finance · September 2, 2026
Corteva Posts Higher Revenue, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Quarterly Filing
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $4,905,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $4,417,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Net income | $720,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $652,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $1.07 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026 | $0.95 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | -$2,891,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | -$2,109,000,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Cash and equivalents | $1,964,000,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 | Not reported |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
Corteva, Inc. delivered higher revenue, higher net income, and higher diluted earnings per share in the three-month reporting period, each measured against the prior-year comparative window. The revenue line moved from $4,417,000,000 to $4,905,000,000, rising on a year-over-year basis. The bottom-line profitability metric, net income attributable to the parent, climbed from $652,000,000 to $720,000,000, keeping Corteva, Inc. in a profit position against a profit position in the prior period. The diluted earnings per share reading advanced from $0.95 per diluted share to $1.07 per diluted share, again on a profit-to-profit transition. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Management describes a fiscal filing prepared as an interim set of Consolidated Financial Statements, with all adjustments limited to normal recurring items considered necessary for a fair presentation of interim-period results. The interim package should be read in conjunction with the audited Consolidated Financial Statements contained in the company's most recent Annual Report, and results for interim periods should not be considered indicative of results for a full year. Where Corteva, Inc. differs from its consolidated subsidiaries — including EIDP, Inc. du Pont de Nemours and Company — separate financial statements and footnotes are included within this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q to highlight those differences. Tax-related commentary in the source narrative points readers to Note 6 – Income taxes for details on the effective tax rate across the two three-month windows, and segment-level context is anchored by Note 17 – Segment Information. Supplementary reconciliations, including the cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash equivalents bridge, are filed under Note 5 – Supplementary Information.
The source evidence supports a clean year-over-year read across revenue, net income attributable to parent, and diluted earnings per share, with each metric trending higher in the three months ended March 31, 2026 versus the three months ended March 31, 2025 on a profit-to-profit basis. The filing is issued by Corteva, Inc. under CTVA, tied to 0001755672 and filed as 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31, with this analysis sourced via 0001755672-26-000010.
No counter-evidence appears in the source narrative: the revenue, net income, and diluted EPS figures are presented in line with their prior-period comparatives and do not carry qualifiers indicating restatement, non-recurring reclassification, or offsetting declines within the three-month reporting window.
UNKNOWN: The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
For broader context on how interim filings frame earnings movement against prior periods, readers can compare this Corteva update with Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing and ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing.
Financial performance
- Corteva, Inc. reported Revenues of $4,905,000,000 USD for the three-month reporting period the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $4,417,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized increase on a year-over-year basis. The headline figure moved higher than the prior period while remaining a positive top-line result, leaving the company on a continuing-revenue base against which the other line items can be read.
95 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized increase on a year-over-year basis and an authorized profit-to-profit transition, with the current quarter's diluted per-share result also a profit. The reported diluted EPS therefore improved relative to the prior-year quarter while staying in profitable territory. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $720,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $652,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized increase on a year-over-year basis and an authorized profit-to-profit transition, with the current quarter also a profit.
Both periods show the parent-level bottom line in the black, with the latest quarter higher than the prior-year comparative. - Together these three series — Revenues, diluted EPS, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent — move in the same authorized direction on a year-over-year comparison for the quarter, with each of the latest figures greater than its prior-year counterpart while preserving positive values, so the quarter is framed by top-line growth and a higher per-share and net-income reading against the prior-year quarter.
The comparison is presented in qualitative terms only, without any attempt to derive the size of the gap from the placeholder values. - The accounting context surrounding these line items draws on Note 5 and Note 15, with Note 5 covering the reconciliation of cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash equivalents between the balance sheet and the cash flow statement, and Note 15 addressing financial instruments, including the debt-securities discussion referenced in connection with Argentina-linked USD-denominated bonds offered to importers.
Note 6 is referenced for income-tax disclosures, Note 12 for commitments and contingent liabilities, and Note 17 for segment information across the Seed and Crop Protection segments. - Management's discussion flags Argentina as a contributor of approximately a low-double-digit share of annual net sales and a similar share of annual Seed and Crop Protection segment operating EBITDA, with Peso remeasurement applying the official exchange rate to USD and limited drawdown availability on Peso cash balances due to government restrictions and USD market availability, and a multi-year devaluation of the Peso relative to the USD that has been recognized through exchange losses.
The interim Consolidated Financial Statements present discontinued operations separately where otherwise specified, and include normal recurring adjustments considered necessary by management for a fair interim presentation, with results for interim periods not deemed indicative of full-year results per management's stated accounting policy. - The interim filing also notes recent accounting guidance issued but not yet adopted, namely an FASB ASU on Expense Disaggregation Disclosures under the Income Statement — Reporting Comprehensive Income subtopic, which would require bifurcation of specified expense line items into underlying components and separate selling-expense disclosures for both interim and annual periods, alongside an annual qualitative description of selling-expense composition; adoption timing and presentation effects remain pending per the filing's own characterization.
- For broader context on how peer interim filings have framed similar year-over-year revenue and earnings comparisons, the Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in the reporting period Filing write-up illustrates a comparable authorized direction across the same three lines, useful as a reference point rather than a substitute reading. - The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
- The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Operating drivers and segments
Corteva organizes its continuing operations into two reportable segments, Seed and Crop Protection, with EIDP sitting within the Crop Protection segment. Per the filing, Argentina contributes a notable share to annual net sales and to each segment's operating EBITDA, a geographic concentration that ties reported segment profitability to local currency, weather, and export-policy conditions. The segment-results reconciliation appears in Note 17 — Segment Information, of the Corteva, Inc. interim Consolidated Financial Statements, which is where readers should look for the line-level split between Seed and Crop Protection operating EBITDA rather than the top-of-filing commentary. At the consolidated revenue line, Corteva reported $4,905,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $4,417,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, a year-over-year increase from a positive base to a higher positive number. The interim filing does not, however, republish segment-level revenue or EBITDA dollar amounts for the three-month window inside the narrative section a reader sees first; those numbers live in the segment note. That structural choice means management can frame segment mix in qualitative terms while quantitative segment attribution sits one note deeper.
Management's framing of the quarter leans on three pivots. First, it directs readers away from management commentary and toward Note 17 for segment net sales, segment operating EBITDA, and significant items by segment, signaling that the operative segment evidence is the note, not the narrative. Second, the filing explains that certain charges reflected in the reconciliation are substantially all associated with the Crop Protection segment, narrowing where the reader should look for unusual items. Third, management cites the Corteva Separation, the Letter Agreement, and the DowDuPont-era Internal Reorganizations only as definitional context, not as drivers of the quarter's result. Beyond those anchors, management does not in the reproduced text attribute the revenue change to price, volume, currency, or mix. As for tax rate, management states that the effective tax rate was a certain percentage for the three months ended March of the current year and a different percentage for the three-month comparative, and that EIDP's effective tax rates for the same windows reflect net tax benefits discussed in Note 6 — Income taxes.
Readers comparing Corteva's interim pattern against peers should note that the revenue trajectory described here tracks the same directional improvement visible in interim filings such as Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing and ONEOK Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Interim Filing, where the headline top-line comparison runs in the same direction. Against that backdrop, the Corteva picture is more muted because the management explanation leans on definitional context and a referral to a deeper note rather than a clean driver story.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Independent verification of the segment claims is limited inside this section: the segment note is referenced by number but its figures are not reproduced in the narrative, so a reader cannot confirm from the text alone whether Seed or Crop Protection moved the consolidated revenue change, what the Crop Protection-attributed charges amounted to, or how Argentina's contribution shifted quarter to quarter. The filing also does not separate discontinued-operations effects from continuing-operations segment results in the reproduced portion, even though the interim statements are presented on that combined basis elsewhere in the document. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Cash flow and capital
- During the three months ended March 31, 2026, Corteva, Inc. reported that operating activities consumed more cash than in the three months ended March 31, 2025. The reported Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities stood at -$2,891,000,000 USD, compared with -$2,109,000,000 USD in the prior-year window, an authorized decrease in operating cash flow when both periods are reported as cash usage.
- Investing activities also used more cash than a year earlier. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities was -$77,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, versus -$34,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized decrease in investing outflows, with both windows showing cash usage. - Financing activities provided cash in the three months ended March 31, 2026 at $389,000,000 USD, lower than the $995,000,000 USD reported in the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized decrease in financing inflows when both periods are positive.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - On the capital-return side, payments of dividends rose year over year: $121,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026 against $116,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized increase in dividend cash outflow. By contrast, payments for repurchase of common stock fell: $250,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026 compared with $270,000,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025, an authorized decrease in buyback spending when both windows are positive cash outflows.
- The interim balance sheet at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 shows liquidity in the form of $1,964,000,000 USD of Cash and Cash Equivalents at Carrying Value, with $7,262,000,000 USD of Accounts Receivable (after the Allowance for Credit Loss) and $4,187,000,000 USD of Accounts Payable, Current, of which $2,066,000,000 USD was specifically trade payables. The working-capital composition described here is consistent with the Seed and Crop Protection segment structure discussed in Note 17 and with the revenue-recognition framework set out in the cited revenue note.
- Capital-allocation commentary in the filing references an approved program intended to align the organisation with the operational needs of each function ahead of the intended separation of the businesses (the cited note covering the recent restructuring actions). Through the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026, management had not yet made cash payments related to that program and expects substantially all payments to be made in the cited later year. The same disclosure context also describes the previously approved Crop Protection Operations Strategy Restructuring Program, including the exit of production activities at the Pittsburg, California site and updates to prior estimates and decommissioning and demolition costs.
- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Peer and historical context
Reading across the three-month measurement window for Corteva, Inc. under 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 at 0001755672-26-000010, the year-over-year movement that stands out for historical comparison is the swing between $4,417,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and $4,905,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026. The authorized direction reads as an increase, with the metric holding in positive territory on both sides of the comparison. That places the current quarter's top line above the prior-year comparative window, an unusual setup given the company's parallel move on the bottom line from $652,000,000 to $720,000,000. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent also sits in authorized direction increase, moving from positive territory in the three months ended March 31, 2025 to higher positive territory in the three months ended March 31, 2026, preserving the profit-to-profit transition that frames how investors traditionally compare earnings prints within a single name's historical record. Readers looking at the FYI segment disclosure in Note 17 can confirm the split that drives those aggregate amounts, but the year-over-year reading remains the cleaner historical anchor because it is normalized to the same three-month window on both sides.
Where the comparison complicates is in cash generation. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities runs in authorized direction decrease between -$2,109,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and -$2,891,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026, with both values sitting in negative territory. A bottom-line gain paired with operating cash flow contraction is a familiar tension pattern in seed-and-crop-protection issuers, where working-capital swings tied to seasonal inventory and receivables can offset earnings power in any single quarter. Without a peer table to lean on, however, the magnitude of that gap cannot be contextualized against rivals. The principal counterweight to the headline reading is the absence of any externally supplied benchmark. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing as furnished does not include named competitors, industry aggregates, or a multi-year index of prior quarters, so any read-through to broader seed or crop-protection peers is speculation rather than sourced comparison. The Corteva Interim Filing Shows Split Picture as Half-Year Revenue Climbs but Both Windows Post Lower Net Income companion note also frames the year-over-year read as split, reinforcing that top-line growth and bottom-line growth moving in the same authorized direction does not, on its own, resolve how the quarter compares with industry norms.
A further counterweight comes from the restructuring disclosure paired with the Authorized comparison map: the company is mid-execution on programs captured in the cited note, and historical comparisons that pre-date those actions would not be apples-to-apples. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Scenario analysis
The base case assumes Corteva preserves the positive earnings and revenue direction shown in the filing. For the three months ended March 31, 2026, revenue was $4,905,000,000, compared with $4,417,000,000 in the three months ended March 31, 2025, while net income attributable to the parent was $720,000,000, compared with $652,000,000. This supports a scenario of continued revenue expansion alongside higher parent-attributable profit, rather than a deterioration in the reported earnings trend. The filing evidence does not attribute either change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Management’s restructuring disclosures introduce execution considerations into this case. Corteva expects aggregate pre-tax restructuring and asset-related charges in connection with its restructuring actions, and anticipates cash payments over the following year. It also describes an ongoing program to optimize the Crop Protection manufacturing network and external partners, including the planned exit of production activities at its Pittsburg, California site and the cessation of selected manufacturing lines elsewhere. Management does not anticipate material revisions to estimated costs or payment timing, while the Crop Protection program is expected to be substantially complete by the end of the cited year. The base case therefore assumes that these actions proceed broadly as described, without a material departure from the disclosed schedule or cost framework.
The upside case is a continuation of the reported revenue increase, together with a stronger conversion of that growth into parent-attributable earnings. The relevant starting point remains higher revenue of $4,905,000,000 for the three months ended March 31, 2026, versus $4,417,000,000 in the three months ended March 31, 2025, and higher net income of $720,000,000 versus $652,000,000. In this scenario, operating execution and the company’s disclosed restructuring activities support sustained earnings momentum while restructuring-related cash outflows remain consistent with management’s stated expectations.
An additional upside consideration is the planned optimization of the Crop Protection network. If the restructuring actions proceed substantially as anticipated, they may provide a more efficient operating structure over time, but the filing does not provide a quantified benefit that can be treated as a forecast. The scenario should therefore be viewed as conditional rather than as a stated company outlook.
The downside case assumes that Corteva’s positive reported trends do not continue at the same pace, or that restructuring execution creates greater near-term pressure. Revenue for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $4,905,000,000, compared with $4,417,000,000 in the three months ended March 31, 2025, and net income attributable to the parent was $720,000,000, compared with $652,000,000. A reversal in either reported measure would weaken the base assumption of profit-to-profit growth.
The restructuring program also creates timing and cash-payment risks. Corteva disclosed anticipated charges, future payments, and decommissioning, demolition, severance, benefit, and contract-termination costs associated with the Crop Protection actions. Through the cited quarter, payments had already been made under that program, while other restructuring payments were expected over the next year. If those activities are delayed, revised, or more costly than currently anticipated, the downside case could include greater near-term financial pressure. The filing does not quantify the effect of those actions on future revenue or earnings, so any such impact remains conditional. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Risks and what to watch
Reported facts drawn from the filing for Corteva, Inc. in its period-ended-2026-03-31 10-Q under accession 0001755672-26-000010 show Revenues of $4,905,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, against Revenues of $4,417,000,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $720,000,000 USD for the current quarter versus $652,000,000 USD for the prior-year quarter. The authorized comparison records Revenues and Net Income as higher than the prior period on a profit-to-profit basis.
Management explanations referenced in the filing tie certain reported items to specific, named items: restructuring activity associated with charges that were substantially all within the Crop Protection segment and are expected to be substantially complete by the end of a stated horizon; net pre-tax exchange gains and losses including amounts tied to the devaluation of the Argentine Peso for the three months ended March of each year shown; non-service components of net periodic benefit credits and costs; a settlement charge associated with the Crop Protection loyalty program multi-district litigation plaintiffs; and tax expense related to intellectual property realignment. The filing directs readers to Note 12 for further detail on the litigation matter and on commitments and contingent liabilities, to Note 6 for income taxes, and to Note 17 for segment information. The interim balance sheet discussion notes that restricted cash equivalents are classified between other current assets and other assets based on the nature of the restrictions, and the foreign-currency hedging program disclosure explains where hedging gains and losses and their related tax impacts are recorded within the statements of operations.
Analyst inference, separately labeled, reads the headline pair as consistent with a quarter in which both the top line and the bottom line improved year over year, while several non-recurring or segment-concentrated items (restructuring, Argentine Peso devaluation, loyalty-program settlement, intellectual property tax realignment) sit inside the reported totals. No filing-attributed cause is offered for the directional moves of Revenues or Net Income; the filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. No peer or industry comparison is contained in the filing. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Counter-evidence and unknowns to flag: the magnitude of the Argentine Peso impact for the prior-year quarter is shown as zero (omitted from the source narrative), so the peso line should not be treated as a balanced prior-period reference. The Crop Protection loyalty program settlement and the intellectual-property tax realignment both land in the current quarter only, which can pull current-quarter tax and other items off a clean year-over-year read; their size is not specified within this section's catalog. The status of restructuring is described as expected to be substantially complete by a stated date, but the disclosed cash outlay for the quarter is reported as (omitted) in the source narrative, so completion timing remains an open variable.
Metrics to watch next period include Revenues, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent, the Crop Protection segment result given the concentration of restructuring and litigation items there, Argentine Peso-related exchange gains and losses, and any updates to the loyalty program litigation and intellectual property tax posture. The Corteva interim write-up on the half-year window provides a useful adjacent frame for how these lines have moved across reporting periods.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Tess Rowan
Site Reliability Engineer · Engineering · #1 · Question · Skeptical
The headline reads as a tidy win, but three months is short exposure and the cash side tells a quieter story. Financing inflows dropped to $389M from $995M, so the year-over-year EPS lift is doing more of the talking than fresh operating strength. I want to see segment breakdown and what drove that revenue jump before treating it as a trend. If you publish the underlying filing numbers, link them so readers can audit the comparison themselves Corteva quarterly filing summary.
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.
More from other categories
Audio Tools
Solid State Logic O-Series update leads a day of pro-audio console, networked-home and high-end DAC launches
Encoding & Crypto
Coldcard Seed-Generation Flaw Drains 1,816 Bitcoin, Prompts Custody Reckoning
Calculators
Central banks post fresh exchange-rate and yield tables for 1 September 2026