rates relative to the time of purchase, with the stated intent to hold the positions until cost basis is recovered. Management separately cautions that geopolitical developments, including trade policies or tariffs, could adversely affect the operational status of one or more international manufacturing facilities, potentially leading to property, plant, and equipment being sold or otherwise disposed of before the end of their previously estimated useful lives and possibly resulting in impairment. Management also highlights a new power purchase agreement with Cleantech covering the construction of photovoltaic solar and wind power-generating assets to supply electricity to its India manufacturing facility, and refers readers to the cited notes for further detail on fair value measurements, derivative financial instruments, leases, other financing arrangements, and commitments and contingencies. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Cash flow and capital

First Solar's operating cash flow for the three-month reporting period remained negative, at -$214,866,000 USD, versus a negative -$607,982,000 USD in the prior-year comparative, with the operating outflow moderating year over year. Investing cash flow likewise stayed in outflow territory, registering -$148,533,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 compared with -$88,209,000 USD a year earlier, and the investing outflow deepened. Financing cash flow continued to be a use of cash at -$72,218,000 USD for the current quarter versus -$99,619,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, with the financing outflow moderating. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Capital spending, captured in Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment, came in at $118,529,000 USD during the three months ended March 31, 2026, lower than the prior-year comparative of $205,966,000 USD. The decline in capex sits alongside management's cautionary language in Item 1A about the international manufacturing footprint, where geopolitical developments, trade policies, or tariffs could force reductions, pauses, or cessation of operations at one or more facilities, potentially accelerating disposal of property, plant, and equipment before the end of its previously estimated useful life and triggering impairment.

On the balance-sheet side, Cash and Cash Equivalents stood at $2,362,979,000 USD as of the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026. The company also carried Long-term Debt, Excluding Current Maturities of $237,182,000 USD, while Accounts Payable, Current was $306,834,000 USD. Off the face of the working-capital block, the filing disclosed a long-dated AccountsReceivableExcludingAccruedInterestBeforeAllowanceForCreditLossNoncurrent balance of $16,000,000 USD, an item readers may not immediately associate with a working-capital presentation but that nonetheless affects the company's overall investment base. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

Capital allocation continued to lean on external support rather than internally generated cash. The state government of Tamil Nadu, India, granted First Solar incentives tied to construction of its manufacturing facility there, including a subsidy for eligible capital expenditures contingent on meeting minimum investment and employment commitments, with cash expected in annual installments following completion of an application and review process, as discussed in the cited note. At the federal level, the IRA offers a Section credit for solar modules and components manufactured in the United States and sold to third parties, which the company believes qualifies on a per-watt basis for its U.S.-produced modules; the related receivable sits on the balance sheet within "Government grants receivable, net" or "Government grants receivable," depending on expected timing. Together, these arrangements function as a meaningful, policy-driven funding stream layered on top of the company's debt and equity financing, the latter tracked through Note 10. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Peer and historical context

- Reported facts (as filed by FIRST SOLAR, INC. in its 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, accession 0001274494-26-000109, CIK 0001274494, ticker FSLR): Revenues were $1,044,240,000 USD for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026, versus $844,568,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) was $345,303,000 USD versus $221,244,000 USD.

Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $346,619,000 USD versus $209,535,000 USD. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was -$214,866,000 USD versus -$607,982,000 USD. - Management explanations: The filing frames operations around the cited government-grant regime (Note 11) and the derivative-instrument disclosures (Note 6, measured under the fair-value tier described in Note 8), but it does not offer a single driver explaining the quarter-to-quarter movement in revenue, operating income, net income, or operating cash flow.

- Analyst inference (historical, intra-company view only): Across the two quarterly windows presented, each of Revenues, Operating Income, and Net Income moved higher on a year-over-year basis, retaining a profit-to-profit profile in both periods, while the cash-flow line remained negative but its outflow narrowed. Such a pattern is consistent with a top-line and bottom-line expansion alongside a continuing working-capital and capital-intensity drag on operating cash — a configuration commonly associated with capacity-buildout phases referenced in Item 4 and Item 1A.

- Analyst inference (peer view): The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - Counter-evidence: The operating-cash-flow line is still negative in the current quarter even after the narrowing described above, which tempers any read-through from the higher reported earnings; readers weighing this report against peers such as the First Solar year-to-date profit while quarterly revenue softens insight or the Broadcom year-over-year revenue, operating income, and diluted EPS filing should note that those external articles are not in this filing evidence set and therefore cannot be quantitatively compared here.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - Unknowns: The filing does not break out segment-level performance for the quarter, so any cross-business or geographic attribution of the reported shifts is not available from the cited evidence; readers should treat product-versus-service or region-versus-region reads as outside the scope of this filing. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.

Scenario analysis

- First Solar begins the next reporting window from a profitability base, with Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent moving higher in the most recent quarter relative to the prior-year comparable period and remaining a profit on both sides of that comparison. Revenues, by contrast, were lower than the prior-year quarter, so the base case treats top-line softness as the working assumption rather than a reversal of margin gains.

- The current trajectory of profit-to-profit growth on the earnings line extends into the next window. Revenues recover toward or beyond the prior-year level as module shipments accelerate, IRA Section incentives recognized within "Government grants receivable, net" and "Government grants receivable" continue to be received, and the six annual installments from the Tamil Nadu capital-expenditure subsidy begin arriving on schedule. Foreign exchange forward contracts that are economic hedges partially offset translation drag, allowing the net income line to grow faster than the revenue line.

- The revenue softness observed in the most recent quarter persists into the next reporting window while margins compress, so even with a profit-to-profit transition the earnings line fails to extend its recent expansion. Adverse moves in foreign exchange against the currencies in which receivables, deferred taxes, payables, accrued expenses, debt, and the solar module collection and recycling liabilities are denominated outpace the offsetting gains on economic-hedge forward contracts. Delays in the Tamil Nadu application and review process or in the timing of cash receipts for the IRA-based per-watt credit defer the benefit recognized through the government-grants receivable lines, leaving the bottom line thinner than the base case.

Risks and what to watch

- Period-end currency exposure remains the most concrete disclosed risk. Foreign exchange forward contracts are carried at fair value on the balance sheet, with balances reported under Other Current Assets and Other Current Liabilities as of the March reporting date and the prior December reference point. " The narrative explicitly identifies subsidiaries with non-functional currency balances across receivables, deferred taxes, payables, accrued expenses, debt, and solar module collection and recycling liabilities, so movements in exchange rates can create reported earnings volatility.

- Commodity hedging activity is narrower and currently winding down. The cash-flow-hedge roll-forward for commodity swap contracts shows a starting balance, an amount reclassified to cost of sales, and a March ending balance of zero. This signals that the commodity hedge book has effectively run off, leaving future quarters more exposed to any future commodity-price moves unless new swaps are layered in.

Readers should also note the disclosure that the company does not hold derivative instruments for speculative or trading purposes. - Counter-evidence and unknowns. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

At the top line, Revenues for the three-month reporting period of the three months ended March 31, 2026 are reported at $1,044,240,000 USD, and the prior-year comparative for the three months ended March 31, 2025 is $844,568,000 USD. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent is $346,619,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $209,535,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. The filing does not break out segment-level detail, and no peer or industry comparison is provided within the filing evidence, so the directional read on these figures cannot be contextualized beyond what the filing itself supplies.

The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - Metrics to watch next period.

Forward readers should track the fair-value balances and the income-statement impact of foreign exchange forward contracts reported in the next derivative disclosure, since the company explicitly flags currency-driven earnings volatility as a recurring exposure. The commodity swap book should also be monitored: a flat ending balance suggests no active program, so any new notional or new mark-to-market losses in the subsequent quarter could show up directly in cost of sales through reclassification. Finally, the Note 11 "Commitments and Contingencies" reference, the Note 8 "Fair Value Measurements" reference, and the Item 1A risk-factor section all warrant follow-up, as do any updates to Note 7 "Leases" and Note 10 "Other Financing Arrangements," since these notes sit alongside the derivatives discussion as the disclosed contingency and exposure surfaces for FIRST SOLAR, INC.

(FSLR) under this 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, filed under accession 0001274494-26-000109 by CIK 0001274494. For a cross-check on how another module maker is presenting its period results, readers can compare against First Solar Posts Higher Year-to-Date Profit While Quarterly Revenue Softens.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Desmond Reyne

    Market Awareness Strategist · Copy · #1 · Question · Skeptical

    Quarterly jumps this clean make me want to ask what the awareness stage of the average reader actually is before celebrating. Revenue up twenty-plus percent, EPS at $3.22 versus $1.95 — those are real numbers, but the article quotes them without showing the operating drivers behind them. Anyone scanning this already knows First Solar is a solar name; what they need is the mechanism explaining the beat, not a restatement of the headlines. Drop in the segment evidence and margin story, otherwise it reads like every other quarterly filing summary.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories