Skip to content
Datadog Swings to Operating Profit as Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS All Climb Year-Over-Year

finance · September 2, 2026

Datadog Swings to Operating Profit as Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS All Climb Year-Over-Year

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$1,006,426,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$761,553,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating income$7,327,000the three months ended March 31, 2026-$12,420,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$52,574,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$24,642,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$0.15 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$0.07 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow$334,622,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$271,541,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Cash and equivalents$426,360,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

Datadog, Inc. closed the three-month reporting period of the three months ended March 31, 2026 with a profit, a higher operating result than the prior-year comparative window of the three months ended March 31, 2025, when the same line showed a loss rather than a profit. Revenue from contracts with customers (excluding assessed tax) of $1,006,426,000 USD was higher than the $761,553,000 USD recorded a year earlier. Net income attributable to the parent of $52,574,000 USD was higher than the $24,642,000 USD posted in the prior-year quarter, and diluted earnings per share of $0.15 per diluted share USD compared with diluted earnings per share of $0.07 per diluted share USD in the earlier window. Operating income of $7,327,000 USD marked a swing from operating loss of -$12,420,000 USD in the prior-year quarter.

Management framing and forward-looking scope: The filing describes Datadog as an AI-powered observability and security platform for cloud applications, integrating infrastructure monitoring, application performance monitoring, log management, user experience monitoring, cloud security, and service management into a unified, real-time SaaS platform. Management frames forward-looking commentary around expectations for revenue, expenses, and other operating results; the ability to acquire and expand within customers; future investments, capital requirements, and capital expenditures; sales and marketing effectiveness; reliance on key personnel; management of growth including international expansion; intellectual property protection; competitive dynamics; market growth rates; and the potential impact of general market, political, economic, and business conditions, including reductions in information technology spending. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Analyst inference grounded only in the authorized year-over-year relations: The authorized comparisons for this section confirm that revenue, net income, diluted EPS, and operating income each moved higher versus the prior-year quarter; operating income additionally transitioned from a loss to a profit, while net income and diluted EPS remained in profit on both sides. No claim in this section attributes those moves to a specific driver, and none should be read as an endorsement of management's qualitative commentary as the cause.

Counter-evidence and unknowns: The filing evidence for this section does not include peer or industry comparison figures, segment-level revenue detail, customer-count metrics, retention figures, or geographic splits that would let a reader cross-check the reported results against an external benchmark; no such benchmark is asserted here. The unaudited interim results, as filed, are not necessarily indicative of full-year results, and the filing itself cautions that actual outcomes could differ materially from forward-looking statements because of the risk factors described under the Risk Factors header. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Filing identity and source scope: This analysis is drawn from Datadog's interim filing on form 10-Q covering the fiscal period period-ended-2026-03-31, filed by the company identified as Datadog, Inc. (ticker DDOG, CIK 0001561550, accession 0001628280-26-032328). Readers comparing this read-through to other interim filings on Lizely Finance may also consult Datadog Posts Higher Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Form 10-Q Filing for parallel context on the same reporter.

Financial performance

- Revenue from contract with customers for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $1,006,426,000 USD, higher than the prior-year comparative figure of $761,553,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Net income attributable to the parent reached $52,574,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $24,642,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, retaining the same profit-to-profit transition on a year-over-year basis. - Earnings per share, diluted, was $0.15 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the comparative $0.07 per diluted share USD/SHARES reported for the three months ended March 31, 2025, a profit-to-profit transition. - Operating income was $7,327,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with an operating loss of -$12,420,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, a loss-to-profit transition.

QOQ - The filing evidence for 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 under accession 0001628280-26-032328 presents a three-month reporting period against the prior-year comparative three-month window only; it does not present a sequential quarter-versus-immediately-preceding-quarter figure. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

GUIDANCE - The catalog for this section does not contain a forward guidance dimension; the only directional authorizations are the year-over-year comparisons listed above, which describe reported results, not outlook. - The filing's basis-of-presentation language cautions that interim results are not necessarily indicative of results to be expected for the fiscal year ending later this year, which sets the formal expectation that any forward read should defer to later disclosures.

EXPECTATIONS - The accounting context is consistent with a SaaS reporting cycle: the interim condensed consolidated financial statements have been prepared on the same basis as the annual statements, with normal recurring adjustments only, and with certain footnotes condensed or omitted under SEC interim-reporting rules. - The Company uses estimates across fair value of marketable securities, the allowance for credit losses, the fair value of acquired assets and assumed liabilities from business combinations, useful lives of property, equipment, software and finite-lived intangibles, stock-based compensation, valuation of long-lived assets and their recoverability including goodwill, the incremental borrowing rate for operating leases, the estimated expected period of benefit for deferred contract costs, the fair value of the liability component of the convertible debt, and the realization of deferred tax assets and uncertain tax positions. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - For comparison, a [peer interim filing reported the same profit-to-profit pattern](https://www.lizely.com/insights/finance/ufp-technologies-inc-interim-filing-profit-to/) on its year-over-year window, illustrating how the directional authorizations listed earlier can read against contemporaneous filings. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Operating drivers and segments

Datadog describes itself as a single-platform business — an AI-powered observability and security offering that integrates infrastructure monitoring, application performance monitoring, log management, user experience monitoring, cloud security and service management into one unified, real-time product. Because the filing does not present a multi-segment breakdown in the period covered here, the only meaningful operating evidence at the segment level is the consolidated top-line and the consolidated operating result. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $761,553,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and $1,006,426,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, a higher top-line in the current three-month reporting period. Operating Income (Loss) was -$12,420,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and $7,327,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, marking a transition from a loss to a profit on the consolidated line. No separate margin percentages, product-line splits, or geographic disaggregation appear in the cited evidence for this section.

Management frames the company as a single SaaS platform whose value scales through customer acquisition, retention, expansion within accounts, and continued product investment. The forward-looking-statement section enumerates the levers it expects to drive results: acquiring new customers and retaining existing ones, increasing platform usage and upselling or cross-selling additional products, sustaining profitability, making future investments in the business, scaling sales and marketing, hiring key personnel, managing growth including international expansion, protecting intellectual property, and competing effectively against existing competitors and new entrants. Management also notes that an accounting update on expense disaggregation will move certain captions into footnote disclosures rather than the face of the income statement, and that software-development costs may now be capitalized once a project is committed and probable of completion — both framing items about how the numbers will be presented and recognized rather than what is driving them this period.

Independent analysis is constrained by what the filing discloses. The revenue and operating-income comparison above is consistent with management's stated intent to grow the top line while sustaining profitability, and the loss-to-profit swing on the operating line is observable directly in the cited numbers. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing does not break out customer count, net retention, average revenue per customer, or expense lines in a way that would let an outside reader separate volume effects from pricing or mix effects. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Against that backdrop, the operating-income swing and the higher revenue together indicate improved unit economics on the consolidated line, while the absence of segment, geographic and cohort detail leaves the underlying drivers unverifiable from the cited evidence. Readers looking for parallel context can compare the shape of this result with Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing, where the same revenue-up and operating-income-up pattern is also described at the consolidated level rather than by segment.

Cash flow and capital

The three-month reporting period covered by this 10-Q filing shows operating cash generation clearly outpacing the prior-year comparable. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was $334,622,000 USD for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the $271,541,000 USD recorded for the prior-year comparative period the three months ended March 31, 2025. The directional shift from the prior-year figure to the current quarter is positive on both sides of the comparison, consistent with the broader profit-to-profit pattern already visible on the income statement.

Investing activity remained a use of cash in both windows. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was -$314,798,000 USD for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026, an improvement on the -$443,408,000 USD outflow recorded in the three months ended March 31, 2025. Within investing, capital intensity moved in the same direction: Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment were $11,358,000 USD in the current quarter, higher than the $8,748,000 USD spent in the prior-year quarter. The narrative in the filing also references two immaterial business combinations entered into during the quarter and additional acquisitions completed during the prior fiscal year, with management describing each deal as accounted for under the business combinations guidance and not material individually or in aggregate.

Financing activity stayed positive. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities was $9,711,000 USD for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the $1,653,000 USD figure for the three months ended March 31, 2025. The filing separately discusses the company's outstanding convertible senior notes and treats their fair value as a Level 2 measurement because of limited trading activity; readers are pointed to Note 8 for further detail.

On the balance sheet at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026, Cash and Cash Equivalents, at Carrying Value stood at $426,360,000 USD, while Accounts Receivable, after Allowance for Credit Loss, Current was $680,434,000 USD and Accounts Payable, Current was $174,801,000 USD. The filing also notes that depreciation and amortization expense was approximately a figure expressed in millions for the current three-month period and a separate figure for the prior-year comparative, and that the company adopted the new credit-loss practical expedient on a prospective basis without a material impact on the consolidated statements. The recent ASU on disaggregated expense disclosure and the targeted improvements to internal-use software accounting are both still being evaluated.

Combined, the operating, investing, and financing lines point to a quarter in which core cash generation strengthened, capital spending stepped up, and financing continued to add liquidity. For readers comparing this print with peer or industry capital-allocation behaviour, the filing itself offers no such benchmark. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Peer and historical context

Set against its own prior-year three-month footprint, the picture for Datadog, Inc. in its 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 (0001628280-26-032328) is uniformly constructive, with one structural reset at the operating line. The top-line metric, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax, came in at $1,006,426,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $761,553,000 in the three months ended March 31, 2025, extending the topline runway.

Operating Income (Loss) tells the most dramatic story: it flipped sign to a positive $7,327,000 in the current quarter from a negative -$12,420,000 a year earlier — a loss-to-profit transition on the operating line. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent stayed in profit territory, rising from $24,642,000 to $52,574,000 for the comparable windows, a profit-to-profit gain. Cash generation broadened on the same axis: Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities expanded from $271,541,000 in the prior-year quarter to $334,622,000 in the three months ended March 31, 2026, reinforcing the quality of the earnings improvement.

The narrative is one-sided in the company's favor on every line the filing discloses, and there is no operating-line reversal, no margin compression, and no cash-flow shortfall to challenge the year-over-year story — the only non-trivial change is the swing in operating income, which itself works in the direction of improvement, not against it. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so any read-across to other cloud-observability or software-monitoring issuers cannot be made from this filing alone; investors seeking a relative view would have to bring external data.

For a Datadog-specific cross-check on the same headline dimensions, the Datadog Posts Higher Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Form 10-Q Filing insight sits alongside this filing's revenue and net-income trajectories, and the parallel Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing insight captures the same direction on revenue and operating income seen here, though those are external comparables and not part of the filing evidence.

Outside the income statement, the filing's own commentary ties together Note 8 on Convertible Senior Notes and the fair-value disclosures spanning Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3, along with the qualitative updates under Item 1A, Item 2, Item 3, Item 4, Item 5, and Item 6, none of which supply a quantified peer benchmark. On a purely historical basis, every reported window moved the same way.

Scenario analysis

Building on the reported three-month outturn under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 (accession 0001628280-26-032328, CIK 0001561550), the base case treats the year-over-year expansion in Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax from $761,553,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025 to $1,006,426,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026 as the central anchor, paired with the larger Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent figure of $52,574,000 USD against $24,642,000 USD. The base scenario assumes those authorized relationships persist at the cadence management has described, while the two immaterial business combinations completed during the quarter and the convertible senior notes referenced in Note 8 remain non-disruptive. Continued investment in money market funds and securities classified within Level 1 and Level 2 sustains the liquidity posture the filing presents, and capital expenditure and financing flows trend broadly in line with the directional patterns the catalog authorizes for the comparable periods.

The upside case leans on the same licensed directionality — higher Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,006,426,000 USD versus $761,553,000 USD and a higher Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $52,574,000 USD versus $24,642,000 USD — but with that growth re-accelerating rather than merely continuing. The fair-value inputs that anchor Level 2 marketable securities and the Level 2 convertible senior notes referenced through Note 8 remain stable, so unrealized gains and losses presented net of tax and the limited-trading-activity disclosure do not become a drag. The two immaterial purchase agreements disclosed for the quarter, and the prior-period acquisitions still within their measurement-period window, are absorbed without triggering adjustments to the fair value of acquired assets, liabilities assumed, or goodwill. In this scenario, Datadog (DDOG) extends its profit-to-profit transitions across the income-statement and cash-flow lines, consistent with the broader pattern readers can cross-check in Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing.

The downside case keeps the topline growth path intact — Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax at $1,006,426,000 USD above $761,553,000 USD and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent at $52,574,000 USD above $24,642,000 USD — but stresses the inputs the filing flags as judgmental. Level 3 fair-value measurements, the convertible senior notes disclosed at Note 8, and any remaining measurement-period true-ups on the recent acquisitions could pressure reported figures. Depreciation and amortization stepping up from the disclosed prior-year quarterly run rate, alongside any refinement of contingent liabilities, would compress margins. The Company is currently evaluating the impact of the adoption of this standard on its consolidated financial statements, and the resolution of that evaluation is an open variable The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Risks and what to watch

The most direct risks to the headline narrative come from the leverage side of the balance sheet. The cited note on convertible senior notes describes issuance activity that places additional obligations on the company, and convertibles typically carry dilution, refinancing, and interest-coverage considerations that can swing quickly if customer growth cools. With $1,006,426,000 landing at the three months ended March 31, 2026 alongside net income of $52,574,000, any sustained deceleration in the topline would put those fixed charges under pressure sooner than equity-funded peers might face. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Management's own framing on this question is forward-looking only, contained in the special note regarding forward-looking statements within Item 6.

Counter-evidence worth weighing is the conservative posture visible in the fair-value table. Money market funds are concentrated in the highest tier, with no balances shown in Level 2 or Level 3, leaving little mark-to-market exposure to a credit shock. That said, the absence of disclosed activity in lower tiers is not the same as an absence of risk — it merely shifts the vulnerability toward rate sensitivity and reinvestment yields, which Item 3 addresses in its quantitative and qualitative market-risk discussion.

Unknowns in this filing are meaningful. There is no segment-level breakout of where revenue growth is being won or lost, so the geographic and product mix behind $1,006,426,000 versus $761,553,000 cannot be decomposed from the disclosed evidence. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. Acquisitions are flagged as immaterial both individually and in aggregate, yet the goodwill arising from each purchase agreement is non-deductible, which has a quiet tax-shield impact that is not quantified in the cited note. The legal-proceedings and risk-factors sections in Item 1 and Item 1A are the natural homes for litigation and competitive pressure language, and controls-and-procedures language appears in Item 4, while exhibits and signatures sit in Item 6.

For the next reporting window, the metrics that deserve the closest attention are the customer-count and net-retention cadence implied by the recurring nature of the revenue line, the gross-margin trajectory embedded between $1,006,426,000 and operating performance, and any incremental issuance or settlement activity under Note 8. Watch for further acquisition disclosure that would shift the immateriality framing, and for any movement between fair-value tiers that would suggest a change in cash-management posture. Readers can compare this quarter's setup with the broader peer pattern visible in Datadog Posts Higher Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Form 10-Q Filing and contrast the convertible-notes overhang here with the Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing profile. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Evidence

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories