finance · September 1, 2026
Broadridge Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on a Profit-to-Profit Basis in the Latest Interim Filing
Key financial metrics
Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.
| Metric | Reported | Prior-year comparable |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1,953,600,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $1,811,700,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Operating income | $359,500,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $344,900,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Net income | $276,300,000the three months ended March 31, 2026 | $243,100,000the three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Diluted earnings per share | $2.36 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2026 | $2.05 per diluted sharethe three months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Operating cash flow | $668,200,000the nine months ended March 31, 2026 | $471,600,000the nine months ended March 31, 2025 |
| Cash and equivalents | $304,800,000the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026 | Not reported |
What the sources reported
Bottom line
Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc. delivered a profitable interim period on every line the company reports, with revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted earnings per share each higher year over year in both the three-month reporting window and the nine-month year-to-date window covered by 10-Q for period-ended-2026-03-31. For the three-month reporting period, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,953,600,000 USD compared with $1,811,700,000 USD in the prior-year quarter, and Operating Income (Loss) was $359,500,000 USD versus $344,900,000 USD, with Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $276,300,000 USD against $243,100,000 USD and Earnings Per Share, Diluted of $2.36 per diluted share USD/SHARES against $2.05 per diluted share USD/SHARES. For the nine-month year-to-date period, the same four measures were higher on a profit-to-profit basis: Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $5,256,900,000 USD versus $4,823,700,000 USD, Operating Income (Loss) was $754,300,000 USD versus $689,900,000 USD, Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $726,200,000 USD versus $465,300,000 USD, and Earnings Per Share, Diluted was $6.18 per diluted share USD/SHARES versus $3.93 per diluted share USD/SHARES. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
The filing was made under 0001628280-26-028675 by BROADRIDGE FINANCIAL SOLUTIONS, INC. (BR), CIK 0001383312, and presents the period covered by the three months ended March 31, 2026 with comparative figures for the three months ended March 31, 2025, alongside the nine-month year-to-date span of the nine months ended March 31, 2026 with the prior-year comparative for the nine months ended March 31, 2025. The source scope for this article is limited to those reported income-statement lines disclosed on the face of the consolidated statements of earnings in this 10-Q, together with the supporting notes that describe those figures. Earnings-per-share detail, including the diluted calculation, is drawn from Note 4, and the per-share rollforward is presented within the earnings disclosure referenced by Note 14. Segment context for the Company’s two reportable segments, Investor Communication Solutions and Global Technology and Operations, is described in the narrative portion of the filing but does not, in this article, supply additional fact keys beyond those listed in the ledger. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison, so any cross-issuer read-across, such as a side-by-side against Broadridge Reports Higher Full-Year Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on a Profit-to-Profit Basis, falls outside the source scope of this section. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Financial performance
YOY - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax reached $5,256,900,000 USD for the nine-month year-to-date period the nine months ended March 31, 2026, up from $4,823,700,000 USD in the prior-year comparative the nine months ended March 31, 2025. - Operating Income (Loss) for the same nine-month window was $754,300,000 USD in the nine months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the $689,900,000 USD reported for the nine months ended March 31, 2025, with the transition staying on a profit-to-profit footing as confirmed in Note 14.
- Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent totalled $726,200,000 USD across the nine months ended March 31, 2026, ahead of $465,300,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2025, as detailed in Note 14. 93 per diluted share USD/SHARES recorded in the nine months ended March 31, 2025 and consistent with the per-share figures in Note 14. QOQ - For the three-month reporting period the three months ended March 31, 2026, Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,953,600,000 USD versus $1,811,700,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025, as captured in Note 3.
- Operating Income (Loss) for the quarter was $359,500,000 USD, up from $344,900,000 USD, again staying profit-to-profit per Note 14. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent reached $276,300,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2026, higher than $243,100,000 USD in the three months ended March 31, 2025. 05 per diluted share USD/SHARES recorded for the three months ended March 31, 2025, as shown in Note 14.
GUIDANCE - The forward-looking commentary in Item 5 and Item 6 outlines Broadridge's "NOTE ABOUT FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS" but the interim filing itself does not provide quantitative forward guidance figures for revenue, operating income, or EPS. - Strategic positioning language in Item 1A (Risk Factors) and Item 4 (Controls and Procedures) does not include numeric targets, leaving readers to evaluate the qualitative narrative against the reported profit-to-profit trend in Note 14. EXPECTATIONS - Wall Street sell-side framing for Broadridge is not present in the filing evidence, so the only comparison baselines available are the prior-year windows the three months ended March 31, 2025 and the nine months ended March 31, 2025 as disclosed in Note 3 and Note 14.
- Peer or industry comparison data is absent from this filing. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - No single driver is attributed to the year-over-year or quarter-over-quarter lift in revenue, operating income, net income, or diluted EPS within the cited notes.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The accounting policies referenced in Note 2 (New Accounting Pronouncements) and the segment disclosures in Note 5 provide the accounting context, but no restated or non-GAAP reconciliations appear in the filing evidence for this section to quantify.
Operating drivers and segments
- Within Broadridge's reporting architecture, two reportable segments — Investor Communication Solutions (ICS) and Global Technology and Operations (GTO) — frame how revenue and operating income are aggregated for the filing period. ICS is the larger of the two and centers on proxy distribution, vote processing, regulatory communications, fund communication solutions, and customer communications. GTO houses the post-trade processing platform that supports capital markets and wealth management clients, and is also where Canton Coin receipts are initially recorded at fair value within Other non-current assets and recognized through Revenue, per the cited note. - The 10-Q filed under accession 0001628280-26-028675 for BROADRIDGE FINANCIAL SOLUTIONS, INC. (BR, CIK 0001383312) reports consolidated top-line growth on both reporting windows. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $5,256,900,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026, higher than the prior-year comparative of $4,823,700,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2025. The three-month window moved in the same direction, with $1,953,600,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 versus $1,811,700,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. - Operating Income (Loss) tracked higher alongside the revenue line on both windows. The current period registered $754,300,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 against $689,900,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2025, while the quarter showed $359,500,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 versus $344,900,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Because the filing does not break out segment-level operating margins or cost-of-revenue detail in this section's evidence base, segment-by-segment margin commentary cannot be asserted from this filing alone. The income-statement footnote context (Note 3) references operating expense categories at a consolidated level rather than allocating them between ICS and GTO, and the balance-sheet note Note 8 captures the Canton Coin cost-basis position without quantifying its segment-level operating contribution. - Broader line items consistent with sustained profitability — including the diluted-EPS result tracked in Note 4 and the per-share detail in Note 14 — support the qualitative read that both segments contributed to a higher consolidated operating profit on a profit-to-profit basis, but the filing does not isolate which segment drove the relative expansion.
- Management frames Broadridge as a global financial technology leader serving banks, broker-dealers, asset and wealth managers, public companies, investors, and mutual funds, with principal markets in North America and Europe. The forward-looking-statement disclosure in the cited note recasts growth drivers as expectations and assumptions rather than confirmed results, listing potential headwinds ranging from regulatory change and cybersecurity events to market-activity declines and competitive conditions, alongside operational factors such as key-vendor reliability, system resilience, and personnel retention. - Management characterizes the business through its solutions taxonomy within ICS — Regulatory Solutions, Data-Driven Fund Solutions, Corporate Issuer Solutions, and Customer Communications Solutions — and through the GTO post-trade platform. The Canton Coin cost-basis disclosure is presented as an Other non-current asset recorded at fair value on receipt, with the corresponding revenue line recognized within the GTO reportable segment, illustrating how a digital-asset transaction flows into the operating model. - The quarterly report explicitly cautions that forward-looking statements speak only as of the filing date and that actual results could differ materially, which limits the weight a reader should place on directional language such as "expects," "assumes," "on track," or "could be" when judging the durability of the reported operating-income expansion. Independent verification of segment-level claims is constrained by the absence of a quantified peer or industry benchmark in this filing.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Cash flow and capital
- Broadridge finished the period with cash and cash equivalents of $304,800,000 on the balance sheet dated the balance sheet date of March 31, 2026, against long-term debt, excluding current maturities, of $2,727,200,000 on the same date. The condensed consolidated balance sheet is presented in Note 9 and the debt-related disclosure appears in Note 11, giving readers a direct bridge from the cash position to the maturity profile of obligations reported by management. - Operating activities generated $668,200,000 in cash during the nine months ended March 31, 2026, compared with $471,600,000 in the nine months ended March 31, 2025.
The authorized direction for this comparison is higher than the prior period, and both windows remain profitable cash inflows on a year-over-year basis. - Investing activities used -$225,400,000 in cash during the nine months ended March 31, 2026, against -$276,100,000 in the prior-year comparative. The authorized direction for this comparison is higher than the prior period, with both windows representing cash outflows.
- Financing activities used -$697,900,000 during the nine months ended March 31, 2026, versus -$177,500,000 in the nine months ended March 31, 2025. The authorized direction for this comparison is lower than the prior period, with both windows representing cash outflows. - Capital expenditures, reported as payments to acquire property, plant, and equipment, totalled $35,100,000 in the nine months ended March 31, 2026, up from $28,200,000 in the nine months ended March 31, 2025.
The authorized direction for this comparison is higher than the prior period. - Shareholder returns combined dividends and repurchases. Payments of dividends equalled $330,700,000 in the nine months ended March 31, 2026 versus $299,200,000 in the prior-year period, with the authorized direction higher than the prior period.
Payments for repurchase of common stock reached $352,900,000 during the nine months ended March 31, 2026, against $4,200,000 for the nine months ended March 31, 2025, also authorized as higher than the prior period. - Across all three cash-flow categories, the directional comparisons are authorized solely as movement between two negative or two positive lines; the authorized transition language simply confirms the sign did not flip. Causality for any swing in operating, investing, or financing cash, or in the capital-return figures, is not stated in the cited evidence, so further attribution is unavailable here.
- Counter-evidence and unknowns: the filing does not separately disclose segment-level cash generation, so the contribution of Note 7 digital-asset operations to operating cash is unavailable. There is also no peer or industry comparison provided in the filing evidence, so any read-across against other recent capital-allocation narratives such as the Broadcom Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year in the reporting period Filing insight is not grounded in this filing's data.
The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Peer and historical context
The record supplies a complete prior-year ladder for revenue, operating income, net income and operating cash flow, so a year-over-year historical contrast is fully supportable from the cited statements. No contemporaneous rival data sits alongside Broadridge inside this filing, which constrains peer benchmarking to narrative framing only.
The only comparison numbers the filing itself authorises are between the current windows and the same windows a year earlier; nothing in the source narrative ranks Broadridge against named competitors on margin, growth or profitability.
Across the reported periods, revenue moved higher on both the three-month and nine-month comparisons: the current quarter's Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,953,600,000 USD exceeded the prior-year quarter's $1,811,700,000 USD, and the current year-to-date's $5,256,900,000 USD exceeded the prior year-to-date's $4,823,700,000 USD, both shifts reported by the Company itself.
Operating income tracked the same direction. The Operating Income (Loss) line of $359,500,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 sits above the prior-year $344,900,000 USD, and the nine-month Operating Income (Loss) of $754,300,000 USD sits above the prior-year $689,900,000 USD. The Company therefore converted the higher top line into higher operating profit on each comparison window.
Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent confirmed the pattern. The quarter figure of $276,300,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 exceeded the prior-year $243,100,000 USD, and the year-to-date figure of $726,200,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 exceeded the prior-year $465,300,000 USD. Both windows remain in profit on a profit-to-profit basis, with no transition to a loss and no re-entry into profit from a loss. Operating cash flow contributed the same signal: Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities of $668,200,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 was higher than the prior year-to-date $471,600,000 USD, both reported as positive cash inflows.
Set against an earlier Broadridge full-year review, the trajectory visible in the current interim filing aligns with the prior reading rather than contradicting it, as detailed in the prior piece on Broadridge's higher full-year revenue, operating income, net income and diluted EPS on a profit-to-profit basis. That alignment is descriptive only: this filing does not present Broadridge alongside a named peer group, so any side-by-side ranking with other financial-technology intermediaries sits outside the authorised evidence. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
For readers comparing reporting cadences, the nine-month ladder is the sturdier anchor because it captures a full three quarters rather than a single closing quarter, smoothing ordinary seasonal swings inside Broadridge's Investor Communication Solutions, Wealth Management and Investment Management workflows described in the source narrative. The quarter-over-quarter shift still matters as a directional indicator, but it carries fewer observations underneath it, so the year-to-date movement is the more reliable marker of underlying change. Operating cash flow reinforcing the income-statement strength over the same nine-month window adds a second corroborating signal from the cash side of the balance sheet, consistent with a healthy year-over-year profile rather than a margin-driven or working-capital-driven distortion. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.
Scenario analysis
The central case reads the reported numbers as continuation, not inflection. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,953,600,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 sits above the prior-period revenue of $1,811,700,000 USD, and the year-to-date revenue of $5,256,900,000 USD tracks above the prior-year nine-month revenue of $4,823,700,000 USD. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $276,300,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 compares favorably with $243,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, while the nine-month net income of $726,200,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 exceeds the prior-year nine-month net income of $465,300,000 USD. The Canton Network Super Validator and Validator activity, including Canton Coin receipts recorded at fair value on receipt and remeasured each period, is treated as additive rather than disruptive to the base trajectory. Disclosures concerning preparation of financial statements in conformity with GAAP and the use of estimates are not flagged as a divergence from prior practice.
The constructive path assumes the year-to-date growth observed across both revenue and net income continues into the remaining reporting windows. Revenue of $5,256,900,000 USD against the prior-year $4,823,700,000 USD, paired with quarterly revenue of $1,953,600,000 USD against $1,811,700,000 USD, supports a reading of steady expansion. Net income of $726,200,000 USD versus $465,300,000 USD, and quarterly net income of $276,300,000 USD versus $243,100,000 USD, points to operating leverage if cost discipline holds. The Canton Coin framework in which the Company has elected to lock a stated share of lifetime and future earned Canton Coins to retain its Super Validator Weight is positioned as a structural enhancement to the GTO segment, with remeasurement gains or losses flowing through Other non-operating income (expenses), net within Corporate and Other. The recently issued ASU on effective tax rate reconciliation is treated as a disclosure matter with no near-term impact on the income trajectory. Readers cross-checking directional tone can pair this section with the prior Broadridge Reports Higher Full-Year Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on a Profit-to-Profit Basis write-up to anchor the framing.
The stressed path focuses on the remeasurement exposure tied to Canton Coins and on the sensitivity of the reported figures to fair-value swings. Canton Coins are carried as a component of Other non-current assets, remeasured to fair market value at each reporting period through unrealized gain or loss within Other non-operating income (expenses), net in Corporate and Other. A decline in the Canton Coin market price would compress Corporate and Other without an offsetting revenue benefit, given that the cost basis on receipt is recorded as Revenue in the GTO reportable segment. The Company has elected to lock a portion of lifetime and future earned Canton Coins to retain Super Validator Weight, with the final Locking Commitment election scheduled to impact receipts of future Super Validator Canton Coins beginning in May; this timing introduces a discrete event into the path. Quarterly revenue of $1,953,600,000 USD and net income of $276,300,000 USD, alongside year-to-date revenue of $5,256,900,000 USD and net income of $726,200,000 USD, are read here as a plateau from which slippage rather than acceleration is the larger risk. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.
Risks and what to watch
- Quarterly revenue, $1,953,600,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026, came in higher than the prior-year $1,811,700,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, extending the topline growth that also lifted the nine-month $5,256,900,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 above $4,823,700,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2025; the pattern is consistent with the company's prior commentary on secular demand for its governance and outsourcing services, but the quarter-over-quarter acceleration is not separately broken out in the filing.
- Net income $276,300,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2026 also exceeded the prior-year $243,100,000 USD for the three months ended March 31, 2025, and the year-to-date $726,200,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2026 ran ahead of $465,300,000 USD for the nine months ended March 31, 2025, so the income statement shows broad-based profitability growth on both reported windows rather than a one-off quarter. - The most distinctive risk disclosed in the source narrative is the digital-asset exposure tied to Canton Coins received as GTO-segment revenue and remeasured each period through unrealized gains and losses in Corporate and Other; the company began converting coins to cash almost immediately after receipt during the first quarter and continued periodically through the second quarter, which limits price exposure but also caps any upside from price appreciation.
- A second, more structural risk is the Super Validator Locking Commitment under the Canton Network framework approved in March, which requires the company to lock a specified percentage of lifetime and future earned Canton Coins to maintain its current Super Validator Weight; the required lock thresholds decline over time, and the final election is scheduled to affect Canton Coins earned beginning in May, so a higher or more variable lock requirement in future periods could constrain realized gains and add balance-sheet illiquidity.
- Management's estimate-based accounting posture is itself a risk surface: the filing acknowledges that preparing the financial statements under GAAP requires estimates and assumptions that affect reported amounts, and the digital-asset fair-value measurement specifically depends on market data and the specific-identification cost-basis method described in Note 7. - The new ASU referenced in the filing will require additional annual disclosure of categories in the effective tax rate reconciliation and of reconciling items above a quantitative threshold, which does not change current results but adds an interpretive variable for the next several reporting cycles.
- Counter-evidence to a simple bullish read is limited in the filing evidence: there is no indication in this section's source narrative of margin compression, client concentration, regulatory action, or restructuring charges, so the bear case rests mainly on the digital-asset mark-to-market and on whatever macro or capital-markets backdrop is not disclosed inside this filing. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - Key metrics to watch next period are the reported revenue and net income for the full fiscal year period-ended-2026-03-31, the size and direction of unrealized versus realized Canton Coin remeasurement in Corporate and Other, the locked-Canton-Coin balance following the May Super Validator election, any incremental disclosures under the new tax-rate-reconciliation ASU, and the year-end balance-sheet classification of Canton Coins within Other non-current assets; readers can place these in context by also reviewing the comparable interim trajectory documented in Broadridge Reports Higher Full-Year Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS on a Profit-to-Profit Basis.
finance analyst take
Discussion
1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set
Sloane Barrett
Shareability Strategist · Marketing · #1 · Conditional · Skeptical
Stronger revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS are clear positives, but the financing cash-flow decline deserves more context. What drove the increase in cash used for financing, and is it recurring or tied to a specific capital-allocation decision? I’d also like to see segment-level explanations before treating the headline growth as a complete performance picture. The numbers are easy to retell; the caveat is what makes them useful. Broadridge’s full-year comparison
AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.
More from other categories
Mini Games
Steam archive exposure sends 12TB of internal builds into circulation, reshaping leaks landscape
Video Tools
OpenShot 4.0 lands with colour grading, local AI masks and a recording dock
Audio Tools
Context-aware denoising, GaN automotive amplification and Dolby Atmos over CarPlay reshape audio workflows on August 31, 2026