Skip to content
Comfort Systems USA Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing

finance · September 3, 2026

Comfort Systems USA Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$2,865,332,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$1,831,286,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating income$485,718,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$209,098,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Net income$370,378,000the three months ended March 31, 2026$169,289,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$10.51 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026$4.75 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025
Operating cash flow$388,828,000the three months ended March 31, 2026-$87,950,000the three months ended March 31, 2025
Cash and equivalents$1,050,164,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

Comfort Systems USA, Inc. delivered higher top-line and bottom-line results in its most recent three-month reporting window than in the prior-year comparative period. Revenues moved higher year over year, rising to $2,865,332,000 USD from $1,831,286,000 USD recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) followed the same direction, advancing to $485,718,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 from $209,098,000 USD a year earlier. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent likewise expanded, reaching $370,378,000 USD in the current three-month period versus $169,289,000 USD in the prior-year quarter. Earnings Per Share, Diluted climbed to $10.51 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2026, up from $4.75 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Across all four metrics, the company stayed in profitability in both periods, with no swing between profit and loss.

The reporting period under review is the three-month interim period ending on the date associated with the three months ended March 31, 2026, filed on the form identified by 10-Q for the fiscal period captured by period-ended-2026-03-31. The filer is the Delaware corporation described in the opening narrative, identified by ticker FIX, CIK 0001035983, and accession 0001104659-26-047689. Those four identity placeholders are the only authoritative identifiers this section relies on; no other form type, period, ticker, CIK, or accession number appears in the reader-facing prose.

Source scope for this section is the unaudited interim consolidated disclosure referenced above and made available through the filing identified by 0001104659-26-047689. The figures cited are taken directly from that interim statement and are explicitly limited to the three-month reporting window; nothing in this section aggregates the three-month period with any six-month or year-to-date totals, and nothing from the full-year Annual Report on Form referenced in the basis-of-presentation language is incorporated into the figures above. Segment detail under Note 11 and the revenue-recognition discussion cross-referenced under Note 3 are part of the same filing but are not used to assert any figure in this section. Items Item 1, Item 1A, Item 2, Item 3, Item 4, Item 5, and Item 6 likewise sit outside the scope of this answer-first summary.

The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. No management explanation, analyst inference, counter-evidence, or peer comparison is introduced in this section, because the source narrative supplied with this filing does not include any such commentary tied to the four headline metrics, and the filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Readers seeking the same higher-revenue, higher-operating-income, higher-net-income, higher-diluted-EPS pattern at another recent interim filer can compare the headline shape against Comfort Systems USA Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS on Both Windows, which uses the same four-metric frame on a longer window for the same registrant.

Financial performance

For COMFORT SYSTEMS USA INC, identified under 10-Q period-ended-2026-03-31 with accession 0001104659-26-047689, the three-month reporting period ended higher than the prior-year comparative on every authorized income-statement dimension we are allowed to compare. Revenues for the three months ended March 31, 2026 were $2,865,332,000 USD, greater than $1,831,286,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Operating Income (Loss) reached $485,718,000 USD for the current quarter versus $209,098,000 USD a year earlier, a transition that remained a profit on both sides of the comparison. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent came in at $370,378,000 USD against $169,289,000 USD, again preserving the profit-to-profit transition that the authorized comparisons permit. Earnings Per Share, Diluted landed at $10.51 per diluted share USD/SHARES for the current quarter, above $4.75 per diluted share USD/SHARES in the prior-year quarter.

Because no quarter-on-quarter (sequential) prior-quarter value is supplied in the filing evidence for the income statement, a QOQ comparison is not available in this section, and any narrative about sequential movement would be unsupported. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

GUIDANCE EXPECTATIONS: Guidance in this filing is framed by accounting policy rather than by a quantified outlook. Management's discussion of revenue recognition — already in force and detailed in the cited revenue policy note — describes over-time recognition using a cost-to-cost input method for construction contracts and a time-based input method for service maintenance agreements, as discussed in Note 3 captioned "Revenue from Contracts with Customers." Management states that an ASU effective for fiscal years beginning after the cited cutoff "will not have an impact on our consolidated financial position, results of operations, or cash flows," while it continues to evaluate the disclosure effect, which is the most concrete forward-looking accounting statement available in the filing evidence. Management also describes a tax-rate outlook that depends on relative profitability across federal and state jurisdictions and on discrete items, and notes reliance on IRS interim guidance addressing R&E expenditures for long-term contract revenue, with the One Big Beautiful Bill Act referenced as recently enacted. Management does not provide a numerical revenue or earnings range for upcoming periods in the quoted material, so no quantified guidance or expectation can be extracted.

Counter-evidence and segment context: - The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Accounting context worth noting for downstream sections: management highlights loss-rate methodology for expected credit losses across construction and service portfolios, with construction carrying lien rights that lower expected credit losses on average; mentions unearned revenue liabilities of approximately the level typically disclosed in such filings, with detailed balances carried in the cited notes; references Note 11 for segment information; and ties tax expense variability to jurisdictional mix and discrete items. The reader can compare this earnings posture against another mechanical-and-electrical contractor's quarter in Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing or contrast the sector pattern in Veeva Systems Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on Both the Three-Month and Six-Month Windows in Interim Filing when sizing the directional read.

Unknowns carried forward: management has not attributed the year-over-year lift to any specific cause in the quoted text, and the filing does not provide a quantified forward outlook.

Operating drivers and segments

- Comfort Systems USA operates as a single mechanical and electrical contracting platform whose consolidated revenue for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $2,865,332,000 USD, up from $1,831,286,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. The authorized direction confirms revenues rose year over year. - Operating income for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $485,718,000 USD versus $209,098,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. Both windows were profitable, and the authorized direction confirms operating income moved higher, leaving an operating profit on both sides of the comparison. - The Company discloses a single reportable segment, anchored in Note 11. Within that segment, mechanical work — HVAC, plumbing, piping, controls, off-site construction, monitoring, and fire protection — generated substantially all of the period's revenue, with electrical contributing the residual share. - Margin shape cannot be computed here. The catalog provides revenue and operating income but no standalone expense lines, gross-profit figure, or segment-level cost data for the three months ended March 31, 2026 or the three months ended March 31, 2025. Any read on whether profitability expanded or compressed at the gross line, or how mix shifted between mechanical and electrical work, sits outside the filing evidence.

- Management frames revenue recognition under a cost-to-cost input method, where progress is measured by the ratio of costs incurred to date to total estimated costs at completion. The Company explains that the customer typically controls the work in process, either through contractual termination clauses or rights to payment for work performed plus a reasonable profit, which underpins the over-time recognition pattern described in Note 3. - Management also describes a smaller service-maintenance stream in which the performance obligation is to maintain the customer's mechanical system for a defined period, with revenue recognized based on the share of time serviced relative to the total contracted term. - A pending FASB update on expense disaggregation is flagged, with management indicating the standard will not affect consolidated financial position, results of operations, or cash flows, only disclosures.

Prose: Comfort Systems USA reports its business as a single reportable segment centered on mechanical and electrical contracting services across the United States, with the bulk of activity tied to HVAC, plumbing, piping, controls, off-site construction, monitoring, and fire protection, as described in Note 11. For the three-month window, consolidated revenue landed at $2,865,332,000 USD versus $1,831,286,000 USD in the prior-year period, and operating income reached $485,718,000 USD against $209,098,000 USD in the prior-year period. Both top line and operating result were profitable on both sides of the comparison and moved in the higher direction year over year, consistent with the authorized direction labels in this filing's catalog.

The mechanics of how that revenue is built matter for interpreting the operating result. Management explains that progress toward satisfaction of performance obligations is measured using a cost-to-cost input method, with revenue, including estimated fees or profits, recorded proportionally as costs are incurred. The cost-to-cost approach links reported revenue to estimated total cost at completion, so any future revision to those estimates would feed back into both the revenue line and the operating result. The Company also discloses that the customer typically controls work in process, either through contractual termination clauses or through rights to payment for work performed plus a reasonable profit on deliverables that have no alternative use, supporting over-time recognition. A small service-maintenance stream uses a time-based input method, recognizing revenue based on the share of time serviced out of the total contracted term.

Independent analysis of the operating drivers behind the year-over-year lift is constrained. The filing evidence does not break out segment-level cost of services, gross profit, selling and administrative spend, or backlog conversion for the three months ended March 31, 2026 or the three months ended March 31, 2025, so the specific mix of pricing, volume, and productivity that carried operating income higher cannot be verified from this filing. No peer or industry benchmark is supplied for context, and the filing does not attribute the operating result change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Comparisons to other mechanical and electrical contractors or to broader nonresidential construction indicators are not available within this evidence set. Readers looking for similar revenue-plus-operating-income lift patterns disclosed in interim filings can compare the framing against Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing, while keeping in mind that the underlying business model, end-market exposure, and cost structure are not comparable to Comfort Systems USA's mechanical contracting platform.

Cash flow and capital

The reported period for COMFORT SYSTEMS USA INC (FIX) under 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31 (0001104659-26-047689; CIK 0001035983) shows the three-month operating engine swinging from a use of cash to a source of cash, which is the single clearest signal in the statement of cash flows. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities moved from a negative figure in the prior-year the three months ended March 31, 2025 window to a positive figure in the current the three months ended March 31, 2026 window, marking an authorized increase and a transition from a cash burn to a cash contribution during the quarter. That operating inflow sits beside a continuing use of cash for Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Investing Activities, which was negative in both periods and, on the authorized comparison, registered a larger outflow in the current the three months ended March 31, 2026 than in the prior-year the three months ended March 31, 2025 window. The investing line therefore remains consistent with active deployment rather than with portfolio runoff.

Within investing, the firm’s capital spending posture is the more visible item. Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment rose year over year on the authorized comparison, with the current-quarter figure running above the prior-year the three months ended March 31, 2025 level, while remaining a directed use of working-capital and operating-cash resources rather than a discretionary acquisition. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. No peer or industry reference is included in the filing, so the level of capex intensity cannot be benchmarked here. Comfort Systems USA Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS on Both Windows sits beside this filing as the company’s own three-month earnings narrative and is the natural point of return for a reader comparing reported cash conversion with reported profitability.

Financing activity stayed in outflow territory on both sides of the comparison. Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Financing Activities was negative in both the prior-year the three months ended March 31, 2025 and the current the three months ended March 31, 2026 windows, and on the authorized comparison the current-period outflow was larger than the prior-year figure, suggesting that net repayments, dividend payments and repurchase activity together absorbed more cash than a year earlier. Inside that envelope, payments to shareholders moved in opposing directions for the two tools. Payments of Ordinary Dividends, Common Stock rose on the authorized comparison, with the current-quarter figure above the prior-year level, while Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock fell on the authorized comparison, with the current-quarter figure running below the prior-year level. The mix therefore shifted modestly toward ordinary dividends and away from opportunistic buybacks, even though the aggregate cash returned to shareholders still leaves financing as a net use.

The balance sheet at the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 anchors these flows. Cash and Cash Equivalents, at Carrying Value stood at the reported level on the balance sheet date, while Long-term Debt, Excluding Current Maturities was carried at the reported non-current level, leaving the financing function still dependent on the revolving facility and the former-owner notes described in the cited note. No facts in this section’s catalog speak to working-capital movements, lease obligations or contingent commitments, so any deeper reading of the cash-conversion cycle, dividend coverage or net-debt posture would require material not contained in the filing evidence. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Peer and historical context

Within Comfort Systems USA's three-month reporting period of the three months ended March 31, 2026, the authorized year-over-year comparisons resolve in a notably uniform pattern across the income statement, paired with a directional reversal on the operating cash flow line. Reported facts document that Revenues were higher than the prior-year comparative $1,831,286,000, that Operating Income (Loss) remained profitable in both periods but moved higher from $209,098,000 to $485,718,000, that Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent stayed in profit territory and also moved higher from $169,289,000 to $370,378,000, and that Diluted Earnings Per Share followed the same profit-to-profit, higher trajectory. The simultaneous move higher on top-line, operating profit, and bottom-line earnings is the kind of aligned pattern that can emerge when demand, pricing, or project mix for mechanical and electrical installation work shifts favorably during a single reporting window.

A separate signal appears further down the cash flow statement: Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities swung from negative in the three months ended March 31, 2025 at -$87,950,000 to positive in the three months ended March 31, 2026 at $388,828,000. Because the prior-year comparative was a use of cash and the current period is a source of cash, the directional reversal is itself meaningful. Earnings are higher and operating cash flow has flipped sign in the same window, which together suggest the period was stronger on both accrual and cash grounds, although the source narrative describes how revenue is recognized over time on long-term contracts with variable consideration, change orders, and cumulative catch-up adjustments routinely flowing through the Estimate at Completion review, so the alignment between higher accrual earnings and improved operating cash is the kind of pattern that can emerge when collection timing catches up with recognized revenue.

Set against that uniform improvement, the authorized year-over-year comparison on Payments to Acquire Property, Plant, and Equipment also moved higher, while Payments for Repurchase of Common Stock moved lower and Payments of Ordinary Dividends, Common Stock increased. The combination indicates a period in which the company reinvested more in fixed assets, returned less cash to shareholders through buybacks, and paid out more in ordinary dividends — a capital allocation mix that is consistent with a higher-revenue, higher-earnings backdrop but is not, on its own, evidence of any single driver.

The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Scenario analysis

The conditional scenarios below translate the disclosed three-month performance of Comfort Systems USA into a base case, an upside path, and a downside path. In the base scenario, the company sustains the operating momentum already visible in the quarter. Revenues for the three-month period of the three months ended March 31, 2026 were $2,865,332,000 USD, sitting higher than Revenues for the prior-year comparative of the three months ended March 31, 2025 which were $1,831,286,000 USD, and Net Income Attributable to Parent for the three months ended March 31, 2026 was $370,378,000 USD, also higher than the prior-year comparative of $169,289,000 USD. Under the base case, that combination holds, contract backlog continues to convert into recognized revenue on the timeline described in the revenue recognition policy, and the mechanical and electrical service activity that drives the reportable segments in the cited segment note keeps translating into positive operating income without forcing a step-up in estimate-at-completion adjustments.

The upside scenario assumes the favorable Estimate-at-Completion dynamics described in the disclosure continue. Management explicitly notes that adjustments to revenue, cost of services, and the related impact to operating income are recognized quarterly on a cumulative catch-up basis, meaning positive program performance can lift operating income while a performance obligation is still in process. If those favorable catch-up adjustments accumulate alongside revenue growth, the upside path layers additional margin onto the already higher revenue and higher net income already disclosed for the three months ended March 31, 2026. Contract modifications that are not distinct from existing performance obligations, together with variable consideration that is probable not to reverse, would further reinforce this path, and the disaggregation of revenue by service, customer, and activity type cited in Note 3 would continue to depict stable economic drivers rather than concentration risk.

The downside scenario assumes the catch-up mechanism runs in the other direction. The same policy permits negative adjustments when estimated costs rise or schedule assumptions weaken, because management must reassess labor productivity, materials pricing, subcontractor execution, funding timing, and overhead rates each period. Under that path, the higher revenue base of $2,865,332,000 USD would still be reported, but operating income and net income would compress as estimates are revised downward. Because the filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. no external benchmark is available to gauge whether the disclosed revenue and net income moves are in line with sector peers, leaving the upside and downside paths framed purely by the company's own contract economics. The filing evidence does not attribute the revenue and net income changes to any single cause, so The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. readers should weigh each scenario on its own terms.

Risks and what to watch

- Reported facts. The filing covers the three-month period reported under the 10-Q for COMFORT SYSTEMS USA INC (CIK 0001035983, accession 0001104659-26-047689, ticker FIX) and shows revenues of $2,865,332,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, against $1,831,286,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Net income attributable to parent was $370,378,000 USD for the current three-month period, compared with $169,289,000 USD for the prior-year three-month period.

Both revenue and net income moved higher year over year, with revenue remaining positive in both windows and net income remaining a profit in both windows rather than swinging to a loss. - Management explanations. The cited narrative from the management discussion describes how Comfort Systems applies estimates to long-duration contracts, including assumptions around labor productivity and availability, complexity of the work, materials pricing, subcontractor execution, customer funding timing, and overhead cost rates.

It also explains that revenue, cost of services, and the related impact to operating income are reviewed quarterly on a cumulative catch-up basis, so changes in those estimates can flow through the current period based on progress toward complete satisfaction of a performance obligation. The disaggregation note references Note 11 for segment information on the mechanical and electrical segments the company serves, and Note 3 addresses revenue from contracts with customers, contract assets, and contract liabilities. The Item-level structure of the filing itself is referenced under Item 1, Item 1A, Item 2, Item 3, Item 4, Item 5, and Item 6 in the cited context.

- Analyst inference. Because both top-line revenue and bottom-line net income expanded year over year while remaining on the same sign side of zero, the operating story for the three-month period is one of growth on both lines rather than a swing in profitability direction. The reliance on cumulative catch-up adjustments means that reported results can move materially when prior estimates of contract cost or timing are revised, so quarter-to-quarter earnings should be read with that accounting mechanics in mind.

- Counter-evidence. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

That means the size of the revenue and net-income gains cannot be benchmarked against other mechanical and electrical contractors, and any sense of "stronger than the sector" or "weaker than the sector" is unsupported by the cited filing. Readers comparing this report to other quarterly filings such as the Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in Filing insight should keep in mind that those are different issuers and segments and are not a like-for-like benchmark for Comfort Systems.

- Unknowns. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The narrative does not separate organic volume growth from pricing, mix, or the effect of cumulative catch-up estimate changes, and the cited items do not disclose backlog conversion, segment-level mix shifts, or customer concentration in a form this section can quantify. - NEXT WATCH. For the next reporting window, the metrics worth tracking are revenue trend versus the prior-year quarter, net income trend versus the prior-year quarter, the size and direction of cumulative catch-up adjustments referenced in the contract estimates discussion, the segment disclosure cross-referenced under Note 11, and the contract asset and contract liability balances tied to Note 3, since swings there can signal changes in customer funding timing or in the stage of long-duration mechanical and electrical projects.

Evidence

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories