Skip to content
Agilent Technologies Reports Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Quarterly and Year-to-Date Windows in Interim Filing

finance · September 4, 2026

Agilent Technologies Reports Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Quarterly and Year-to-Date Windows in Interim Filing

Key financial metrics

Reported figures from the filing; no estimates.

MetricReportedPrior-year comparable
Revenue$1,878,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$1,738,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2025
Operating income$444,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$360,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2025
Net income$362,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2026$336,000,000the three months ended July 31, 2025
Diluted earnings per share$1.28 per diluted sharethe three months ended July 31, 2026$1.18 per diluted sharethe three months ended July 31, 2025
Operating cash flow$1,064,000,000the nine months ended July 31, 2026$1,014,000,000the nine months ended July 31, 2025
Cash and equivalents$1,758,000,000the balance sheet date of July 31, 2026Not reported

What the sources reported

Bottom line

- Agilent Technologies, Inc. (ticker A, CIK 0001090872) filed an interim report identified as 10-Q for fiscal period period-ended-2026-07-31, logged under accession 0001090872-26-000064 on the public company register. - The report describes the company as a global leader in life sciences, diagnostics and applied markets, incorporated in Delaware in May (omitted), with application-focused solutions spanning instruments, software, services and consumables for the full laboratory workflow.

- The financial data covers both a three-month reporting period and a nine-month year-to-date window, presented alongside the corresponding prior-year comparatives, consistent with the "for the three and nine months ended July (omitted) and (omitted)" framing inside the filing. 28 per diluted share USD/SHARES. 55 per diluted share USD/SHARES.

05 per diluted share USD/SHARES for diluted earnings per share. - The authorized year-over-year direction for revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted earnings per share is higher than the prior period on both the three-month and nine-month windows, with each line retaining a profit-to-profit transition. S.

S. Customs and Border Protection launched an online portal for refund requests on April (omitted), and that the timing and approval of any remaining refunds are uncertain. - Management further describes Middle East geopolitical tensions and surrounding regional disruptions as having increased global economic uncertainty and inflationary pressure, while stating that the Middle East conflict did not have a material impact on results of operations through the third quarter of fiscal year (omitted) because of mitigation strategies developed in response to ongoing tariff pressures.

- The filing also describes the Biocare acquisition, characterized as expanding the pathology portfolio within the Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets segment, with results included from the date of acquisition per the cited business-combinations accounting guidance. Comparable context for Agilent's quarterly trajectory against tariff cost pressure is available in Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure.

- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. - The report identifies several reporting-period reference items, including Item 1A on risk factors, Note 3 covering acquisitions, and Note 10 addressing fair value measurements, supporting the scope of disclosures cited in this section.

Financial performance

18 per diluted share USD/SHARES, with both periods in profit and the change authorized as an increase. 05 per diluted share USD/SHARES, with both periods in profit and the change authorized as an increase. - Reported facts (balance-sheet and capital-structure items disclosed in the notes): The associated operating lease liabilities were an omitted million and an omitted million as of July (omitted) and October (omitted) respectively, and were included in other accrued liabilities and other long-term liabilities in the accompanying condensed consolidated balance sheets.

The maximum exposure on the consolidated-variable-interest arrangements disclosed is equal to the carrying value because the company does not have future funding commitments. Restricted cash and restricted cash equivalents are included with cash and cash equivalents when reconciling the beginning-of-period and end-of-period total amounts shown on the statement of cash flows. Readers can compare this interim filing against an earlier Lizely piece on Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure to see how the current quarter's directional profile differs.

- Management explanations (cost and geopolitical context): Management stated that continued geopolitical tensions in the Middle East and surrounding regions have increased global economic uncertainty and disruptions to global energy supply chains resulting in inflationary pressures, and that the Middle East conflict did not have a material impact on results of operations through the third quarter of fiscal year (omitted) as a result of leveraging a series of mitigation strategies developed in response to the ongoing tariff pressures.

Management further stated that it continues to monitor the potential impact that such geopolitical tensions may have on the business. - Management explanations (acquisitions and accounting policy): The acquisition of Biocare expands the pathology portfolio enabling better service to pathology customers across clinical and research settings; Biocare is included within the Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets segment and the acquisition has been accounted for in accordance with the authoritative accounting guidance for business combinations, with financial results of Biocare included within the condensed consolidated financial statements from the date of acquisition.

New accounting pronouncements not yet adopted remained unchanged from the Annual Report on Form (omitted) for the fiscal year ended October (omitted) except for new guidance issued in May (omitted) by the FASB related to environmental credits and environmental credit obligations. - Analyst inference (limited): The authorized comparison set confirms revenue, operating income, net income, and diluted EPS moved higher on both the three-month and nine-month windows versus the prior-year comparable, with profits in both periods.

Any further directional attribution beyond what the authorized comparisons permit is unavailable, so the analyst layer is intentionally narrow. - Counter-evidence and unknowns: The filing does not provide a quantified bridge between tariff cost pressure, currency movements, the Middle East situation, and the year-over-year change in operating income or net income; The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. No peer or industry comparable is disclosed alongside the company's results, so a cross-issuer baseline cannot be drawn from this filing; The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison..

The fair-value classification in the cited note uses Level 1 inputs, with further detail cross-referenced to the cited note on fair value measurements, but no segment-level revenue split is reproduced in the quoted evidence. - Guidance expectations: Management did not provide numerical forward guidance for revenue, operating income, or earnings per share in the quoted portion of the interim filing; forward-period qualitative commentary was limited to continued monitoring of geopolitical and tariff developments and to gain-contingency treatment of any approved tariff refunds.

Operating drivers and segments

- Reported segment context anchors the company's revenue lines to a Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets reporting unit, into which all goodwill from the cited acquisition was allocated. - Revenue for the three-month reporting period (the three months ended July 31, 2026) was $1,878,000,000 USD, above the prior-year comparative (the three months ended July 31, 2025) figure of $1,738,000,000 USD. - Revenue for the nine-month year-to-date window (the nine months ended July 31, 2026) was $5,511,000,000 USD, above the prior-year comparative (the nine months ended July 31, 2025) figure of $5,087,000,000 USD. - Operating income for the three-month reporting period (the three months ended July 31, 2026) was $444,000,000 USD, above the prior-year comparative (the three months ended July 31, 2025) figure of $360,000,000 USD. - Operating income for the nine-month year-to-date window (the nine months ended July 31, 2026) was $1,196,000,000 USD, above the prior-year comparative (the nine months ended July 31, 2025) figure of $1,036,000,000 USD. - Margins cannot be reconstructed here because no cost-of-revenue, gross-profit, expense-line or share-count keys exist in this section's catalog.

- Management states the company is incorporated in May of the cited fiscal year under Delaware law and is positioned as a global leader in life sciences, diagnostics and applied markets, supplying instruments, software, services and consumables for the entire laboratory workflow. - Management frames the recent Biocare transaction as expanding the pathology portfolio within the Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets segment, with all acquired goodwill allocated to that single reporting unit. - Management cites ongoing tariff pressures, a Supreme Court ruling invalidating certain IEEPA-based tariffs, an active U.S. Customs and Border Protection refund portal, and continuing Middle East-related geopolitical tensions as the operating backdrop. - Management says mitigation strategies developed in response to ongoing tariff pressures kept the Middle East conflict from having a material impact on results through the third quarter of the cited fiscal year, while acknowledging timing and approval of remaining tariff refunds remain contingent. - Critical accounting policies disclosed by the company are revenue recognition, valuation of goodwill and purchased intangible assets, inventory valuation, retirement and postretirement benefit plan assumptions, and accounting for income taxes. - Industry-risk framing references global economic and financial market conditions, foreign-currency fluctuations and customer-demand fluctuations, with further detail called out in Item 1A.

- Segment-level revenue and operating-income splits beyond the consolidated lines above are not in this section's catalog, so any divergence between the reported Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets business and other operating units is not assessable here. - Counter-evidence against the higher revenue and operating-income figures in this filing is not in the catalog; the only contemporaneous counter-narrative is the The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. line below. - Independent peer or industry comparison data are not provided in this filing. - The relationship between the reported tariff refund activity and the recognized gain contingency remains contingent, and the filing does not quantify any realized recovery. - Restricted-cash presentation, lease-liability classification, and use-of-estates wording are present in the narrative but are not the operating-driver dimension this section is tasked to assess.

- Cross-context: a parallel pattern of higher revenue and operating income on both three-month and nine-month windows appears in the interim filing summarized at Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Revenue, Operating Income, Net Income and Diluted EPS on Both Three-Month and Six-Month Windows in Interim Filing, which contrasts with the tariff-pressured interim snapshot covered at Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure.

- The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. - The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.

Cash flow and capital

- Operating cash generation remained the engine of the company's liquidity profile for the nine-month year-to-date window, with net cash provided by operating activities of $1,064,000,000 USD, higher than the prior-year comparative of $1,014,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. That is consistent with the year-over-year improvement in net income and operating income visible elsewhere in this interim filing, though the filing evidence does not isolate how much of the cash-flow lift flowed through from earnings versus working-capital movements The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause..

- Investing activity continued to absorb cash. Net cash used in investing activities was -$1,202,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026, a smaller outflow than the prior-year comparative outflow of -$304,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. Capital spending on property, plant and equipment was $249,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026, lower than the prior-year comparative of $314,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025, which partly explains why the investing outflow moderated.

The filing separately references the Biocare acquisition, a leading provider of clinical and research solutions included within the Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets segment, and discloses a net cash consideration line in the purchase-price allocation table, but the precise allocation amounts are not reproduced here The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.. - Financing activity swung to a net cash inflow for the period. Net cash provided by financing activities was $105,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026, against a net outflow of -$515,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025.

The composition shows two competing currents: shareholder returns remained substantial, while debt-related flows appear to have flipped sign. Payments of ordinary dividends on common stock were $216,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026, higher than the prior-year comparative of $212,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. For the three-month reporting window, dividend payments were $72,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026, above the prior-year comparative of $71,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2025.

Share repurchases, by contrast, pulled back: payments for repurchase of common stock were $295,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026, lower than the prior-year comparative of $340,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. - On the balance sheet, the company ended the period with cash and cash equivalents of $1,758,000,000 USD as of the balance sheet date of July 31, 2026, with accounts payable of $608,000,000 USD on the same date. The narrative confirms that the carrying values of cash and cash equivalents and accounts payable approximate fair value because of their short maturities, and that long-term equity investments are split between readily determinable securities reported at fair value using quoted market prices (level one inputs under the accounting guidance) and non-readily-determinable holdings carried at cost with adjustments for observable price changes or impairments, as further detailed in the cited fair-value measurements note.

- No new share-issuance or leverage narrative beyond the totals above is provided in the quoted material, and no peer or industry comparison is included in the filing evidence The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison.. Readers seeking broader earnings context for Agilent can compare against the same issuer's prior period commentary, including Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure, to see how the cash-return mix shifted once profitability inflected higher in this filing.

Peer and historical context

Looking at the year-to-date frame, the nine-month picture is the cleanest read on the company's trajectory. Revenue, operating income, and net income all stepped higher than in the nine months ended July 31, 2025, with each line still landing as a profit rather than slipping into a loss. Cash generation followed the same pattern, with operating cash flow higher year over year while remaining positive.

The quarterly picture mirrors that improvement: revenue, operating income, and net income all moved up versus the three months ended July 31, 2025, again without any of the lines flipping to a loss. The broader takeaway is that the operating engine that was running in the prior year is running faster now on both windows.

The filing itself does not put Agilent next to any named competitor, comparable size of company, or industry index for the same period, so there is no peer benchmark inside this evidence to weigh against the year-over-year gains. Outside readers cannot tell from this filing alone whether the step-up matches the market or merely reflects a company-specific mix.

The investing-side numbers in the cash flow statement add a quieter counterpoint to the otherwise improving trend. Year-to-date investing cash outflows are larger than the prior year, financing cash flow swung from an outflow to an inflow, common stock repurchases are smaller, ordinary dividend payments are larger, and capital spending on property, plant, and equipment is smaller. Each of those is a directional shift inside the filing rather than a peer comparison, but together they describe a capital-return posture that leans more toward dividends than buybacks this period.

The biographical context on Agilent that a reader could use for a peer set is also limited here. The narrative that does appear is centered on the Biocare acquisition, which is folded into the Life Sciences and Diagnostics Markets segment, with goodwill tied to that segment, intangibles covering customer relationships, developed technology, and trade names, and a stock-deal tax profile that is not deductible for U.S. federal tax purposes. That is helpful color for understanding how the segment is changing, but it is not a side-by-side with another reporting issuer.

- Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $5,087,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,738,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2025. - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $5,511,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026. - Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $1,878,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026. - Operating Income (Loss) was $1,036,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. - Operating Income (Loss) was $360,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2025. - Operating Income (Loss) was $1,196,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026. - Operating Income (Loss) was $444,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $869,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $336,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2025. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $1,006,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026. - Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent was $362,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026. - Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was $1,014,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2025. - Net Cash Provided by (Used in) Operating Activities was $1,064,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026.

For a cross-window look at how Agilent's earlier interim prints compare, the Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure recap is a useful prior reference point.

Scenario analysis

In the base view, AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC. continues the trajectory visible in the 10-Q period-ended-2026-07-31 interim report, where Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax was $5,511,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026 and $1,878,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026, with both windows higher than the prior-year comparatives of $5,087,000,000 USD and $1,738,000,000 USD. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent tracks alongside, reported at $1,006,000,000 USD for the nine months ended July 31, 2026 and $362,000,000 USD for the three months ended July 31, 2026, each higher than the prior-year $869,000,000 USD and $336,000,000 USD comparatives. The base scenario assumes the Biocare acquisition purchase price allocation summarized in Note 3 and the contract-liability rollforward referenced in the cited note roll in as expected, supporting the current topline momentum without surprises. Earnings Per Share, Diluted on both windows also remains in the authorized profit-to-profit direction across the periods, consistent with the base narrative. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

The upside view layers a continued mix benefit on top of the headline growth already reported. Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $1,878,000,000 USD in the three months ended July 31, 2026 and $5,511,000,000 USD in the nine months ended July 31, 2026, both higher than the prior-year comparatives of $1,738,000,000 USD and $5,087,000,000 USD, becomes a launching point for further expansion as the non-instrumentation revenue lines described in the cited note scale. Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $362,000,000 USD and $1,006,000,000 USD, both higher than $336,000,000 USD and $869,000,000 USD, would be supplemented if remaining performance obligations and the LTPP performance share award program referenced in the cited note translate cleanly into reported figures. Readers can compare this trajectory against the earlier quarter framed in Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure to gauge the swing in reported direction.

In the downside view, the same reported headline numbers — Revenue from Contract with Customer, Excluding Assessed Tax of $5,511,000,000 USD and $1,878,000,000 USD versus prior-year $5,087,000,000 USD and $1,738,000,000 USD, and Net Income (Loss) Attributable to Parent of $1,006,000,000 USD and $362,000,000 USD versus $869,000,000 USD and $336,000,000 USD — still show year-over-year increases, yet the gap narrows against prior-period comparatives if contract-liability balances referenced in the cited note grow faster than recognized revenue, or if the purchase price allocation components described in Note 3 create reported friction. Earnings Per Share, Diluted, Operating Income, and the cash-flow lines tied to investing, financing, and operating activities all remain consistent with the authorized directions across both windows, but the magnitude of those authorized increases would compress if the downside conditions above take hold. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause.

Risks and what to watch

- Reported revenue increased from $5,087,000,000 in the nine months ended July 31, 2025 to $5,511,000,000 in the nine months ended July 31, 2026, while net income attributable to the parent increased from $869,000,000 to $1,006,000,000. The same favorable direction is visible in the quarterly comparison: revenue rose from $1,738,000,000 to $1,878,000,000, and net income increased from $336,000,000 to $362,000,000. This combination supports a positive headline view of the filing.

- Counter-evidence is that the filing excerpt does not provide peer or industry comparison. The filing evidence contains no peer or industry comparison. Consequently, investors cannot determine whether the reported growth was stronger or weaker than the performance of comparable companies.

- The evidence also lacks segment-level detail for this dimension. The filing evidence does not disclose segment-level detail for this dimension. It is therefore not possible to assess which businesses contributed most to the revenue and earnings improvement or whether the pattern was broad-based.

- The filing says contract liabilities mainly arise from multiple-element arrangements for which billing occurred before transfer of control, including customer cash received in advance for products, installation, and services. These obligations are classified as current or long-term based on expected completion timing, making their conversion into revenue a useful operating indicator. - The company reports that certain sales incentives are capitalized.

It also says the change in capitalized contract-acquisition costs was immaterial during the reported periods and that qualifying short-duration costs are generally expensed as incurred. Investors should therefore avoid treating the immaterial cost balance as a meaningful explanation for the reported performance change. - Remaining performance obligations include extended warranties, customer manufacturing contracts, software maintenance contracts, and revenue associated with lease arrangements.

The company does not disclose transaction-price information for obligations with original expected durations of one year or less under the applied practical expedient. - Share-based compensation remains an important monitoring item because the company recognizes expense for employee and director awards, including stock options, restricted stock units, employee stock purchases, and performance share awards. The cited excerpt does not provide a period-over-period expense amount.

- The most important risk to next-period analysis is that the available evidence does not attribute the financial changes to any single cause. The filing evidence does not attribute this change to any single cause. Claims that growth came from pricing, product demand, acquisitions, foreign exchange, cost control, or another operating factor would therefore go beyond the record.

- Future reporting should be evaluated against revenue and net income attributable to the parent, together with the timing of contract-liability conversion, capitalized sales-incentive balances, the mix of remaining performance obligations, and share-based compensation expense. A separate review of Item 1A may also reveal whether management identified material changes in risk factors. - Useful context may be found in the earlier analysis of Agilent Technologies Posts Higher Quarterly Revenue but Lower Operating Income, Net Income, and Diluted EPS Year-Over-Year Amid Tariff Cost Pressure, but that historical perspective should not be treated as a forecast for the present period.

Evidence

finance analyst take

Discussion

1 message · grounded in the same frozen signal set

  1. Viktor Salz

    Backend Data Engineer · Engineering · #1 · Question · Skeptical

    The headline numbers are tidy, but the real question is durability of the improvement. A flip from -$515M to +$105M in financing cash flow in one nine-month window is a swing that deserves an ownership trail, not a glance. I'd want to know what underlying transaction or repayment schedule owns that delta before treating the revenue growth as a stand-alone signal. Segment evidence would settle it. For broader context on how interim filings like this are read against their peers, the Finance Calculators Insights hub collects comparable posts worth scanning.

AI analysis by Lizely. Grounded in linked public evidence. Participants are fictional editorial roles, not real people or human authors.

More from other categories