finance · September 2, 2026
CSX Reports Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS for the Quarter in Form 10-Q Filing
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $3,482,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $3,423,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Operating income | $1,253,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $1,041,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Net income | $807,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $646,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $0.43 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026 | $0.34 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | $1,272,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $1,255,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
- For CSX CORP (ticker CSX), the quarterly filing identified as 10-Q for fiscal period period-ended-2026-03-31, filed under accession 0000277948-26-000014 and CIK 0000277948, reports higher revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted earnings per share on the three-month view than in the prior-year comparative window. - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026 stood at $3,482,000,000 USD, higher than the $3,423,000,000 USD recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025; the direction of change is the authorized one and both periods are positive. - Operating Income (Loss) for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026 reached $1,253,000,000 USD, higher than the $1,041,000,000 USD reported for the three months ended March 31, 2025; both periods show a profit and the period-over-period direction is the authorized one. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026 equaled $807,000,000 USD, higher than the $646,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025; the transition remains profit-to-profit and the authorized direction holds. - Earnings Per Share, Diluted for the three months ended the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $0.43 per diluted share USD/SHARES, higher than the $0.34 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2025, again with the authorized direction and a profit-to-profit transition.
- Management states that the accompanying consolidated financial statements contain all normal, recurring adjustments necessary to fairly present them, and that prior-year information has been reclassified where applicable to conform to the current presentation. - Management notes that, pursuant to SEC rules and regulations, certain information and disclosures normally included in annual-form notes prepared under GAAP have been omitted from these interim financial statements, and recommends reading them alongside the most recent annual report on Form (omitted) and any subsequently filed current reports on Form (omitted).
- the filing itself does not link the quarter-over-quarter gains in revenue, operating income, net income, or diluted earnings per share to any specific operational or commercial driver, so any further commentary on causation would exceed what the document warrants; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause..
- No counter-evidence is present in the filing for the four reported dimensions: revenue, operating income, net income attributable to parent, and diluted earnings per share all moved in the same direction relative to the prior-year quarter, with no offsetting line items cited.
UNKNOWN: - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so any cross-company benchmarking is outside the scope of this filing; The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. Additional items such as share repurchase activity and dividend payments, which are touched on elsewhere in the filing (for example around Item 2 and Item 1A), are not addressed in this opening section because they fall outside the four headline financial dimensions.
SOURCE SCOPE: - This section is grounded in the 10-Q filed for fiscal period period-ended-2026-03-31 by CSX CORP under accession 0000277948-26-000014 and CIK 0000277948. The narrative scope draws on the Nature of Operations and Significant Accounting Policies background, the Basis of Presentation, the Fiscal Year note, and the Earnings Per Share computation table; supporting line items elsewhere in the filing (such as Note 2 for per-share math, Note 4 for current debt maturities, Note 5 for commitments and contingencies, Note 7 for accrued liabilities, Note 8 for materials and supplies, Note 9 for accounts receivable, and Note 10 for the related-party disclosure) are referenced only as filing landmarks, not as sources for the headline figures above. Standard Part II items (Item 1, Item 1A, Item 2, Item 3, Item 4, Item 5, and Item 6) are likewise outside the analytical scope of this opening section.
Financial performance
YOY - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $3,482,000,000 USD, higher than the prior-year figure of $3,423,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Operating Income (Loss) for the current three-month period was $1,253,000,000 USD, compared with $1,041,000,000 USD in the prior-year quarter; both were profits, and the current period was higher. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent moved from $646,000,000 USD in the prior-year quarter to $807,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, again a profit-to-profit comparison with the current period higher. - Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $0.43 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the current quarter versus $0.34 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the prior-year quarter, an increase within a continuing profit profile. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
QOQ - The filing evidence for this filing does not include any quarter-over-quarter financial values for revenue, operating income, net income, or diluted earnings per share; only the year-over-year comparative anchors listed above are stated in the cited notes. The current section therefore reports no sequential change, because none is documented in the available quarterly figures. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
GUIDANCE - Management has not provided forward-looking numerical guidance in the source narrative reviewed here. The only forward-looking statements are procedural: the Company is currently evaluating the impact of recently issued FASB updates on its disclosures and does not anticipate that adoption will have a material impact on results of operations or financial position. Future share repurchases under the program discussed in the narrative are described as expected to be funded by cash on hand, cash generated from operations, and debt issuances, but no dollar amount, share count, or timing target is supplied. - Earnings per share calculations continue to reflect potentially dilutive instruments (equity awards including employee stock options, performance units, and restricted stock units), and antidilutive options are excluded as shown in the table referenced under the cited per-share note. Performance units under the plan vest based on Return on Invested Capital and relative Total Shareholder Return, with net operating profit after taxes calculated as net income adjusted to exclude the cost and tax impact of interest, including implied lease interest.
EXPECTATIONS - Analyst expectations are not part of the filing evidence. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Analyst commentary, consensus ranges, sell-side targets, or peer earnings moves are absent from the cited notes and items, so any inference about how this quarter compared with external estimates would be unsupported. - Readers comparing this rail operator's pattern to other recent filings may find context in SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form 10-Q the reporting period, which describes the opposite directional pattern for a plumbing-products issuer in the same recent reporting window.
Accounting context is shaped by three pending FASB updates discussed in the narrative: a disaggregation-of-income-statement-expenses standard, a targeted internal-use software capitalization update, and a government-grant accounting standard, none of which is expected by management to materially affect results of operations or financial position upon adoption. Share repurchases during the most recent quarter are recorded under the Equity Topic of the ASC, with excise tax on net repurchases reflected in equity and a corresponding payable in other current liabilities.
Operating drivers and segments
- The company's single consolidated operating segment delivers rail-based transportation services, including traditional rail, intermodal container and trailer transport, rail-to-truck transfers, and bulk commodity operations, through a Class I rail network covering an extensive eastern U.S. footprint plus parts of two Canadian provinces. - Supporting subsidiaries extend the model: CSXT anchors rail operations and real-estate activity tied to the network, Quality Carriers provides bulk liquid chemicals trucking, CSX Intermodal Terminals owns and operates the terminal system and performs drayage, and Transflo bridges non-rail-served customers (notably chemicals and agriculture, including plastics and ethanol) into the rail system. - Reported revenue rose year over year, from $3,423,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025 to $3,482,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, and operating income also expanded, from $1,041,000,000 USD to $1,253,000,000 USD over the same comparison, with the company moving profit to profit on both lines.
- Management attributes the disclosure environment to a recent FASB standard on the disaggregation of income statement expenses, which the company is evaluating for adoption impact but expects will not change results of operations or financial position. - Management further notes that an ASU on targeted improvements to internal-use software capitalization is effective in the upcoming first quarter, with early adoption permitted and no anticipated material impact on operations or financial position, and that an ASU on accounting for government grants is also under evaluation with no anticipated material impact. - Management states that the accompanying interim consolidated financial statements contain all normal, recurring adjustments necessary for fair presentation and that prior-year information has been reclassified where applicable to conform to the current presentation. - Management explains the diluted-EPS construction: weighted-average common shares plus common stock equivalents from equity awards (employee stock options, performance units, restricted stock units), with the dilutive effect of in-the-money options net of hypothetical repurchases, and discloses the count of antidilutive options excluded from the calculation.
The filing evidence does not separate results by reportable segment, so any cross-segment margin commentary would be unsupported, and The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. applies to the revenue and operating-income year-over-year movement. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. applies to any peer or industry benchmarking attempt. Reader-facing interpretation is therefore limited to the consolidated revenue and operating-income direction, the mix of business activities disclosed in the nature-of-operations narrative, the pending accounting-pronouncement evaluations, and the methodology behind diluted EPS. Readers seeking broader cross-issuer context on rail-sector reporting cadence can cross-check the CSX Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Its (the reporting period) companion note.
Cash flow and capital
- Operating cash generation for the three-month reporting period was higher than in the prior-year comparative quarter, while investing activities absorbed more cash in the current quarter than they did a year earlier, leaving financing activities to reflect a larger outflow than in the prior-year quarter. - The investing outflow was driven in part by payments to acquire property, plant, and equipment that decreased relative to the prior-year comparative quarter, signaling a more measured reinvestment cadence on capital projects even as the broader investing line deepened.
- Financing outflows expanded on a lower pace of common stock repurchases, partially offset by an increase in payments of ordinary dividends on common stock, so capital returned to shareholders tilted more toward dividends than buybacks in the current quarter versus the prior-year quarter. S. dollars as of the same instant and presented in the cited balance sheet section.
- The detail behind these balance sheet items is anchored in the cited notes covering cash and cash equivalents, accounts receivable, materials and supplies, and accounts payable, while contingencies, casualty and environmental reserves, and long-term debt commitments are surfaced through the cited notes on commitments and contingencies and current maturities of long-term debt. - Capital allocation messaging in the filing emphasizes reinvestment alongside continued return of capital, with repurchases, dividends, and property, plant, and equipment outlays framed together as the principal levers used to allocate operating cash flow.
- The long-term incentive program described in the source narrative ties compensation outcomes to ROIC and relative Total Shareholder Return, with performance units vesting roughly three years after grant and settled in CSX common stock, and stock options carrying ten-year terms vesting in equal annual installments over three years. - Restricted stock units are described as time-based, vesting in equal annual installments over three years and settled in CSX common stock on a one-for-one basis, while other awards outside the annual long-term incentive program were noted as immaterial grants to certain management employees in the first quarters of recent years.
- Casualty, environmental and other reserves are flagged as critical accounting estimates subject to management judgment, with personal injury claims largely subject to the Federal Employers' Liability Act and an independent actuary assisting in valuing personal injury and occupational claim exposure. - Environmental proceedings include identification as a potentially responsible party at a number of environmentally impaired sites, many tied to ongoing or discontinued railroad operations and some to historical shipments of hazardous substances to third-party treatment, recycling or disposal facilities.
- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - Readers comparing this report with peer commentary on capital allocation cadence may also reference SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form (Accession for a contrasting capital deployment profile.
Peer and historical context
CSX’s reported three-month results show broad improvement relative to the comparable prior-year period. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax increased from $3,423,000,000 to $3,482,000,000, while Operating Income (Loss) rose from $1,041,000,000 to $1,253,000,000. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent also increased, moving from $646,000,000 to $807,000,000.
The operating profile was complemented by stronger cash generation. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities increased from $1,255,000,000 to $1,272,000,000, indicating that the improvement reached the operating cash-flow line as well as the income statement.
Because revenue, operating income, net income, and operating cash flow all moved higher, the results suggest a comparatively broad improvement rather than an isolated change in bottom-line performance. The filing’s cited financial data support that directional reading, but they do not establish how much of the improvement reflects changes in traffic, pricing, operating efficiency, expenses, or other considerations.
The three-month comparison is the strongest historical reference available in the evidence. It permits a direct comparison between the three months ended March 31, 2026 and the three months ended March 31, 2025, but it does not establish a sustained trend across multiple earlier quarters or provide a long-term record. Accordingly, the current period should be viewed as an improved year-over-year result, while the durability of that improvement remains an open question.
The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.
The filing does not provide peer-company revenue, operating income, net income, or operating cash-flow figures, and it does not reference an industry benchmark. It therefore cannot establish whether CSX outperformed other railroads or companies in the broader transportation and industrial sectors. The absence of a peer set is a material limitation for readers seeking to distinguish company-specific performance from wider market conditions.
The discussion of casualty, environmental, and other reserves is useful for assessing selected risks, but it does not provide a performance benchmark for the reported quarter. Management states that final claims and environmental outcomes cannot be predicted with certainty, while recorded reserves are intended to address contingent costs that are reasonably estimable and probable. That discussion does not offset the reported year-over-year improvements, but it highlights uncertainty surrounding potential exposures not fully reflected in the cited financial measures.
The filing’s reserve discussion also identifies environmental proceedings and other claims whose eventual outcomes may differ from current estimates. Those matters could affect future financial condition, operating results, or liquidity, but the filing does not quantify a comparable effect for the current period. This supports caution when interpreting the historical comparison without broader peer or multi-period evidence.
Scenario analysis
- Continuing the recent operating pattern, revenue and net income trend modestly higher against the prior period, and CSX CORP sustains positive earnings on a per-quarter basis. - Cash generation from operations remains positive, financing and investing outflows persist at negative levels, and ordinary dividend payments continue to track modestly higher year over year. - Capital spending on property, plant and equipment continues while common stock repurchases trend lower, leaving management with flexibility to keep returning capital without straining liquidity.
- Revenue prints above the prior-period level on a more pronounced basis, supported by sustained volume and pricing momentum across the franchise, with $3,482,000,000 moving against $3,423,000,000. - Net income follows through to a clearly higher reading of $807,000,000 against $646,000,000, with operating income and diluted earnings per share tracking in the same direction. - Cash from operations strengthens, dividend distributions move higher, and discretionary capital return through buybacks is moderated rather than abandoned; this combination is consistent with CSX Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Its 10-Q for the reporting period. - Contingent items disclosed under Note 5, including the fuel surcharge antitrust litigation and the portfolio of environmental sites, do not crystallize into a material adverse outcome in the near window.
- Revenue softens versus the prior period, and $3,482,000,000 sits below $3,423,000,000, with net income of $807,000,000 reading lower against $646,000,000 despite staying positive. - Cash from operations contracts, the investing outflow deepens as capital spending on property, plant and equipment remains elevated, and financing outflows persist at a negative level, all limiting the room for buybacks and ordinary dividend growth. - An unexpected adverse ruling, settlement, or accrual change in one of the matters catalogued under Note 5 — environmental remediation, fuel surcharge antitrust litigation, FELA claims, or other casualty items — creates a discrete hit to the period's results. - Outcomes diverge from filings at adjacent industrials such as SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form 10-Q the reporting period, which similarly shows top-line and bottom-line softness.
- In every scenario the underlying earnings transition remains profit to profit, but the magnitude and the after-effect of contingent items, rather than the headline trend, drive the asymmetry between the base, upside and downside paths.
Risks and what to watch
- Reported facts Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $3,423,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025 through the comparative window, and rose to $3,482,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, the three-month reporting period under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 filed under accession 0000277948-26-000014. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $646,000,000 USD for the prior-year comparative and improved to $807,000,000 USD for the current quarter, both positive readings. No replacement number is offered where the cited evidence shows "(omitted)"; the qualitative direction is all that can be asserted.
- Management explanations Management frames insurance adequacy as adequate while flagging that future claims could exceed existing coverage or that cover may not remain available at commercially reasonable rates. On legal exposure, the cited narrative states that pending items, including fuel surcharge antitrust class actions and individual shipper claims, are not currently expected to have a material adverse effect, yet warns that an unexpected adverse resolution of one or more of them could materially affect the company's financial condition, results of operations, or liquidity in that particular period. Environmental obligations are tied to the cited indemnification to Pharmacia LLC for real estate along the Lower Passaic River, with the disclosed contingency ranges described as subject to significant judgment and assumption changes over time.
- Analyst inference The directional move in both the top line and bottom line is consistent with the higher revenue, higher operating income, and higher diluted EPS framing already disclosed elsewhere in the same 10-Q. Against that constructive picture, the catalogued contingencies sit as the principal qualitative offsets: unresolved fuel surcharge antitrust proceedings, broader casualty and FELA exposure, and a legacy environmental indemnity whose eventual cost remains uncertain. Readers weighing the headline profitability move should weigh these contingencies alongside it, since the filing itself concedes that a single adverse legal outcome could materially affect a particular period.
- Counter-evidence The strongest counterweight is the contingency language itself: the cited note on commitments and contingencies expressly states that the estimated aggregate range is based on currently available information, is subject to significant judgment and a variety of assumptions, and that actual losses may vary significantly from the current estimate. Insurance retention levels disclosed in the property and casualty programs leave a self-retention layer that is not backstopped by external coverage, so a single large loss could fall entirely on the company's books.
- Unknowns The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension.. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. The filing evidence does not break out segment-level detail for revenue or net income, does not attribute the quarter's directional move to any single cause, and contains no peer or industry comparison.
- Metrics to watch next period Readers should track the appellate outcome in the fuel surcharge antitrust matter referenced in the cited note on commitments and contingencies, the recurring level of FELA and personal-injury claims, any change in the Lower Passaic River indemnification scope, and the next period's revenue and net income prints for a continuation or reversal of the directional improvement shown in period-ended-2026-03-31. For context on how other freight and adjacent issuers have framed softer top-line prints, see SMITH A O CORP (AOS) Reports Softer Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Quarter and Six-Month Year-to-Date Views in Form 10-Q the reporting period.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Cade Brenner
Demand Signal Analyst · Trend · #1 · Question · Skeptical
The headline paints a tidy growth story, but the actual revenue bump looks thin given the rest of the moves. Operating income climbing roughly 20% while sales barely budge suggests margin work, not volume gains, which is worth probing before treating this as broad demand strength. I want to see how repeatable that spread is across the next couple of quarters. For broader filing patterns worth watching, see Finance Calculators Insights.
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.
More from other categories
Audio Tools
Solid State Logic O-Series update leads a day of pro-audio console, networked-home and high-end DAC launches
Encoding & Crypto
Coldcard Seed-Generation Flaw Drains 1,816 Bitcoin, Prompts Custody Reckoning
Calculators
Central banks post fresh exchange-rate and yield tables for 1 September 2026